We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue, food and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent venue, food and service!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Thank you so much to The New Continental Hotel for providing excellent service all the way through the planning and organisation of our Black Tie Ball we had at this venue.
It was a fantastic venue with excellent food, the staff were excellent and our stay at the hotel after with breakfast was brilliant.
I would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone, you couldn't fault the customer service of the staff, main meal and breakfast was delicious and hotel rooms lovely and comfortable.

Great family run business with a personal service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    189
    108
    43
    27
See reviews for
103
185
13
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed beginning of March for two nights. Exterior sets expectations a bit higher than you actually get. Reception was clean and modern, but that facade disappears rather quite quickly - only the bar immediately off reception has been given such a makeover. I had a double room to the rear of the hotel - other reviews have said that the rooms were quite warm and this was borne out during my stay, however I found after about 10-15 mins in the room, you stop noticing it. Bathroom clean as a whistle, bed very comfy. Tea making facilities a little lacking from what I've found in other hotels of a similar price per night.

Others make mention of the noise from the pub over the road - it was noticeable in the room I stayed in, but not overly bad.

Breakfast-wise, the cooked English brekkie was ok, a bit generic and disappointing. Fruit bar was good (grapefruit/oranges/apples etc) but the yoghurts tasted like they had been watered down.
Continental breakfast "croissants with jam and spreads" consisted of 1 croissant. 1. And I was refused any more.

General opinion, good, but could well be improved with fairly minor things. Top tip: save yourself the money and eat at the Weatherspoons over the road.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room - had a look inside and a lot bigger. Higher floors = less noise. Back rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haj14, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Matt S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Whilst delighted to read your positive feed back it was a little disappointing to receive your comments about the breakfast. We have taken your comments on board and will make suitable changes.

In the last four years the hotel has had major refurbishments throughout, including a new brasserie, reception area, bar and work on each of our 99 bedrooms and this will continue.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed end February for two nights. Bistro quiet but good food reasonably priced. Waiter enthusiastic and pleasant.
Pool adequate. Steam room basic.
One receptionist off hand but they improved over the weekend.
Breakfast hot. Simple. Rather rushed.
I would not refuse to visit again. But would not rush to do either.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a family room. We did not know quite what to expect so were very pleased and relieved with the quality of the accommodation and facilities. we were in the family suite plenty of room for 2 adults and 3 teens. Yes the furniture in the rooms was not modern but if we had wanted a characterless room we would have stayed in a premier inn and paid double the money as we would have needed 2 rooms to accommodate a family of 5. The breakfast was fantastic and plenty of it with lovely friendly staff who were very attentive. I have recommended this hotel to family and friends as a result of our stay will choose this hotel again when staying in Plymouth.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haj14, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Andrea V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review and thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back to the New Continental on your next stay in Plymouth.

Kind Regards,
Y.Hajiyianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed at the beginning of February while attending a concert at the Pavillions. Hotel is the perfect location for those wanting a Hotel close to the Pavillion - this is literally 2 steps from the Pavillion. The Hotel does have a car park (we were not charged for parking) but it's small and crowded so be sure you're there early enough. On first glance, Hotel seems a bit dated and in a state of disrepair. Reception and Bar is modern in feel and look but this is lost as you make your way towards the room (reminds me a little of secondary school).

Our room was on the top floor (5) and we found the bathroom was small and cramped. Plug wouldn't hold and so we had no choice but to shower.

Beds were a little small and room was very dated.

I doubt that we would stay again for £69/night.

That said, if you want something conveniently located to town and the Pavilions, you can't go far wrong here. If you want something 'special' this probably isn't the Hotel for you.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the top floor (Rooms beginning 5).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriss2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel is situated in the best possible location - you have the town - the seafront - and barbican all within walking distance. The rooms are clean and fresh bedding awaited us, Pool was a little basic but never the less an added bonus. Its a pity the views from most rooms looked over rooftops of other buildings. Its was quiet in the evening even though the hotel is slap bang in the middle of the night life.

The staff where friendly and respectable at all times and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to any one.

Room Tip: Top floor is the best location for a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon-Sharon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Nice to have a gym and pool, if a little basic, in the price range. Rooms at back overlook roof below; no view really. At front would be pretty but probably louder with traffic and revellers. 45 second walk to pubs and clubs. Very amenable staff. Bathrooms becoming a little tired; small piece of wood flooring missing and some mouldy areas in shower.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judgie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
752 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Property: New Continental Hotel
Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing