We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel in Plymouth”
Review of Ibis Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Plymouth
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel in Plymouth”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed here for three nights in mid July.

The hotel is positioned well if you have a car - very close to the A38. Rooms are adequate and clean. Restaurant was very good - plain but tasty pub style food.

Staff outstanding and friendly - really made the difference. Free wifi a bonus.

This hotel is a budget hotel so don't expect five star - but if you want a pleasant place to stay as a base to explore the local area then I recommend Ibis Plymouth.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinpng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your visit but hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    237
    131
    47
    28
See reviews for
102
228
67
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

On arrival we were warmly greeted at reception & allocated room116. In order to get to your room you then have to go back outside & walk around the outside of the building mostly under cover.
This is an old hotel & it shows as we opened the door there was a distinct & unpleasent odour. Fist immpressions were that the room was basic but adequate in need of some updating & cleaning. There was a month that had been squashed under the pillow, the television screen & remote were filthy, both side shelves to the bed covered in dust & a dead fly,the wardrobe was dusty with a broken coat hanger in the corner & the bathroom floor again covered in hairs,dust etc. The tiolet ,sink & shower were all clean.
Having personally dealt with the above we decided to have something to eat in the restaurant.

Things then went from bad to worse when we decided to have a sandwich. It was like a sketch from 'Fawlty Towers' to place the order however the sandwich ordered we took a table oposite the open plan kitchen.To cut a long story short there was a complete lack of basic food hygiene & we were unable to eat the prepared product, if the food preperation we observed in full public view was the standard then what was the standard when not in view!!!. At this point & almost 300 miles from home we decided that enough was enough & checked out. I would like to say that the staff were most apologetic & also that the person making the sandwich was not the chef who was present & who had washed his hands & covered his clothing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msjlightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I am sorry that you were so very disappointed with your stay with us. I was aware, from our conversation of some of your concerns but slightly taken aback by somwe of the issues you have described here. I can assure you that we take the issue of food hygiene very seriously indeed and, in fact have recorded excellent results from recent audits on the hotel, both by independent auditors and the local EHO.
I am sorry that the hotel was not to the standard you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel/motel.On first impressions the bar/restaurant area was clean and with friendly staff .

Breakfast was normally £7.50 but on check in we were offered it at £5.25 so we booked it for the following day.

I am glad we only had the 1 breakfast, the cereals fresh fruit breads etc were fine but the cooked breakfast was already cooked not freshly made and were in small heating appliances. I didnt have the bacon as it wasnt crispy it had white bits on that looked as though it had been boiled, the scramble egg was watery in the container and there was no fried eggs.

To be honest i was put off with the cooked breakfast that was on display if you dont want cooked then the rest is ok.

Our room was basic and clean ideal for a short stop over.The wardrobe was useless it was ok for hanging garments but to use the shelves that were behind a fixed partition, one had to do a kind of limbo dance to stretch round to get something to wear I couldnt see the point of that plank in front it would have been better to have the wardrobe area exposed. I had to fold my clothes tops etc under the tv unit I wouldnt know where to store them if I had been there longer for my 3 nights.

Overall if you are looking for a short stop over this is ideal at a fair price there was motorway noise but I slept fine and it didnt affect our stay.

Lovely hot water constantly and nice warm rooms.

Apparently there is no smoking in the rooms. We dont smoke but to be disturbed twice in 3 days (one of the times at 7am} by everybodies smoke alarms going off is no joke. In all fairness to the culprit we looked everywhere for no smoking signs and we found a tiny no smoking symbol on our front door .I think the signs should be displayed clearer as the noise was deafening in our room and everybody elses.

I would stay here again if there was another good deal to be had but I thought I should make future guests aware.

The rooms are not in a hotel but they are like a motel with your front door on the outside there was motorway noise but in all fairness it didnt trouble us.

Room Tip: ask for a room around the back away from the motorway ensure your card for the room key is charged a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netty1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the tiem to review your stay with us. I am pleased that overall you felt the hotel was value for the price you paid. I am sorry that you were less happy with some of the aspects of your stay but hope to welcome you to Ibis Plymouth again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel gave excellent service the staff were fantastic especially in the evenings, apart from a really bad stain on the carpet in one room the cleanliness was good too. It's a bit out of the way and the sat nav had problems finding it but small Issue that didn't spoil the 2 days we were there

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Good value budget hotel, comfortable bed, good shower, clean room if a little worn. Didn't eat in restaurant, wine very good but very dear. Restaurant and bar really lacked atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at ibis plymouth
i am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back to Ibis plymouth in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The mattresses and pillows were as hard a planks of wood. A terrible nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at ibis plymouth
we have noted the comments you have made in your review
we are currently in the process of refurbishing our rooms
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis plymouth in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Plymouth

Property: Ibis Plymouth
Address: Marsh Mills | Longbridge Road, Forder Valley, Plymouth PL6 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Plymouth 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Plymouth hotel is located at the entrance to Plymouth, close to the A38 motorway and with easy access to the city centre, the airport and the university. Situated 7 km from the Tamar Science Park and the Convention Centre, the hotel is 45 minutes from the Eden Project and the beaches of Cornwall. Book one of our 52 rooms (separate to reception) and benefit from use of our restaurant, bar with a terrace area offering snacks 24hrs and private parking. WiFi Internet to cater for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Plymouth Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing