We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary and overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ordinary and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Only stayed here because it was the last room available in town. No atmosphere and dated rooms, that were not properly cleaned, finding sweet wrappers and hairgrips under the bed. There was no lift to the car-park which meant lugging heavy bags up two flights of stairs and having to pay extra for the "privilege" of parking!! As it had started to rain we decided to eat-in. Another mistake. Food was ordinary and we waited for ages for our food. On the plus side the waitress gave us a free glass of wine to apologise for the delay. Only thing I can say is the hotel is close to the University, the shops and the museum. Avoid unless desperate.

Room Tip: No airconditioning, so try for a lower floor in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarandip30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    267
    285
    133
    55
See reviews for
120
286
60
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great location but I feel the hotel is in much need of modernisation ,our room was very hot and the fan was working overtime to cool us down.
The bar and restaurant have a very dated feel about them.
It was very noisy both nights outside the hotel which kept us awake.
Great staff who worked hard to compensate for the hotels short comings

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I chose this hotel last minute as it is within walking distance of the theatre and located in the centre. When I arrived there was a wedding going on on the ground floor. I could not see reception and was directed to floor 1. Very odd
I asked reception for a parking space in their carpark and was told that it was full up. First come first serve. I
was offered a voucher to park the car in nearby Sainsburys; as long as we were gone by 9.30am the next day. I asked how many disabled parking spaces there were and told 2. For an hotel of over 120 plus rooms there should be at least 6 spaces. We had a reason for being in Plymouth. We came to see West Side story at the theatre to celebrate our wedding anniversary and thought parking wouldn't be an issue. We were lucky to secure a disabled parking space next to the nearby taxi rank and it was free. My point is if my mother had accompanied us, she is in a wheelchair and this would have been inconvenient for us. T

We had a rwin room on the third floor which was clean but a little dated. We looked out onto the dual carriageway and had to keepthe window closed because of the noise.

The staff are helpful. I was disappointed with this hotel and wished I'd opted for The Premier Inn. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The best bit about the hotel is the location. Close to the train station and walking distance to all major attractions. The hotel is hilariously dated but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. We weren't planning on spending much time in the hotel so it was fine. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a disappointment so we ate out instead on the second morning.

If you arrive in the evening, park in the Sainsbury's car park. The hotel will provide you with a notice that will give you free parking until 09:30 the next morning. Saves £7.50 especially if you planning to be up early and using the car the next day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathKieron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location the tired decor and tacky rooms are a disappointment and you can see it's stuck in the 80's
It's muggy and needs a serous upgrading
I won't be coming here again
Only thing keeping me going is the location and Barbican
A word of advise - avoid at all cost
I'm only rating this a toe for the staff who were wonderful

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on a coach tour 2 nights . The room was very stuffy , no air con , no fridge. It was clean enough . But tired , scuff marks on walls . Carpet grubby . Bed small and uncomfortable . Could not open window wide enough for fresh air . 2 out of 10 ...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A clean hotel and in a good location.
The rooms had everything we need but it was like being stop in time. Needs a styling refresh. The receptionist was very nice and tried a lot to be helpful. The breakfast was not good.

In conclusion it was decent .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing