We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera Visit”

Theatre Royal Plymouth
Ranked #7 of 178 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Theatre Royal Plymouth is the largest and best attended regional producing theatre in the UK and the leading promoter of theatre in the South West. There are two distinctive performance spaces; The Lyric and The Drum, and a new workshop and performance space, The Lab, will open in October 2013.The range of work presented and produced is incredibly extensive, including regular collaborations with leading theatre companies in the UK and beyond. The programme includes major touring drama, musical productions, leading opera and dance. The Theatre Royal Plymouth also produces and presents new plays and has built a national reputation for the quality of its programme and innovative work in The Drum, winning the prestigious Peter Brook award. New musicals and larger scale drama are co-produced for The Lyric, often with commercial or subsidised partners and many productions tour nationally or transfer to the West End. The Theatre Royal Plymouth provides an exceptional Creative Learning programme with a focus on engaging young and disadvantaged communities. The award-winning theatre production and learning centre, TR2, contains unrivalled set, costume, prop-making and rehearsal facilities.
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Thought the WNO's La Traviata wonderful! In other years on our way out, we are able to pick up a flyer telling us which operas we can see the following year. But not this year! One would think it would be good advertising. The Box Office area was then closed and the person we asked did not know, which was unfortunate.
In the new sandwich area, can everyone speak English well?
Might ginger ice creams be an option in the intermissions next year, please!

Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, we’re pleased that you enjoyed the performance of La traviata and will feedback your comments to Welsh National Opera. Regarding the flier – sometimes the print for their following visit is available to pick up in the foyer, this is not always the case as the programme isn’t always confirmed 12 months in advance. We hope to be releasing details of next season in the near future – please do keep an eye on our website. I’m afraid I don’t understand what you mean by “In the new sandwich area, can everyone speak English well?” – do feel free to email us with clarification and we will try to answer your question. Regarding ginger flavour ice creams – we will pass on your comments to our Food and Beverages department for their consideration. Finally, we wondered if you had mistakenly given your visit a One Star review? As far as we can tell, you very much enjoyed the performance and your only concern was the lack of print advertising WNO’s forthcoming programme. Please do let us know if we have misunderstood your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 558 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Get there early have a good value dinner happy staff fair price come back during intermit ion for pudding or just a drink no standing at the bar keep up the good work

Thank jay00_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi Jay,

Thanks for your review! It is great to see our patrons making use of the restaurant pre-show and then coming back to their table in the interval for drinks and pudding. We hope that you will return soon to try some more desserts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Wow! We just got back from an amazing production! When I booked the tickets last year I was worried about cost but how wrong it was such a fantastic family experience. If I could have we would have walked back in for next showing! The show was just fantastic

Thank Sunnydaysarehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the performance and would have seen it again straight away if given the chance! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great work done in the last 6 months. Good viewing all round.Staff very plentiful which meant very little waiting for drinks food etc.

Thank barnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hello! Thanks a lot for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Upgraded and really smart! We saw the Lion King which was amazing - very nostaligic as I saw it in London the year it opened and it's really changed since then. All staff really helpful.

Thank Narragansett_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! It is great that you are able to compare the West End and touring productions. We are pleased to hear you had a great time. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theatre Royal Plymouth also viewed

 

Been to Theatre Royal Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing