We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back at the Duke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Back at the Duke”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Once again we had a great stay at the Duke of Cornwall. Our room (no 514) was lovely, if a little hot when we arrived. The bed was comfortable. The hotel is in a great location for a stroll on the Hoe or getting into the Barbican at night. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    350
    187
    71
    37
See reviews for
132
424
41
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in this Hotel's supposedly most prestige room (GBP230:00). A lovely girl by the name of Jemma at the Holdiay Inn secured us this room when we had been having a lot of diffulty finding a room for then night. when we arrived at 10:30pm we treated as if we had kept the whole hotel up out of hours when as far as I know this is a 24hour desk service. We were blessed with the best room in the Hotel and the view was delightful but hard to see through the dirty windows (forgiven because the access would be difficult) The elevator doesn't go to that level and no luggage assistance is offered and we were told that "There is only a few steps and then you will be OK" 18 steps in total. In 6 weeks of travel this is the only accom. including budget accom. that didn't provide a hairdryer or handsoap - (or tissues) and there wasn't anywhere to place your toiletries when in the BathTub.. Another chain had been kind enough to find this room for us that night and we were surprised when we requested the front desk to ring ahead to one of the Hotels in your Chain information book and were told "We don't do that, you have to call yourself". However there was a very nice lady on the breakfast duty. (We had 2 Great Western stays, neither impressed in the service level.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 610lindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
211 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Large, late-Victoria pile on edge of the centre of Plymouth. Although clean, quite spacious and partially renovated, it's still a little off the pace for a 4-star hotel. My bedroom had a large array of shelves and cupboard space, but with no door on the front giving the visual effect of living in an attic space. Room could also have done with a little updating. No evening meal service -- it was low season, so I can accept that -- but the ham sandwich as a bar snack was outrageously expensive. Breakfast next day almost made up for it, the cooked option was excellent with some real care taken in its cooking and presentation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed her last week for one night on the business trip. Beautiful architecture and conveniently located a short walk from city centre. Very nice and helpful staff, both in the reception and restaurant. Had a very pleasant breakfast, my room was very clean and had everything working as it should, nice view over marina was an add-on. There was a kettle with teas, coffee and biscuits on the side but unfortunately no bottled water so I had to buy one myself- maybe on the hot summer as it is now, I'd recommend supplying all rooms with bottled water.
I'd be happy to stay in this hotel again, good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patouke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
549 reviews
242 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel itself is quite comfortable but standard 'large hotel'. The bar and lounge areas are large and look good. Service in the bar was very slow with only 1 person on duty and a large coach party queued up. The dining room is pretty average. Service was not good, staff did not have sufficient training to realize what should or should not be done in a decent restaurant e.g. we were shown to a table for breakfast which had not been cleared, the waiter then proceeded to brush crumbs off the table onto the floor, asked us to sit down and he would re-set the table! Dinner was average quality. We stayed in the Tower suite. The actual bedroom area is not huge and does not have great views; there are a number of small windows with views over c. 180 arc but sitting anywhere in the room you can't see through these windows, you have to stand. The Tower bit referred to is accessed through a door near the bathroom (big free standing bath), where you ascend a flight of wooden steps to get to level 1 and level 2 where there are indeed fantastic views and a sitting area. Nice bits of history located on level 1 revealing some of the past of the hotel. I would say it is worth seeing the Tower suite for a 1 night stop just because it is very different from any other hotel room we have stayed in. Free wifi in this room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here on business, the hotel architecture looks lovely, and the common areas such as the entrance and staircases are lovely. The service in the bar was good and bar food in line with hotel bar food, adequate at a typical hotel price. My room however was dreadful, the bed belonged in a skip it looked 50 years old and was the most uncomfortable bed i had ever stayed on, the pillows were very thin and of no use whatsoever, and filthy, i was glad of a teeshirt in my bag to use as a pillow cAse. The sheets were an off white shade of greyish, and although smelled clean just didn't give the look of clean. The bathroom was i must say spotlessly clean, but no shower apart from a tap attachment suitable for hair washing, the water this morning was stone cold after running fir 10 mins i resorted to a cold wash. The toilet did not flush, sorry housekeeping! On arrival for breakfast i was told that i had to pay for breakfast even though i had booked a bed and breakfast rate. I left the hotel breakfastless and annoyed, i will be suggesting that this hotel is removed from our list and would not recommend it. Car parking very limited but on street meters and other carparks not too far.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audittraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My friend and I arranged a visit to Plymouth this week- end to attend a event there I booked to stay at the Duke of Cornwall Hotel I must say from the staff on reception to dining room staff they could,nt have been more helpful and friendly there is room for some updating though it is a very old building it was clean our room was great as was the food my friend and I would certainly recommend it ,

Room Tip: not having seen any other room except online pics , I could,nt pass an opinion .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
4.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Property: Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Duke of Cornwall, Plymouth's original character hotel, a treasure in the heart of Devon's city-by-the sea. Tower and turret, ballroom, oak panels, elaborate ceiling roses, sea views and cityscape. We have 72 rooms and suites, each with a unique view.Built during the Golden Age of steam, the Duke of Cornwall was Plymouth's first luxury hotel and provides first class accommodation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing