We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left an impression for all the right reasons ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights to attend the British Firework Championships and left completely satisfied with every part of our stay. Our very large spacious room with separate seating area was clean, well presented and bright with the benefit of two televisions. The bathroom was fully equipped and clean with all the little extras you might wish for, we had a bath and separate shower. The staff were friendly and polite and delivered an excellent breakfast service given that the hotel was full and it seemed like every guest arrived to dine at the same time. Well done .... I have no doubt we shall be returning again next year

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this hotel because it was cheap and decent looking. We didn’t really care that much as we were just on our way down to a cottage in Cornwall and just fancied a stop-over somewhere. The hotel is imposing and must have been very glamorous back in the day. Parking was easy as we arrived early. The receptionist was nice enough a little robotic but then it's no different to what you would expect in most hotels like this. Our room was large, a little dowdy and old fashioned but fine for the price. Breakfast was pretty good and the staff seemed both efficient and friendly.

Oh the whole we were pleasantly surprised with the Duke. Plymouth doesn’t really have many great hotels but I’m sure if we had done some more research we could have found better, still this was defiantly far better than staying at a boring Premier or Travelodge type place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LAPater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had the hotel receptionist asked me "Did you enjoy your stay" or made any enquiry as to my satisfaction when I checked out I would have advised her of my concerns rather than adding this review.

Having left the room almost immediately after checking in mid afternoon, we only noticed the leaking toilet soil pipe on our return around midnight. We alerted the night receptionist about this. Understandably it was not practical to expect an immediate resolution and it was agreed it would be repaired the following day, with a discount applied to our bill to compensate.

Thankfully the leak was repaired the following day however the floor area beneath remained stained with the effects of a lengthy exposure to toilet waste products, which was extremely disconcerting.

Unfortunately because I lack the confidence required when faced with the brusque and surely demand for full payment by the receptionist I failed to mention the pre arranged discount or other minor faults I would like to have raised about the room. As a result I paid in full, left and shall never visit another Great Western hotel again.

On a more positive note I was very impressed with the lady who appeared to be organising the breakfast service. She was friendly, attentive and efficiently directing other young staff to provide a swift and enjoyable breakfast service. What a shame the receptionists aren't able to provide a similar standard of customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hepworth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night recently and had a superb stay. Arrived early aware that we couldn't check in till 2.00 but receptionist called up and our room was already ready so we could check in. Parked up in car park to the rear of the hotel. There are only 26 spaces but plenty of parking is available on the streets around hotel and is free between 4.00pm and 10.00am. After a very pleasant welcome at reception we went to our room. 1st floor at far end of hotel above restaurant. Beautiful spacious twin room. Bathroom was really big. It was actually a wet room and appeared to be designed for disabled use. We didn't need this but would have been perfectly designed for a wheelchair user. Low level basin with room to pull up a wheelchair underneath. High level toilet with pull down disability bar. Low level bath with 2 showers. One out of wall at end of bath and one half way along mid-way along as a hand held shower. There was also a bath seat should it have been needed. We both used the high wall shower and pressure and temperature were excellent every time. Plenty of big white fluffy towels provided and heated towel rail for drying. Basically bathroom was spotless and well designed. Our bedroom area was also excellent. We had a twin room as there were no double rooms when we booked. Loads of storage. 2easy chairs, coffee table, dresser, bedsides, built in wardrobe with lots hangers and double rail. The 2 windows in the room were arch shaped and classic sash type. Both opened enough to let a pleasant breeze in as there is no air conditioning in rooms. It was 22/23 degrees when we stayed but having the windows open made for a good nights sleep. Beds were softer than we normally sleep on but were comfortable and we both had great nights sleep. Pillows good as well. 1 feather and 1 hollow fibre. Blackout curtains did the job in the morning. Tea/coffee in room stocked well and good selection. Big flat screen tv on smart stand. Breakfast was good. Cold selection from a self serve buffet table and you ordered a cooked breakfast from a menu selection so everything was freshly cooked to your order. Waitresses cleared table as we went along and you could get as much tea/coffee to your table as you liked. Checkout was a smooth process as well. ONLY moan about stay was the extractor fan for the kitchen was 3 feet below one of our bedroom windows so we got all the cooking smells into our room if the window was open which was a must in August as it was 22/23 degrees. Would ask not to have this room 108 again because of that.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devondizzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Being local to the hotel my wife and I decided to take up their offer of tea in the small tower area at the very top of the building To get up to the tower you have to climb many steep steps but that was expected having viewed the tower from the road Once up there you are presented with a 360 degree view which is just amazing covering the city,sea and Dartmoor in the distance. The ferry port is adjacent and we were lucky enough to watch the ferry depart
You have your own butler,ours was called David, who looks after your every needs. Food and drinks are plentiful The tower only accommodates 2 people at a time and you get it for 2 hrs at the reasonable cost of £75
An unusual experience

Eddie4085

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie4085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Decided to take a couple of days away last week, searched for last minute hotels that accepted pets as we have 2 dogs and ended up here.
Room wasn't stunning and no air con, which in this heat with massive windows wasn't ideal, but staff were accommodating and provided a fan within minutes of requesting it. Breakfast was good and offered a wide range from continental to full English.
Fairly good location just a 10 minute walk to the barbican and hoe which had lots of choices to choose from for bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamboQueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Cons : The room was boiling and no way of cooling it down. (410)

Pros: Free on site parking. Limited but free.

Staff were great, the hotel has history and it's an amazing place, old and quirky I loved it.

The food well in a hotel I've never tasted food like it (cod) it was absolutely perfect and the service was the same.


All in all an amazing hotel. So much so I'm coming back next week for another stay.

See you soon.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank D11EVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,659 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LG, England (Formerly The Duke of Cornwall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Britain’s Ocean City, the Duke of Cornwall is a stunning period hotel brimming with character and style. Built as Plymouth’s first luxury hotel in 1863, the Duke has been lovingly preserved and enhanced so that its unique Victorian Gothic splendour can still be enjoyed by guests today. The hotel’s 72 rooms are all individually designed with thoughtfully-selected designer wallpapers and vintage furniture, creating a chic look that does justice to the building’s striking architecture. With a range of bedroom sizes and styles available, from comfortable en-suites to indulgently romantic four-poster rooms, there’s accommodation to suit everyone. The Duke’s luxury extends to its impressive culinary offerings. Fine dining is available (for guests and non-guests alike) in the comfort of the hotel’s elegant restaurant. With an AA rosette and a dynamic team of chefs, its dishes look and taste sensational. Light lunches and a generous choice of drinks are available in the lounge, with its welcoming bar and, in the colder months, a homely log fire. If you’re planning a wedding, party or business event, the Duke is the ideal choice. With a wealth of experience in organising celebrations and group events, a range of room options and a full set of facilities and equipment, the hotel has everything you need to ensure your event runs smoothly. And with the backdrop of the Duke’s stunning decor and features, you can be sure your guests will be impressed, whether the occasion is one of business or pleasure. As well as the merits that await guests within, the Duke also offers a fantastically convenient location in the centre of Plymouth. The hotel is a short walk from the city’s abundance of shops, restaurants and bars, as well as the historic Plymouth Hoe, Sutton Harbour and the Barbican, with their spectacular sea views. And it’s a mere stone’s throw from two of the South West’s finest entertainment venues, the Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions – making the hotel the ideal overnight stop-off or meeting place if you’re catching a show. Whether you’re visiting Plymouth or it’s the city you call home, you’ll find the Duke of Cornwall a pleasure to experience. With its fascinating history, friendly but professional service, and breathtaking style, the Duke is truly a gem in Britain’s Ocean City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plymouth
Duke Of Cornwall Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing