We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a facelift!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Needs a facelift!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a New Year's Eve dinner/dance. The event was well organised although we felt the disco could have started a bit later to allow conversation at dinner! Staff were friendly and welcoming but the hotel itself is very tired. The room needed a thorough clean - surfaces were quite dusty. The bathroom was fine however - but we won't be staying again unless we hear it's been renovated.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review of the Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, we are glad you had a pleasant evening; we have taken on board your comments regarding dinner and will consider these in next year’s planning.

With regards to the condition of our bedrooms, here at the Copthorne Hotel Plymouth we are aware that an injection of capital is needed. We are currently in the process of implementing improvements, a selection of our rooms have received new carpets and curtains and more are expected to be completed throughout the year.

There are also more plans for improvement in the pipelines.

Hopefully you will return to Plymouth and experience these changes for yourselves.

Kind regards,
Carly Hobbs,
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    277
    294
    133
    56
See reviews for
125
293
63
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

The Copthorne is in a great location in the city center. The hotel does seam to be lots of corridors and surprisingly the reception is not by the front door! Or even on the ground floor. The check in was ok and the staff friendly. However when we checked out I asked what was the easiest way to the car park and the girl on reception was very abrupt almost to the point being rude.

The rooms are clean and furnished ok but dated as is the rest of the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of the Copthorne Hotel. May I offer our apologies that your stay has not been a completely enjoyable experience.

Although it is never nice to receive negative feedback, all feedback is welcomed as it helps us to improve as a Hotel. Customer service is very important to us here at the Copthorne Hotel Plymouth so your comments have been passed back to the line manager on reception.

With reference to the condition of the rooms, we are currently in the midst of improving our rooms. New carpets and curtains have arrived in a selection of rooms and more are expected to be completed during the year.

I hope that in the future you return to Plymouth and the Copthorne and should I be able to be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Carly Hobbs,
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for New Years Eve Gala Dinner.
Had a fantastic time the room was very spacious with a nice view, bed very comfortable.
In the evening went to the Gala Dinner Dance. Very nice room decorated tables staff very attentive. The food was served quickly and hot five courses! The disco was varied music to suit everybody and you could have requests. At midnight everyone went on the dance floor and sang Auld Langsyne. Breakfast was served till 12 and was full English or Continental.
Will definitely go back this year....

Room Tip: Go for the top floor level 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review; we are glad you have had a good stay. New Years Eve is always a good occasion here at the Copthorne Hotel and we are pleased to hear you had a good time.

We hope to see you back to help us welcome in 2015.

Kind Regards,
Carly Hobbs.
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We needed an emergency home at very short notice for a night and chose the Copthorne. The rates for a family of 4 were excellent, the rooms serviceable, but a little cold and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back there again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scjhwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay. Should you ever choose to stay again please be aware that we keep a small amount of portable radiators to help with the colder rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Plymouth soon.

Kind Regards,

Carly Hobbs,
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here four nights during Christmas week with a coach party and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found the hotel to be excellent. Great central location and not too far to walk to the Hoe from the hotel. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to oblige, nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable, noise at night was minimal. The food was really good with lots of it too. The entertainment host / co-ordinator Jerry did a marvelous job and had us all in fits of laughter and was a great singer too. Would love to return there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Normski161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It’s always nice to hear when people have had a brilliant stay. Customer service is really important to us here in Copthorne Plymouth and I will gladly pass your comments back to our team.

We hope to see you again for Christmas 2014.

Many Thanks,
Carly Hobbs,
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here mid-December. Paid between £40-50 for the room via lastminute.com and could not fault it for the money. Yes, the décor is dated, however the room was very clean, comfy bed, and staff were helpful and pleasant.

For the price I would think about staying here again if I needed to be in Plymouth again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

New years eve party 31st December 2013...Dinner and Disco

1...Dinner was first class.

2...Service from the waitresses was first class. Thank you.

3...Bar was very slow with two parties to serve.

4...Disco was awfully...( like he didn't want to be there )

5...Would like to return next year if entertainment was better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayfan6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Reception Shift Leader at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Copthorne Hotel Plymouth. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience. May we offer our apologies that the entertainment for the evening failed to impress.

All feedback is greatly received by the management team here at the Hotel as it helps us to improve our services. The comments you have made will be taken on board and be fed back to the relevant departments.

Many Thanks,
Carly Hobbs,
Reception Shift Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
2.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing