We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip to devon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Hucknall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“trip to devon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

have just stayed at churchwood valley for first time lovely location cabins are clean and tidy perhaps needed upgrading on cutlery was ok for two been a little squashed for 4, birds and s quirrels were vistors every day ,wheather was lovely .well worth visit to plymouth great city . would have been better if cafe on beach been open .langdor court hotel excelllent meal lovely surroundings .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    38
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have just returned from my first visit to Churchwood with my friend. The place is fantastic, really beautiful, if you love nature and wildlife this is the place. Every morning the squirrels would run round the cabin and the birds would come to the bird table for their breakfast. The beach is a short walk, in fact you are close to many beautiful walks along the headland. Very hilly so not for people with a great deal of disability.
The staff are outstanding, my friend had a fall, they took us to hospital and collected us later.
You are not far from many beautiful places to visit, lots of historic houses and gardens, or just stay by your cabin and enjoy the nature.
Already booked for next year. Beautiful!

Room Tip: They do have cabins with easier access, just ask and they will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

After being surprised by my partner the location, views and everything else was simply perfect. The cabins have everything in them you'll need for a weekend break, I found the cabin extremely clean and tidy, the bed was so comfortable. The surroundings were beautiful, the beach was within walking distance, the only thing missing was our dog .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

We found this holiday site by mistake, what a good mistake to make. We were in an A2 cabin with our dog. On arrival we found the cabin had been prepared with the heating on and beds made. Very clean and tidy. Excellent scenery and the hills will help you sleep. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just had a couple of nights at Churchwood Valley - we had tickets to a Seth Lakeman concert at the Theatre Royal and made a weekend of walking on the beach, a walk round Plymouth and lunch at the River Cottage Canteen so for this the location was ideal and rather nice in the trees and there was everything in there that we needed. I Agree with other reviews that the cabin was a little basic and possibly a little tired BUT It was spotlessly clean and warm so we are very happy with our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Churchwood Valley was the ideal location for us, when we visited Wembury for our niece's wedding at the romantically situated St. Werburgh's church. Imagine the four of us, down on beautiful Wembury beach all morning, paddling, sand-castle-building, rock-pool-exploring - then a quick walk back up the lovely valley, kicking off sandy shoes at he door, dumping buckets and spades, ravenous for lunch - to emerge later, all dressed up in our finest, and to set off along the twisty country lane to the wedding! We even walked back to Churchwood by moonlight from the reception at Langdon Court. What a beautiful area - and what a relaxing weekend!
The staff at Churchwood Valley couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful, right from the first phone call. We booked a fairly basic cabin, and it was clean and comfortable, with a wonderful hidden-away feeling among the trees and greenery. The patio with picnic table and bird-feeder were a favourite with the children - a great place for star-gazing as well as lazing over supper. The on-site shop has quite a good selection of food as well as postcards, gifts and souvenirs, and there is an old-fashioned red phone-box by the reception, so no-one really needs to feel isolated by the lack of mobile signal.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay, and the children have only one query - please can we come again next year?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We went to Wembury in August 2011, it was last minute decision to go.
If I remember well we stayed ina small -VERY smal "compact" cabin called A3,or something similiar.We had good weather and thats the main factor that we are happy with our stay there. I dont think that I would cope well in small cabin, with very basic stuff in the kitchen( I really did not like the idea of 3 cups, 3 plates, 3 teaspoons- etc everything was in 3! it makes cooking or serving food quite challenging. Luckily there were only 2 of us plus mid size( largeish) dog.
Tv was old and not many tv channels- very poor reception in bad weather.
there is biggish fridgezer so no problem putting all the shopping.
Cabins were clean- just maybe a little odd speck of dust, but clean- thats a plus.
I am not really kin of that typical musky smell of damp, I can not stand it- it was worst in drawers in bedroom or cabinet. I had to have all stuff wshed properly through as soon as we came back.
not very comfortable matresses, on both 2 single beds, the sofa bed in sitting- main room is really not something that ypou could sleep unless you are very small light weight person- sponge -matress is thin. I would not put anyone sleep there, even sitting there to watch news was uncomfortable.
Bathroom is quite biggish- but shower is so small, if you are biggish person- it will be a challenge for you, honestly.
the shower is mix shower, not power shower but did the job. Lots of VERY hot, almost scalding water- you have to be very very carefull if you have small children

If you think that you will use mobile or internet-you might be dissapointed. The only signal you get is outside reception and inside the info room- there is pc, internet - ask reception for password. we are virgin mobile customers and we could not get reception in cabin or beach- only outside reception ( seen loads of people sitting in cars with laptops or using mobiles just outside reception)
Ever by cafe or beach the reception is poor or none- its absolute blessing as no phones ringing etc etc...just pure nature....and holidaying kids...

dog walking place is not fenced, be aware that not many dog owners are responsible and pick up after dogs. Also we had food thrown from cabins right above dog walking path- all those bbq sausages toasts and God knows what. Just be aware if your dog is easily tempted....
shop by reception is ok, reasonably priced- you will find there almost everything, inc newspapers...
the cabin has a small sponge and 2 small cloths-pink and blue stripes- forgot what they called!
and there is a roll of loo paper- my advice is take your own one, or put on shopping list.
there is few big supermarkets in nearby towns Morrison, co-op, Iceland, Sainsbury a bit further

we were doing loads of day walks- its good base to stay, honestly.
would I stay there again?
no- been there, done that, and time to see other places...
but thinking of it again- YES I WOULD stay again, to show our kids this hidden gem Wembury bay....
My dog was very happy- she loves rock pools and the coastal walks. Remember that dogs are not allowed on main beach from early April till end of September.
nice and easy walks to beach- you have few routes to choose from, coming back is different story- uphill :(
think about this if you have loads to carry for beach
If you ask in reception- they will be able to give you mob nr to a man who does dog sitting or dog walks- he is dog trainer- we meet him with our dog as we had some issues.

Room Tip: Lower cabins are closer to beach and less challenging to come back to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpmhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.4 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
6.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
13.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins

Property: Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins
Address: Wembury Bay | Wembury, Plymouth PL9 0DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing