We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Use Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would Use Again”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We used this hotel for an overnight stay and a series of business meetings the next day. Arriving early, I found a space in the hotel parking and was not charged for this privilege. A colleague who arrived a little later was apparently asked to pay for hotel parking. A third colleague found the small car park full and had to park at a nearby supermarket. The room was of a good standard and the restaurant facilities were fine. The staff members were courteous, good-natured and willing to help. The business event went very well with our concluding that we would use the Copthorne once more as and when we organised further sessions in Plymouth.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    283
    298
    133
    57
See reviews for
126
298
63
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

i stayed here for a week back in march as was working in the city , cannot fault the hotel and staff were friendly and very helpful if needed anything , reception staff in particular especially cheryl who was always helpful with extra teabags and sugars
only negative was lack of choices in restaurant although bar menus were a lot better and great food at good prices
would definately stay again as a paying guest

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kernow666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

stayed for 1 night for wife's birthday, excellent size very clean room. faultless service and a good breakfast. room faced onto main road but didn't hear traffic at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellibDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

A blemish on the Copthorne brand. The hotel reception is nice enough and staff are very friendly. The rooms have been desperate for a refurb probably for the last 10 years.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucySheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Revenue Supervisor at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Dear LucySheff,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Copthorne hotel.

We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel decor and as a team we are aware that our product is in need of updating.
However, as you have pointed out we do aim to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests to make sure their stay is a pleasant and comfortable one.

I do hope you decide to return to the hotel in the future so that we may restore your faith in the hotel.

Kind regards
Claire Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Stayed here on business. The hotel looks like something from an Alan Partridge sketch - very tired and dated. Wallpaper from the 80s, terrible pictures of vases or boots on the walls and old box style TVs. For me the price was not reflective of quality. The food in the evening was not great - and again overpriced. It was not easy to get to the hotel as it's on a roundabout and you get stuck on a one way system if you go wrong. However, the staff were very friendly and polite and the room was big and clean (just very dated). The bed was also comfortable and there was a great duvet. I would not stay here again though.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Revenue Supervisor at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. While it is never pleasant to receive negative feedback, we welcome your comments and endeavour to resolve any issues raised before your next stay with us.

Here at the Copthorne Plymouth, we appreciate that our product may seem dated compared to other hotels in the city. We do however strive to provide excellent customer service and I can see that you were impressed with the level of service you received during your stay.

I hope that this coupled with the fact that we are making improvements to our product will ensure that you do return to the hotel in future and I would like to invite u to contact me direct to make any future reservations.

Kind regards
Claire Webb

T: 01752 224161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

i felt i should have been warned about the scarcity of parking spaces and the fact that we had to pay either in the hotel or at sainsburys. had i known it was so dire, i wouldn't have stayed there.i don't believe any hotel should charge for parking and when we went for dinner, there was no guarantee the space we'd paid for would be free when we returned. very poor service. my sons were in room 133 and were kept awake by an persistant noise (possibly an air conditioning unit or an extractor?)the receptionist said it was sainsburys but they were on the other side of the hotel and it was not traffic noise. the same receptionist tried to overcharge me not just once but twice when i went to settle the bill and seemed to have no record of one of the room rates which had been an on-line booking. i was not impressed with her pulling faces at other guests who had had to wait! i had to go and retrieve my info from my room and was eventually charged the correct amount but i found the experience upsetting and told her so. she did not see fit to apologise. such a shame because our rooms were very nice, breakfast was good and other staff were friendly. my father would like to know why the hotel bar had no dry ginger? on balance, i don't think we would stay at a copthorne hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthornePlymouth_UK, Revenue Supervisor at Copthorne Hotel Plymouth, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us here at the Copthorne hotel Plymouth. As a team, we welcome all feedback and endeavour to work on the areas that you have raised as a concern from your visit.

We are aware that the limited availability of spaces in the car park can be a concern to our guests and we do offer alternatives where possible i.e the overflow into Sainsburys car park just next door. I will certainly look into having the fact that we have limited spaces more visable on the website when booking accommodation.

I am sorry that you were not pleased with the level of service received from our Receptionist when quering your bill and I will raise the matter further with the Head of the department concerned.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and for the positive comments about the breakfast and friendly manner of other staff. I will pass on your fathers question regarding the dry ginger being available at the bar.

I do hope you decide to return to the hotel in the future so that we may restore your faith in our team and service here at the Copthorne hotel.

If you would like to discuss the matter further or talk with me personally about making any future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me on the number below.

Kind regards
Claire Webb

01752 224161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

A very tired looking hotel! Not had much spent on it in the last 10 years. Good breakfast however. Price almost reflected condition of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
759 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing