We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Plymouth
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This Ibis is very convenient if you are travelling by car; it is a short drive directly into Plymouth City Centre, and its location next to the main A38 means that travel into Cornwall, or surrounding parts of Devon, is quick and easy. There is ample free parking.

The hotel is clean and quite unusual in that rooms are accessed from the outside, via balconies and covered walkways, rather like a block of council flats. Although it was not a problem for us, this could I suppose potentially make for less privacy if your room was the first along one of the walkways. Rooms however were standard Ibis, clean, with comfortable beds and a reasonable bathroom. It was a pleasant surprise to find that, despite the location next to a very busy main road, the rooms were actually very quiet provided windows were closed.

The hotel is not particularly well-signposted and if you enter the postcode into the sat nav it takes you to the wrong place, so it is worth checking the map from the Ibis website to save yourself wasting time driving round an industrial estate. All in all this was a reasonably-priced convenient hotel which provided basic accommodation.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bmthro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. To find us easily, we suggest using the postcode PL6 8LR rather than our actual postcode, this will bring you directly to the hotel.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    234
    130
    44
    28
See reviews for
100
227
63
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

very clean and tidy rooms , staff very helpful , bus stop very close to hotel,
no lift but it was only 1 flight of stairs , wasn't a issue for me . nice rooms and staff , decor and was fine and the tv was modern


  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

First impressions were not great, much more like a motel than a hotel as reception was not connected to the rooms, you have to walk up old concrete steps to get to the rooms.
Food in the restaurant was very good though, thoroughly recommend the Aberdeen Angus burger.
When I went to use the bathroom the following morning it was another story altogether, there was hair on the back of the bathroom door and in all the corners of the bathroom floor, i complained to reception on leaving about the state of the bathroom and was told that I should have complained when I noticed it, I explained that I was tired after a long day and only noticed the faults on showering the following morning, I did speak to the manager upon returning home and expressed my concerns and I showed her the photo's I had taken, she agreed that it was not acceptable and said that a member of housekeeping had been dismissed following this incident, I was offered a discount if I went back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review. As I said when we spoke, I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the hotel. As I also explained, we do have a 15 minute guarantee and we would very much have appreciated the opportunity to resolve the issues during your stay.
We hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Jugon-les-Lacs, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Needed an overnight hotel close to Plymouth after ferry crossing from Roscoff. Booked on the internet in advance. An ideal location, excellent advance booking price, value for money, clean and quiet accommodation with excellent access to and from Plymouth and good parking. All that was needed on hand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owl22270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballan, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Even though I was booking accommodation several months ahead of my holiday, the only place I could stay in Plymouth was the Ibis.

Walking from the station was out of the question so you'll need a 16.00 taxi fare return.

Situated close to the Motorway it was vital the rooms were well noise insulated. Though the room was small the bed was comfy.

The restaurant was ok for the evening meal, you'll probably rely on it if you are travelling car-free as we were, there arr no walking distance eateries nearby. Breakfast was just ok for an extra 7.00 cost.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Themikanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay.
It is true that we are some 3 miles from the City Centre and the train station. However, there is a very regular bus service from immediately outside the hotel into the city. Many of our guests take advantage of the bus service even if they arrive at the hotel by car.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

For a budget hotel we thought the accommodation was better than we expected. TV, tea making, shower soap, good towels. If you want 4 or 5 star go and pay their prices. Simple but clean and very comfortable, good hot shower. We had the "all you can eat buffet serve yourself breakfast" and found it to be very good.
All the staff we met (for the use of the Management - Friday 6th to Sunday 8th) were very friendly and helpful with special mention for Ben behind the bar on Friday night.
We would not hesitate to recommend the Ibis to those looking for a good budget hotel in Plymouth. We liked it and would stay again.

Room Tip: the rooms are on 2 levels, with half the rooms facing the car park. All the rooms are accessed from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoshedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2093, General Manager at Ibis Plymouth, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for this great review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our team helpful. I will be sure to let Ben know of your comments.
Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Plymouth

Property: Ibis Plymouth
Address: Marsh Mills | Longbridge Road, Forder Valley, Plymouth PL6 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Plymouth 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Plymouth hotel is located at the entrance to Plymouth, close to the A38 motorway and with easy access to the city centre, the airport and the university. Situated 7 km from the Tamar Science Park and the Convention Centre, the hotel is 45 minutes from the Eden Project and the beaches of Cornwall. Book one of our 52 rooms (separate to reception) and benefit from use of our restaurant, bar with a terrace area offering snacks 24hrs and private parking. WiFi Internet to cater for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Plymouth Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing