We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bowling Green, Plymouth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bowling Green, Plymouth
Ranked #36 of 83 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Dorking
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

We chose this hotel because of the various good reviews and I am pleased to say we were not disappointed. A friendly welcome, clean rooms/linen/towels and with Tom the owner on hand to help out in any way he could and with attentive staff at breakfast. Excellent location for coast /University or city centre. Brilliant breakfast and very reasonable rates. |Would definitely recommend this place to those who want a bit of the traditional service rather than your large hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    31
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
116
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, Somerset
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

I found Tom and his staff to be the perfect hosts. There attention to detail is second to none. The hotel is spotless and clean. Breakfast was amazing with choices of starters and mains all of which was included in the price of your b & b, you could have as much or as little as you liked.
I had gone to see my husband off on a six month deployment, and Toms words of kindness, and understanding to comfort me we very much appreciated, and geniune. He even offered that I go back and have a cuppa at the hotel, before I went on my journey home, which was by now outside of the booking out hours.
I honestly can say I felt extremely welcome and would recommend Tom , his staff and his hotel to all, they definately went the extra mile and more, to make my experience and pleasurable one, and I will certainly be going back there again.
Our room was very large and spacious with a view over the bowling green, although close to all amenities, it is in a very quiet road.
Highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

I stayed in the Bowling Green for two nights in miserable February, I was at a real low point being infested with all sorts of winter bugs, I had driven a long way and was looking forward to a kip before tea, the room was ideal, it was warm clean and homely, I am fussy regarding cleanliness but I had no worries here.
I ventured out the first night and was misfortunate enough to stumble on one of those places......think that food needs a pound of salt for it to taste, processed rubbish I guess?
I mentioned to Tom that I thought he should do cooking, he said he had not the confidence to cook.......well that was not true(confidence not the cooking!), he cooked me a steak and ale pie that would put even my mother-in-law's cooking to shame, roast veggies all done to a turn,

Tom, do some simple no nonsense food, us travellers/guest house gypsies are sick of pretentious rubbish, Meals like that are impossble to come by in this age, I felt a whole lot better by the time I had finished that dinner I can tell you!

Anyways, my room was warm and clean did I mention that, loads of coffee and bits, nice cups all the goodies which make a room more like home from home.
Freeview TV too with loads of channels.
I shall be back for sure, I may need to do more work in the area and for sure I am going to bring the kids down to see the sites, many in walking distance from the guest house.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_the_Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, Hants
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

We stayed at the Bowling Green for two nights and will definetly stay there again on our next visit. We have stayed in five other hotels in Plymouth, including four star hotels, and this was the most pleasant and relaxing stay we have had. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped. The staff were as freindly and helpful as you could possibly want. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandLHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

From the moment I spoke with Tom when booking our reservation, I knew we were in for a great stay! My Son and I were visiting Plymouth University for an interview and we knew very little about Plymouth and the surrounding area. We were greeted with a warm welcome by Tom and the guidance he provided regarding places to eat, how to get to the university and local information was invaluable. The room was ideal, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast the following morning was delicious! Our Son has now been offered a place at Plymouth University which he has now accepted - just as Tom had predicted! When we visit our Son in Plymouth we will be heading for the Bowling Green - really looking forward to it. Thanks again Tom

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHHwarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

Our second weekend visit to the Bowling Green for rocking to Quo at the pavillions and treking the moors. A great location for us. The cleanliness is 100% everywhere, the staff great and the breakfasts really good. A top notch place for a very reasonable rate.
Lynn and Malcolm
Truro

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melroytruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAUNTON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

Our 1st stay here, Met with a warm welcome. Room Immaculately Clean & Comfy ;) Tasty Breakfast, Yummy, Many thanx Tom We will stay again, Rested & Refreshed, Highly recommended. Jo & Leon. Taunton. WURZEL CREW

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — nothink
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TauntonWurzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drake
The Drake
#17 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tudor House Guest House
Tudor House Guest House
#4 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#8 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#6 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowling Green, Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowling Green, Plymouth

Property: The Bowling Green, Plymouth
Address: 9-10 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bowling Green Plymouth
Hotel Bowling Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing