We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, good location, awful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Middle England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great staff, good location, awful hotel!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed one night and ran a training session in the hotel the next day.
I knew when I walked towards the building this was not going to be good - sadly a very ugly building on the outside and on the inside too. Enjoyed a lovely welcome from the staff who I really can't fault, but beyond that I'm at a loss to find something good to say.
The room I had was like something from the 70's and looked like it hadn't been touched since then.
Bathoom was not that clean and the water was not hot. Had lunch the next day which was for my part inedible.
I don't like giving poor reviews but Copthorne really needs to get it's act together. Giving British hotels a bad name.

Room Tip: My room was very noisy - sorry but only tip is go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenieRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    277
    294
    133
    56
See reviews for
125
293
63
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been coming here for a few years now and the stay has been ok! Until this time, I think it's time for a big makeover as the rooms now feel old, wife booked a bottle for the room but when we got there it didn't arrive, she phoned down and asked where it was they replied there was no order for it?? On our last night there was a wedding and our room was right over the door to the outside where smoking was taking place, we had to phone down to get people sent back into hotel for being very rowdy by 02:30 people left and we got a couple of hours sleep!!
You need a mortgage just to get a drink at the bar, the staff are friendly but that's all! We will be looking round for another hotel next year as we feel very letdown and have come away feeling that we have not enjoyed our break!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Taxi2raynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Verbier, Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I managed to get about 3 hours sleep between when the wedding guests gave up partying in the halls and bedrooms at about 3.30 am and the early riser guests surfaced at 6.30. Management did nothing to contain the yelling, door banging and obscenities of the drunken guests in the small hours. A tip: they charge you £7.50 to park your car but you can park in the Sainsbury's car park for considerably less - our room had scenic view directly onto it. Awful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

i arrived tonight, my reservation was wrong. when i complained they checked and said ststem failure. no apology.

i went to the bar, not on the system. i had to go to the reception, computer glitch. the prices are horrendous, two glasses of wine £13.90. (with a whole bottle £19.95!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Friendly & welcoming staff. Had a good night's rest. The room was comfortable but very dated. They need a makeover. Why don't all hotels have a small twin sofa like here? Excellent position being a few minutes away from the train station, near the shops & only a 10 minute walk to the Theatre Royal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esperanto-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

i loved this hotel, despite many calling it "tired" i found the room i had fantastic, the staff were wonderful and efficient and the room was clean and large, i was 100% pleased that i got to stay here and wish i had a longer at the copthorne, if i get to return to the area i would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a 1 night stay in their supposed best "club" room. Although it was clean it was shabby and dated. Old fashioned decor with marks on walls and ceilings, worn out carpet and furniture which had seen better days. For the price I paid for 1 night we were terribly disappointed. Reception confirmed they were the best rooms they had! I shall not be staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pleasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
2.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing