We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabin in the woods”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“cabin in the woods”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

just back from 2 nites at churchwood valley. we could not fault it. stayed there cause our son was passing out from navy in plymouth. in terms of value hard to beat compared to hotels in area. chalet had 2 double bedrooms small galley kitchen, living room and seperate toilet and bathroom. all tho furniture little outdated was comfy and clean. Location was lovely 5 min walk took you onto a lovely little bay wit sandy beach and a little cafe. 15 min walk and you were in little village of wembury where the pub was spot on excellent food and not too expensive. All in all we would go back but for little longer. no phone signal tho but for me that was a blesssing

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. You have mentioned almost all the qualities that make people come back to Churchwood again and again! We hope you will come and stay with us again soon and, as you suggest, for more than two nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    40
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I`ve rated this 3* as an average but to us it warranted only 2*. In fairness probably worth 4* if you are a lot younger than us (70`s) & do not have an elderly dog in tow.
The cabin was spotless as were all the accessories e.g bedding, pots pans etc. Fixtures & fittings likewise.
One disappointment was that the beaches which although visually stunning are not dog friendly unless you go west along the coastal path when access is difficult & they are rocky, in addition the very narrow lanes are risky to walkers.
But a bigger disappointment was the on site wild life or rather the lack of, In a week I saw 1 rabbit 2 squirrels (or same one twice), a lot of rooks a few wood pigeons and blackbirds.
We live on a quiet residential estate where foxes visit every night rabbits & squirrels abound, wood pigeons magpies, blackbirds, & gulls are complemented by goldfinches, blue & great tits, etc.We can even watch a green woodpecker raid the lawns for grubs.
The local pubs capped it all, with a diabolically bad Sunday roast at the "Old Wheel" plus a mediocre very pricey mixed grill at "The Mussel"
Add no phone signal in most of the area, & a faulty TV for first 2 evenings. So came home day early.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJD1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are disappointed to earn only 3 stars from you when the accommodation - the only aspect that we have absolute control over - seems to have suited you very well.

Our website and brochure make it very clear that the terrain here is hilly, paths are steep, there are steps, and that the coastal path is itself fairly rugged. Having said that, a great many of our visitors are on the ‘senior’ side and come back here year after year, but we are sorry if it did not suit you.

During the main holiday season (1 May until 30 September) dogs are banned from many beaches around the coast - Wembury is no exception. But to the west of the main beach at Wembury there are others that are accessible to dogs and their owners. We realise that access to them is not ideal and we plan, once we have the necessary permissions, to improve this.

We regret we have no control over the appearance of wildlife! The guests who stayed in your cabin the following week saw an adult and a young badger on the road nearby and recently guests have reported seeing young owls. In addition there are over 100 species of birds here, plus rabbits, squirrels, stoats, weasels and sometimes foxes. A glance at our Facebook page will show lots of photos taken by guests of the many wild birds, mammals and insects that visit the site.

Our local pubs are usually highly praised for their food and hospitality. We hope you made your views known to the landlords at the time, so they could attempt to remedy the situation.

We always endeavour to fix problems with TVs as soon as we are made aware of them.

And finally, the lack of mobile coverage is, again, due to the terrain and is beyond our control - many visitors actually find it a blessing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent 2 nights in a 1 bedroom cabin. The cabin was perfectly clean, every kitchen appliance worked, I was not run out of hot water and the heating worked as well.

I am very very satisfied with the cleaningness of the cabin, this accomodation is as brilliant as a 4 star hotel room, or even better as I have been to some few 4 star hotels which were not cleaned and maintained as well as this.

The location is quiet, the cabins are private.

The only negative thing is that many people do not pick up their dog poo in the dog excercise area which is embarassing when you step into it. Management should place a sign to ask dog owners to clean up after their dogs in the dog excercise area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. However, we are sorry that other people's thoughtlessness caused a problem in the dog walking area. We do ask people to be considerate when exercising their dogs and it isn't usually an issue, but we will try and keep a closer eye on this and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nothing bad to say at all!
The location is a lovely wooded valley, far enough from Plymouth to be peaceful and yet close enough to be convenient. All the cabins are placed discreetly in the steep sided valley, with excellent tree cover and privacy, whilst also allowing the sun to fall on the private patio area.

The valley leads down to Wembury Beach, just a short walk away.

The cabins are warm and comfortable, basic but extremely clean and with a good supply of cooking implements etc.

There is no mobile reception, so it was wonderful to unplug for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Den50008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
churchwood, Owner at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we're delighted that you liked our peaceful valley! Do come and visit us again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in one of the A+ one bed cabins over Easter and we took our two small dogs with us. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the place had a nice feel about it. Our cabin had a partial sea view and overlooked the valley down to the sea and the views were lovely. The cabins are basic and rustic but they have what you need for a few days. They have electric heaters which we needed to use over Easter and they kept the place warm enough.

The shop is well stocked and has better provisions than the local village store and the prices are reasonable. They also stock some prints of paintings by local artists which we thought was a nice feature.

The site is dog friendly and they only make a minimal charge for your pet if you let them know if advance you are bringing them and there is a nice dog walking area.

The site is lit at night and it is not too dark and we did not find the atmosphere at night remotely intimidating or scary during our stay even when we had to get up in the middle of the night to take the dogs out. its very peaceful and tranquil even when the site is full.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cracknelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My parents used to bring my sister and I to Churchwood as kids back in the late 1980s, and I thought it would be a nice place to bring my wife and baby daughter some 25 years on.

Very little has changed, and that's something to be celebrated here. The sights and smells brought back a lot of happy memories and it turned out to be a lovely first break for my family.

The cabin we stayed in (the smallest and most basic A2 one) was perfectly adequate for us. We could get our daughter's travel cot in the bedroom and everything we needed was there. It was very cosy and a lovely place to be for breakfast in the morning looking out over the valley, and tucked up at night with the blinds down and heater on.

The beach is a short five-minute walk away and I enjoyed taking a run along the coastal path one morning. The main thing about Churchwood though is the total and utter peace and quiet. All you can hear are the sounds of the birds singing and the waves rolling in a half-mile or so away. Yes, the cabins haven't moved on much in two and a half decades, but so what? It all adds to the charm of the place. Center Parcs this ain't, but who'd want it to be?

I had to smile reading some of the comments further down about poor mobile phone coverage and lack of wifi in the cabins. If you can't live without your smartphone and iPad for few days, there's something wrong with you - and I say that as someone who owns both. Just turn the phone off, forget your email and enjoy the unspoiled nature around you. It only takes a three-mile drive towards Plymouth before the signal kicks in and your phone starts beeping all the messages through. And besides, there is apparently wifi in the main reception area if you really can't be without for a few days. Funnily enough, when I used to come here with my parents and sister back in the day, we managed to survive a week without phones and th'internet.

To conclude, if being without your phone for a while is going to be an issue, it's probably best to go somewhere else. If however, you're looking to unwind and relax in a beautiful setting, which allows you easy access to a stunning part of the country, look no further. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Limey98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just returned from a break at Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins and had a wonderful time. Myself, my Mother in Law, my five year old and my 7 month old stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins which was much better than I expected. Yes the furniture is a little dated but this adds to the charm of the place in my opinion. I found that the kitchen was very well equipped with all you would need, there was a TV, fridge, cooker, lovely outside seating area looking over a bubbling stream and a modern bathroom with power shower. The area is surrounded by nature and very peaceful, there are many great walks in the area and a lovely little beach nearby. We would recommend the park to anyone wanting to get away from it all for a few days ( as long as you don't mind not getting a phone signal) :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringita2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
525 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
25 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins

Property: Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins
Address: Wembury Bay | Wembury, Plymouth PL9 0DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churchwood Valley is a beautiful, natural wooded valley running down to the sea at Wembury Bay in South Devon. Look closely and, hidden among the lush green foliage, you’ll see wooden cabins nestling on the hillside… A haven of peace within an environmental paradise, Churchwood Valley is a few minutes’ walk from a safe family beach and the South West Coast Path. If ‘getting away from it all’ is the most important part of your holiday – Churchwood Valley is for you. Each holiday cabin has its own plot on the hillside, surrounded by trees, flowering shrubs, hedges and rustic fences. By moving no further than your armchair, you’ll see delightful displays of bird life, and a trip to your private patio may well afford a glimpse of badgers, foxes, squirrels and other wildlife. There are no discos, bars or cafes – just rock pools, wildlife and breathtaking scenery. Secluded it may be, isolated it is not. Churchwood’s licensed shop sells a wide range of food and drink, beach toys, gifts and many other products, so you don’t even need to leave the site for those ‘essential’ items. We also have a fully equipped launderette. PLEASE NOTE: The naturally hilly landscape of Churchwood Valley means that only a few of our cabins are suitable for those who are disabled. If ease of access is important, please discuss this with our staff when making your reservation. MOBILE PHONES & WIFI: Due to the naturally hilly landscape, there is NO mobile phone coverage at Churchwood Valley. We do probide WIFI for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchwood Valley Holiday Cabins Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing