We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A bit noisey”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Single room on the top floor. Windows are a bit old and let street noise in. But that is nothing compared to the noise from the electric shower in the next door bathroom. Paper thin walls and too much noise.
Overall the hotel is average, but at £60 it was OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evs_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Evs_Family,

Thank you staying with us at the New Continental Hotel and thank you for your feedback. We will look in to the noise coming from the electric shower in the room next door to you, this is something that we were unaware of but thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you are visiting Plymouth.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    192
    111
    44
    29
See reviews for
106
188
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in Plymouth as we were celebrating a graduation and our Honeymoon. The reception is modern and vibrant. This is as far as modernity went.
The lift was old and in serious need of updating. So much so that it would not go to the ground floor. We had to go to the first floor and walk down the flight of stairs. Thankfully they were shallow and not steep. If they were it would cause problems for people of limited mobility. The bedroom was clean and tidy with all the usual amenities. Considering we were paying £170 for 2 nights, I would have expected fresh milk in the room or at least more than 4 little pots of milk.
The hotel corridors were very old fashioned and in serious need of a facelift. The carpets were worn in places with wallpaper peeling.
The breakfast, although hearty, was nothing to write home about. The buffet part was just grapefruit and yoghurt with apple or orange juice.The full breakfast was as it said on the tin. Neither was it fantastic or awful. The restaurant needed a bit of an update.
Our stay was comfortable and the staff were pleasant. But I wouldnt stay hear again, especially if the price is still £170 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Matt L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with at the New Continental Hotel. It is lovely to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and that you were happy with your room.

In the last five years the New Continental has undergone major refurbishment and this is still continuing. We never stop updating and we are a very much loved and cared for hotel. We are sorry that some parts of it, such as the breakfast room were not to your taste. We renovated our basement and turned it into a brasserie in 2010, guests have the choice to dine there in the evenings.

Our lift was updated less than two months ago and the the fault last week that you mention was fixed within the hour. We apologise if this caused you any convenience.

We choose not to leave fresh milk in the rooms and instead provide the little pots. If guests require fresh milk we are more than happy to take some up to their room for them.

You paid £85 per night based on two people sharing a double room which included breakfast and use of our leisure club which is a competitive price.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that you decide to change your mind and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Having wondered where to stay for a short break (3 nights) decided on this hotel as its location seemed ideal.

On arrival the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Our room was quite a good size and the hotel had clearly been renovated throughout and was quite modern in decor.

One niggle was the bed size and on inquiry all the rooms had the same size except for the executive style rooms which had larger beds.

Anyway the room, had all that one needed including a flat screen TV.

As to the breakfast as my heading this was one of the best cooked breakfasts I have ever had in any hotel (even 5/6 star ones). Even the plates the food was served on were red hot.

Apart from a great choice for the cooked breakfast their was the usual buffet for starters right down to diet style yoghurts for those that wanted them.

As to location it was a 10 minute walk up to Plymouth Hoe and then one could walk along the cliff top right down into the Barbican where the marina and lots of restaurants and quaint shops can be found.

You bare also a short 10 minute walk from the main shopping center or 15-20 minute walk at a snails pace.

Would we stay again. Yes.

Room Tip: Suggest opting for top floor room as over the weekend it may get a bit noisy from the Wetherspoons P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Wacky the wizard,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. All your lovely comments have been passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the New Continental Hotel on your next visit to Plymouth.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The title says it all really. Would I stay again? Yes. I think the most important thing is friendly and attentive staff and this is where the New Continental excels. I've stayed at some lovely places that have been totally ruined by the staff, and some dives that have been saved by them. Still, even with the best staff in the world, the facilities were average and the breakfast was a let down.

Plymouth isn't really renowned for its hotels and overall the New Continental beats the others I've stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisdBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear ChrisBds,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the New Continental and for your kind comments regarding our team. We are pleased to see that our hotel beats the other Plymouth hotels that you have stayed in and we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. We will endeavour to maintain high standards and work on areas that could be further improved.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Ideally situated, as next to the Pavillion. Warm, friendly receptionist greeted us, and booking in was straightforward. Rooms were fine for the one night stay. The net curtains could have done with a clean, or replacing and the window sills needed a clean, but the bathroom was spotless, and the power shower amazing. Really comfy bed, with tea making facilities in room.

Room was quiet, and a good night sleep was possible.
Good value, as booked on late rooms.com.
Breakfast was freshly cooked, and tasty.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a comfy bed and an amazing shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

If you pay the displayed prices at reception (£120 to 170) you will feel aggrieved; so don't. We secured rooms at £70 per night online, which made the stay acceptable. The hotel has had a lick of paint, but when entering the elevator you get the impression that the upgrade is superficial. The rooms were clean and adequate. However, the walls are paper thin, so expect to hear your neighbours! Free WiFi is a bonus but highly variable. One room was fine; the other intermittent.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear John W,

Thank you for your review.

The prices that are displayed in our reception are our rack rates which most hotels will have displayed. These prices are very rarely used.

We have undergone major refurbishment in the last few years and have recently completed work on our lift to make sure it runs as reliably and efficiently as possible.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked the hotel as l wanted to be able to walk to to the theatre, it was about a five minute walk. We had a quick meal at the bar in the hotel, the service was quick and the meal superb. My daughter used the pool which was quite busy with children having swimming lessons, but not a real problem. Our room was clean with new furniture on the 5th floor. We parked easily at the hotel with no extra charge, overall a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHajiyianni, Owner at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear RubyDevon,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again especially with all the fantastic new productions that Plymouth's Theatre Royal has to offer.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
760 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Property: New Continental Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing