We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times with my family over the years as we have family in the area. We have always chosen this hotel because of the exceptional location and it's the only hotel with a pool. However, on this occasion we felt the hotel has gone down hill. Are they selling up?
Our room was an executive with 2 double beds on the 10th floor. The room was thick with dust (every surface including the lamp bases) so we couldn't put anything down. There were sticky drink rings on the bedside table. The carpet hadn't been hoovered. I tried to phone reception on several occasions but it just rang until the line was cut off. I therefore had to go down to reception (from the 10th floor!) to lodge my complaints. There was no apology, just a call to the housekeeping manager to send someone to my room.
It also advertises that you can have a choice of pillows. I therefore asked for some feather pillows. The housekeeping manager arrived at my door and advised that he had checked their cupboard and there were no feather pillows left. We had a very sleepless night on very firm mattresses and firm pillows. I know some people would be ok with that but it wasn't to our liking.
The room had a wall mounted air conditioning unit in it. The window was locked for safety so you couldn't breath in the room. On turning the air conditioning unit on it sounded like a tank had rolled into the room. This noise went on and off all night.
The bath was stained yellow and there was a water/sewage leek coming from the back of the toilet. I complained to reception about the leak.
There was no comment card in the room (funny that) and no folder providing information on the local area and hotel amenities.
That evening, while we went out for dinner, the room was dusted and hoovered but still not to the standard I would have expected.
My dad had a standard room which had no wall paper, no pictures and no biscuits were provided with the tea making facilities.It was like a hospital room. By that time we'd lost the will!!
I'm always skeptical of bad reviews on tripadvisor as you hear stories of competitors trying to run hotels down. I can assure you though that I am not a competitor. Just a very disappointed customer who will be finding somewhere else to stay in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Lucy C

Thank you for your post. I was disappointed to read of your experiences however I am aware that my Operations Manager has already e-mailed you privately to discuss your comments. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    565
    357
    122
    63
See reviews for
348
440
47
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

we had free upgrade to room with a view over hoe all you can eat breakfast well presented and a good choice . we had voucher for free drinks either coffee or from the bar a voucher for breakfast buy one get second for 5P staff were all really nice i even complimented the maitre D on his professionalism he said he retired last year but had come in to help out for a few days due to staff shortages given the transient nature of hotel staff i thought that was brilliant and you get a free underground carpark as well we will use this hotel again>

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Tony H

Thank you for your review and to learn you had an enjoyable experience during your recent stay. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Whilst working in Plymouth for a few days a week for 5 months I got to know this hotel, whilst it is dated and lacks character (like a lot of things in Plymouth) it is exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn in city centre.

The restaurant is good with a good view whilst eating breakfast. The gymnasium and the pool are great and good for keeping oneself occupied whilst away on business.

The main issue with the hotel are that the parking is horrid and if you are in a big vehicle near on impossible and that there a no real views from most rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_mojo_risenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Mr_mojo_risunek

Thank you for review. I will ensure our owners are made aware of your feedback in relation to the dated product. The car park is tight for the larger vehicles but we do have an open car park opposite the underground one. A car parking space can also be reserved on reservation if you have a large vehicle or concerns. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Situated just off of Plymouth Ho, the views from the Penthouse restaurant are stunning. My room was very comfortable and importantly, quiet. Breakfast was fine and the evening meals are well priced and appetising. As I have already said, the views from the restaurant are memorable and makes the meal special.
There seem to be regular coach parties visiting overnight, but all meals were well managed by the excellent staff and there were no delays. I've stayed here before and have always had a positive experience.

Room Tip: Try and get a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeryHappyHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear VeryHappyHammer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The views from the Penthouse are memorable as you state. We do have regular tour business but it was pleasing to read that we manage our dining arrangements for all parties well. I look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a short business trip.
On paper it offered so much, but was a disappointment.
The hotel is old and tired, which is shown by the decor and the elevators.
The rooms (executive) were large, but beds and pillows extremely hard - even the pillows marked soft were hard. Furniture was stained and carpets worn.
Restaurant staff were faultless and portions huge - food quality very acceptable.
View from the restaurant probably one of the best around.
Car parking is a hazardous affair - we were not told of the external car park until we attempted to park a Toyota Hilux in the underground carpark - a manoeuvring nightmare!
Anyone with a larger than GOLF sized car should book a place in the outside car park - just to the right of the entrance to undergound.
Room service breakfast was not very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Michael S

Thank you for your review. I will feedback you comments to our owners in relation to the décor and lifts. The car park is tight for the larger vehicles but we do have an open car park opposite the underground one. A car parking space can also be reserved on reservation if you have a large vehicle or concerns. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Used this hotel merely as a stopover for one night, Bank Holiday Monday (26th March). The hotel has quite a tired appearance in general and most definitely in need of a little TLC. Cleaning staff most definitely need to take a lot more care over its doors and door frames as I could not find a single one that had not been viciously attacked by staff with some form of trolley.
The leisure centre was impressive with its extensive array of gym equipment, sauna, steam room and indoor heated swimming pool.
Our room was a reasonable size and although situated on the side of the hotel it did give quite a nice view of the Barbican marina. The room was however quite noisy as we could hear what I think were industrial extractor fans from the ground floor throughout the night.
A word of warning.............if you are at all concerned about parking in confined spaces then DO NOT enter the underground car park. If you have a Mini then fine, anything bigger and you will wonder if you're being filmed for someone's amusement.
Would I stay at the Holiday Inn Plymouth again, probably not. It's tired and in my opinion seen better days. Is it worth the £120+ a night! most definitely not!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yowfailed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Yowfailed

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I was disappointed to read your comments about the cleanliness of the product. Please be assured this is not acceptable and a thorough review will be undertaken.

Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Plymouth last Sept. The rooms are a good size. We booked on a special break which included 2 nights & dinner on the first night. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant which is on the 11th floor which had lovely views over the Hoe. The leisure centre was very nice.

R M. R

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridoutrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ridoutrm

Thank you for your review, and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plymouth

Property: Holiday Inn Plymouth
Address: Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 2HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Plymouth is in a truly breathtaking location with stunning views overlooking the Plymouth Sound and across into Cornwall, . With 211 bedrroms all air-conditioned and refurbished in 2006, some with sea views, and a contemporary decor throughout, Holiday Inn Plymouth is an outstanding Plymouth hotel, located just 5 miles from Plymouth City Airport and half a mile from Plymouth station. The historic Plymouth Barbican and the extensive range of shops are only a short walk away and our fantastic Elliott's restaurant offers excellent cuisine with panoramic views overlooking the Plymouth Sound. For the business traveller there are 9 air-conditioned meeting rooms refurbished in 2007, a Conference Cafe and an executive lounge. The onsite leisure club provides an indoor heated swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium with new state of the art equpiment, sauna and steam room. All facilities are free to hotel residents. Visit Holiday Inn Plymouth and experience the delights of this beautiful location with nearby attractions such as the National Marine Aquarium, Eden Project, Plymouth Hoe, Mayflower Steps, Plymouth Argyle Football Club and the fantastic Plymouth City Centre. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms in this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing