We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff, decent enough hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As far as hotels go, there's nothing really amazing to brag about the New Continental... it's perfectly functional, the room was clean with a comfy bed, Tea and coffee, TV, big bathroom and plenty of towels etc. There was a trouser press and I think Ironing facilities. My review is more that the staff (that I encountered) are very friendly and very helpful. I was attending a wedding an had a nightmare with a late delivery of a wasitcoat. I asked the hotel if I could post there and they were very receptive to that, taking in and keeping my package safe.

Check in is 2pm, however they arranged for my room (and some friends) to have our rooms cleaned first and ready early (10.30ish) which was really good of them. The bar was reopened when we got back late. The reception staff where chatty and very helpful.

I didn't explore plymouth much, but the hotel is near to the harbour, and the cabbie told us there were some good eateries around. It's not far from the main stretch of clubs if that's your thing.

This hotel won't blow your mind, but if you're looking for a decent place for a drop in to Plymouth, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talktotippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Have stayed twice now and have been very happy with the service and room. Staff were helpful especially the bar staff. Have not eaten here but will stay again as such a convenient location for the hoe, shopping etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here on Good Friday , as we were returning guests and the hotel was quiet I would of thought we would have been given a room other than one looking at a wall but that was not the case. We booked a table in the restaurant at 8 pm we were the only people in . So at the very
Least the food should have been spot on but it was not good a shrived up carrot and parsnip along with some peas the steak was more fat than meat . My curry had good flavour but no sauce so very dry. Breakfast average the plates are so hot to the extreme it carried on cooking our eggs so they were hard . I will not be returning to the continental

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polventon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel has a good sized family room and a very nice indoor swimming pool. Breakfast was very good and the evening meal we had at their brasseire was lovely. We managed to book our room late and thereby got it at a good rate but if money was no object I would probably be happy to pay full rates to come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Bed room was clean - shower OK. Check in staff helpful. We live in Plymouth so this was a little break away from home and to have somewhere in town to stay. The location is brilliant for Town, The Hoe and barbican. Ideal for shopping, Theater and A night on the town.
Please note that an early night is probably not a good idea as the hotel does have functions on, Weddings etc. We found that the noise did stop early enough to get a good night sleep, so it wasn't a problem.

However, Breakfast service was poor. Ordered breakfast with Tea, coffee and Toast. Tea and coffee arrived ,. no milk or toast, mentioned to waiter, who was not seen again. Mentioned to grumpy waitress about toast and milk. Eventually gave up and got the milk from cereal bar. Mentioned toast again when breakfast arrived. Toast eventually turned up when breakfast was nearly complete. Also while watching a waitress set a table, we noticed her drop a knife on the floor. This was picked up and placed 'as clean' on the newly set table. On Checkout my bill had gone up ( Bill already paid on entry ) by £16.78. Apparently someone had put a wrong charge on our account. This was taken off after I queried the bill. Overall would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have stayed in Plymouth many times over the years and for some reason have never booked into this hotel, however, that will now change. We really enjoyed our stay although only for one night it was good. We went out to a local restaurant for our evening meal but on our next stay in Plymouth we will eat in the hotels own restaurant which looked very nice and clean with a reasonable looking menu. We didn't book in for breakfast but will next time.
The only down side was that the internet connection wasn't very good and pillows were too hard. Will bring our own pillows next time.

Room Tip: when booking ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff.
Clean rooms.
Very good food, room service was excellent.
Highly recommend for a stay in Plymouth.
Use of the gym and steam rooms made the stay even better.
The hotel is located in a very convenient spot. Close to all the attractions and historic bowling green.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
986 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £75 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing