We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a single over night stay”
Review of Camelot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camelot Hotel
Ranked #55 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good for a single over night stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had a twin room but it was at the very top of the hotel and for some would be a hike. There isn't a lift. There was a warm welcome and the room although rather small was immaculate and had clearly just been redecorated. Breakfast was nice and piping hot and served with a smile. Excellent quiet (except for the seagulls making a racket night and day) location and only a minute from The Hoe. We left the car all day on the road outside of the hotel for £3 ( buy ticket in hotel) which is a bargain. So for our purpose, son and I visiting Plymouth University open day it was ideal. For a few more nights I would have wanted a bigger room. Total cost inc cooked breakfast & vat for the two of us was only £62.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    21
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
25
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Reception rather cool and lacking in enthusiasm. Duvets much too thick for end of June. Curtains could do with some form of blackout unless you enjoy an early morning!
Delightful young lady in the breakfast room who was way and away the most cheerful member of staff that we met!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinho_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

A warm welcome and very comfortable room ensured an excellent stay at the Camelot. The tasty breakfast of a wide range of juices, hot drinks, cereals or full English was served by attentive and considerate staff. I would highly recommended the Camelot to fellow travellers!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a wonderfully comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed and it stays consistently good. The room had been updated since we last stayed. It was clean airy and light. The only thing letting it down was a lack of drawer space. But as we only stayed 2 nights it wasn't a major issue. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinders2872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff, excellent location.
Very small bed though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

we often go to plymouth to visit family and always stay here they are very friendly always on hand to help brilliant breakfasts excellent location walking distance to barbican and the hoe, short walk to town centre will definately stay here again and again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmascunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just had another lovely relaxing stay at the Camelot. Fabulous full English breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff as usual. Excellent facilities and lovely clean rooms. Really enjoyed it. Location is excellent with just short walks into the City Centre or the Barbican. Will be booking back in when we are next in Plymouth!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mootiemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Hotel

Property: Camelot Hotel
Address: 5 Elliot Street, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Camelot Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Plymouth Hoe. Close to University, shopping centre, restaurants, the Theatre Royal, train station and lots more!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Camelot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing