We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facelift!”

Theatre Royal Plymouth
Ranked #7 of 176 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Theatre Royal Plymouth is the largest and best attended regional producing theatre in the UK and the leading promoter of theatre in the South West. There are two distinctive performance spaces; The Lyric and The Drum, and a new workshop and performance space, The Lab, will open in October 2013.The range of work presented and produced is incredibly extensive, including regular collaborations with leading theatre companies in the UK and beyond. The programme includes major touring drama, musical productions, leading opera and dance. The Theatre Royal Plymouth also produces and presents new plays and has built a national reputation for the quality of its programme and innovative work in The Drum, winning the prestigious Peter Brook award. New musicals and larger scale drama are co-produced for The Lyric, often with commercial or subsidised partners and many productions tour nationally or transfer to the West End. The Theatre Royal Plymouth provides an exceptional Creative Learning programme with a focus on engaging young and disadvantaged communities. The award-winning theatre production and learning centre, TR2, contains unrivalled set, costume, prop-making and rehearsal facilities.
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It looks like a lot of money has been spent on the outside of the Theatre and the bar and snack areas, however inside the main theatre it looked like nothing had changed, not even a coat of paint!! Very nice atmosphere but didn't attempt a drink or snack during the interval as it is too challenging to get in and out to the bars before you have to be back in your seat!!!

1  Thank mah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on our newly renovated front of house areas. The £7million investment in the future of the Theatre Royal Plymouth has enabled us to undertake much needed renovations to the Bars, Box Office, Restaurant and Café, plus a complete re-cladding of the building, massively improving energy efficiency. The investment has also enabled the development of a new performance space in the basement – The Lab – providing a city centre location for our work with young people and community groups. We undertook renovations to The Lyric auditorium in 2003 during our Coming of Age project so this year was very much about future-proofing those areas of the theatre that really needed it. We’re pleased you like the new look Theatre and will feedback your comments to ensure we continue to improve our services and meet the demands of our customers. Hope you’ll be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 588 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Please don't go to this awful place.15million refurb has quite simply resulted in a new big neon sign. Don't try the toilets you won't get in without aque up the stairs. So bad in this day and age. Why. BUild .more toilets. Grubby facilities. Pushy staff. Expensive ice cream . ic we cream must be worth its weight in gold. Do no go.

1  Thank VoteUKIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We're very sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable experience at the Theatre Royal Plymouth. This summer we undertook a £7million refurbishment to our Front of House areas in order to better meet the accessibility needs of our customers, greatly improve energy efficiency and, amongst many other developments, give the area a much-needed facelift - more information about this can be found on our website. There are 52 public toilet facilities in the building which we have identified are sufficient for our capacity.

All feedback we receive is taken very seriously and passed on to the relevant department for investigation, enabling us to continue to improve our customers' experience. However, we would be very grateful if you would contact us directly via our website with details of your concerns regarding staff conduct, cleanliness and ice creams so that we may fully investigate and address them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I recently went to see "Our House" in the Theatre Royal and was disappointed with the sound production; whether this is purely the production itself or the sound sytem of the theatre I do not know as this was the first time I had been to this theatre. I understand that the theatre had recently been refurbished so I do hope that some time and money would have been spent on the sound system, but it was not evident on the night that I attended. The production itself was very professionally and enthusiastically performed by the artists, however.
The refurbishment is very evident throughtout the building and there is plenty of leg room in the theatre. The pre-show restaurant was of good quality with a varied reasonably priced menu, with a good table service.
If I am in the area in the future I would probably visit the theatre again.

Thank PJHADLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Have been meeting friends here for a few years monthly for a coffee and Christmas lunches. The theatre has recenly been refurbished and looks very nice. But if your having coffee and want to sit on the settees you now have to take your cups back, whereas before the coffee was served in the same area. Friendly staff and nice snacks.

Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Apart from being able to stage top quality shows, the Theatre Royal, Plymouth, has a facility (TR2) where shows are put together prior to moving to the London West End, and touring the UK.
It has recently had an extensive refit and has been voted one of the best regional theatres, if not the best, in the UK.

Thank sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theatre Royal Plymouth also viewed

 

Been to Theatre Royal Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing