We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Theatre Royal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked the hotel as l wanted to be able to walk to to the theatre, it was about a five minute walk. We had a quick meal at the bar in the hotel, the service was quick and the meal superb. My daughter used the pool which was quite busy with children having swimming lessons, but not a real problem. Our room was clean with new furniture on the 5th floor. We parked easily at the hotel with no extra charge, overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear RubyDevon,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again especially with all the fantastic new productions that Plymouth's Theatre Royal has to offer.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed for just one night on a business trip and did not spend much time in the hotel. However the time we did spend made a good impression. First the car park - there were no special events on so we had no trouble parking during the day or late at night. Second the room - fine for a three star hotel, comfortable bed, quiet and all we needed for the night. Third, the breakfast was great. They rustled up porridge on request even though this was not in the menu and the cooked breakfasts were spot on & made to order rather than the soggy offering you get at so many hotels which offer only self-service buffet breakfasts.

What stood out were the staff. Everyone we encountered was helpful and pleasant - they seemed to be enjoying their jobs and were well organised and excellent at anticipating needs. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Be prepared to search for bar man as I had to wait and have stayed there a few times on business, same each time. Great restaurant, rooms are good breakfast will keep you going all day. Parking can be dificult as carpark often loaded with Coaches. Easy reach of most locations.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Gizors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Gizors,

Thank you for your review.

Our car park has 80 spaces, guests very rarely have trouble parking but in the height of the summer season or when we have special events on it can be slightly more difficult than the rest of the year.

Our Roma bar opens from 5pm until late where there is always a bar person on duty. If guests require drinks from the bar before that time they can order from our front desk. If you had difficulty finding a bar person before 5pm then this should not have happened and we apologise if this was the case.

Thank you for your feed back and we hope to welcome you back to the New Continental soon.

Kind Regards,

Y.Hajiyianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is near the centre of town and the Website photo gives the impression of great grandness but here it is very noisy here.
Our room overlooked the rear car park next to the ice ring where the yobs would congregate and further down the hill was a Wetherspoons which never seemed to close.
We just had the basic twin so I do not know if the four posters would have been better but considering the other comments I would think so.
I did ask the girl on reception for their best room or an upgrade but she said this was a roomy room right on the edge of the hotel.
It was miles from the lift, up and down stairs and like on Everest we thought we would bodies of past residents who had expired
The staff were very pleasant and the room was clean, the bathroom had just been done up. Shame about the one single broken coat hook on the back of the door, like so many hotels there is never enough hooks in a room where you need to take your clothes off.
The truth of it was that the hotels location worked against itself and the poor staff, it should be moved to a sunny cliff near the Hoe

Room Tip: Perhaps pay more for a 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPollocksPlumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We used this hotel as it was close to the Pavilions where we were attending a Conference.
Each member of staff we met was helpful, cheerful and friendly.
Our room was spacious, the bathroom could have be better had there been another shelf to put lotions and potions on. Dietary requirements were dealt without problems.

The hotel was handy for the city shopping centre and the attractions of the seafront etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Me and my fiancée stayed in the deluxe four poster suite for one night. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. We found the suite very spacious, clean and comforting. We both loved the pressure jet bath nice, however we felt it could have had a shower aswell, so that you had the option.
On first arrival to the hotel we turned up early for check in and found the receptionist very rude and judgemental. (young couple) When she found out we were staying in the suite she had a very different approach straight away.
We decided to have a walk into the city centre and came back to the hotel at the correct time. This time we met a different receptionist who was exceptionally helpful - she recommended where to have our evening meal at a Chinese which was delicious.
I would recommend this hotel and definitely the deluxe suite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I would like to extend my personal thanks for a superb convention. Best hotel room I have ever had in the UK hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Meals met with above expectations. I would not hesitate to recommend the New Continental Hotel to any of my friends or associates.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing