We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return definitely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Continental Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What could you ask for that this doesn't have. Personality from the staff shine through everything. The room that I stayed in was on the small side but comfortable. Food was lovely, served by ever smiling staff.
Good starting point for Cornwall .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Stutours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The crumbling aged facade did give me pause. But the hotel while dated & creaky is comfortable and close enough to Plymouth Hoe & the City Centre. Would stay here again for the heated pool, sauna and steam which were lovely. Nice staff as well.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in the Hotel with our choir, thirty or so plus wives and partners, for the weekend of 23 to 26 may 2014. On arrival we were given our allocated rooms (Ours was on floor two ) . The reception was as would be expected and we were pleased, we went to our room 205 . it was very clean and tidy, a decent size too, very nice and comfy, the bed was comfy . The evening meal though I have to say was awful,( Hake dry as a bone, taters were not good either and the least said about the veggies the better ) this did not bode well for the rest of our stay.But the next morning breakfast well made up for it, well cooked and a decent amount of food and plenty of toast, One of the staff as quite grumpy though, but she more than made up for it late on. The annoying thing was not being able to order drinks and the table, we had to trek some distance to get a bottle of wine, And at £17 for a less than a fiver a bottle of wine, rip off. One day the lift broke down too, and for the poor old guys who are not good on the pins was not ideal as some were on the 5th floor, fortunately i was on floor 2. I would say however this is a very decent hotel well placed for getting about too. The staff could use a little customer care training though, but over all they were fine. Not a bad place to stay i'd say.

Room Tip: Its not noisy ,not much traffic noise and the rooms are pretty much the same so all ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madanc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A great hotel, lovely rooms so clean and spacious, plenty of towels and the beds really comfortable, the hotel is very central to all we needed which on this trip was the Theatre Royal, shops and The Hoe, we had some noise from the pub opposite but not enough to disturb sleep the staff were really friendly and helpful, we did not use the pool facilities so can't comment on them but if I go to Plymouth again would happily stay here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I had read a few duff reviews so was a bit worried but my fears were unnecessary.
Yes it's a little tired in places but it's a family run hotel and they couldn't have been nicer people. The steam room was lovely, pool area etc looked perfectly reasonable and I was very comfortable. The brasserie looked lovely and my room service food was delicious.
Thank you

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is an ideal base for the town, barbican and the hoe. We stayed in a room on the top floor facing the main road which meant you do get noise from traffic and the near by weatherspoons however this did not effect our stay in any way. Our room was a basic standard hotel room which was very clean and had everything you needed. The swimming pool was a bonus and again this was kept clean and tidy. I would recommend staying in the hotel if you a looking for a central location. It also has a decent size car park which was free to park for guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sksnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As far as hotels go, there's nothing really amazing to brag about the New Continental... it's perfectly functional, the room was clean with a comfy bed, Tea and coffee, TV, big bathroom and plenty of towels etc. There was a trouser press and I think Ironing facilities. My review is more that the staff (that I encountered) are very friendly and very helpful. I was attending a wedding an had a nightmare with a late delivery of a wasitcoat. I asked the hotel if I could post there and they were very receptive to that, taking in and keeping my package safe.

Check in is 2pm, however they arranged for my room (and some friends) to have our rooms cleaned first and ready early (10.30ish) which was really good of them. The bar was reopened when we got back late. The reception staff where chatty and very helpful.

I didn't explore plymouth much, but the hotel is near to the harbour, and the cabbie told us there were some good eateries around. It's not far from the main stretch of clubs if that's your thing.

This hotel won't blow your mind, but if you're looking for a decent place for a drop in to Plymouth, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talktotippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
665 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing