We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
west midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Situated on the plymouth hoe, this a fab location.This was the only hotel in the area with in indoor pool ( great if you have kids or on a rainy day !) The sun was shinning, the views breath taking to say the least. The hotel is faultless, we had a family room on the the 7th floor, 2 double beds ( one was more like a king), it was clean, comfy and relaxing, with plenty of space. ( and lets face it, your own bed will always seem more comfortable ). The breakfast was continental buffett, everything from full english to cereals to fresh fruit and yogurt, it was a great start to the day. The reaturant was on the top floor, with views over looking the hoe, what more could you ask for ?
Parking is charged at 3.00 per day ( underground private carpark )
The staff, friendly to a high a standard, nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel also does a carvery for day when more groups/ families are booked in otherwise it s an ala carte menu.
The newly refurbished pool is a bonus, featuring a steam and sauna room with a roof top sun area !
The are is best explored on foot, park the car at the hotel and leave it there! Walk, Its better and easier, the city centre (plymouth is after all britains ocean city) is a few yards away, with all the shops you need and more.
The hoe, features a lighthouse, outdoor pool and sun area, the rhoades dome restaurant, and plenty of fish cafes and coffee bars! Catch a ship, ferry, boat ride to cawsand cornwall. Have a cornsih pasty in cornwall ( its worth it ).
There are plenty of beeches and open spaces to sit and lounge around. Its a fab few days out, great for families and the best thing is, not a hotdog/burger stand or fairground ride in sight !

Room Tip: we were on the 7th floor , familie room, being higher helps you appriciate the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Angela D

Thank you for posting such a positive and comprehensive review. I was delighted to read that our facilities contributed to making your stay so enjoyable. Not only is our location ideal for exploring the local area by foot but it also enables such a unique view from our Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Plymouth.

George Arizmendi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    565
    357
    122
    63
See reviews for
348
440
47
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was lucky to stay here for 3 days in a room with great views over Plymouth Hoe. The hotel is in walking distance of the town centre for retail therapy and to the Barbican. The restaurant is up on the Penthouse with wonderful views not to be missed. Breakfast was good and I had a great meal in the restaurant the night before. Parking is available at a very reasonable £3 per day. The staff were very helpful and the room and public areas very clean. There were coach parties there which meant breakfast was a busy time but there was plenty of staff.
I felt this was great value for money and would recommend this hotel and stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phelpsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Phelpsies

Thank you for your feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your 3 day stay with us. We are ideally situated for the Hoe, the Barbican and the City Centre. We have a great selection of shops which offer a great opportunity for some retail therapy!
I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and evening meal in our Restaurant. The view from the Penthouse is unique and helps to make all meals a great experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

George Arizmendi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed three nights in a sea view room which was great. Air con could do with updating and furniture a little tired.
Unfortunately, there is a lot of maintenance going on, so the drilling and hammering at 9am onwards is not that conducive to holiday lie ins! There was no mention of this in the hotel or by the front desk staff, oddly.
Location is awesome though! View was lovely.

Room Tip: We were at the end of a corridor, 617
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hiplymouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Lizziefin

Thank you for posting your review. I was pleased to read that you found our location ideal, and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to our essential maintenance works that were carried out during your stay. I am sorry that you were not informed of this on check in. Whilst we endeavoured to schedule the timings in a way that it would have the least impact, I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Plymouth.

George Arizmendi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Travelling as a single on a group tour I was given a large clean room, small bathroom (as seems the norm in the UK). Buffett breakfast was basic and could be improved upon with most of the hot foods on the ‘cool side’. No free wifi available at all, with wifi rates quite expensive. Air con in rooms but no refrigerator.
Position is very good within very close walking distance to the busy ‘Barbican area’ – lanes of Restaurants and shops adjacent to the Harbour. Close also to the foreshore Memorial Park overlooking the Sound.
Lovely city and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetoroam-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Lovetoroam-53,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am pleased to note that you liked the hotel location and clean rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. I am sorry that the breakfast items and room amenities did not live up to your par. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed in the Holiday Inn in Plymouth. It is in the city centre so you can easily walk around the historical harbour area.The restaurant and bar are up on the Penthouse level with great views of the Hoe and Harbour. My standard double room was on the 9th floor with great views if the window had been clean. The hotel was popular with tourists from Europe and the USA. As others have mentioned Health and Safety prevent the large windows opening. So you will need the Air Cond to work. The decals along side the operating buttons had worn off so operation was hit and miss. When the compressor started it sounded like a tractor engine so take some ear plugs.
The underground parking is good value at £3 but it's designed for minis. So if you have a big car park outside or you won't get it out without scratches

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room (with clean windows) and a quiet Air Con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at the Hotel over the weekend with my family to celebrate an important birthday.

The staff were fantastic everywhere in the hotel. The restaurant was amazing

It proved full value and we all left smiling

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros124329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I went to a function here (Tina Turner tribute) I was impressed with the hotel. We had a great meal that was good quality, hot and served with a smile, which i find important. Generally the hotel seems to be of a good quality although we didn't stay the night. The only problem i had was that the staff behind the bar were so friendly i drank too much beer (that's what i told my wife...lol. Honestly, it was a great place to spend a night out.

Room Tip: Make use of the location, lovely part of Plymouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plymouth

Property: Holiday Inn Plymouth
Address: Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 2HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Plymouth is in a truly breathtaking location with stunning views overlooking the Plymouth Sound and across into Cornwall, . With 211 bedrroms all air-conditioned and refurbished in 2006, some with sea views, and a contemporary decor throughout, Holiday Inn Plymouth is an outstanding Plymouth hotel, located just 5 miles from Plymouth City Airport and half a mile from Plymouth station. The historic Plymouth Barbican and the extensive range of shops are only a short walk away and our fantastic Elliott's restaurant offers excellent cuisine with panoramic views overlooking the Plymouth Sound. For the business traveller there are 9 air-conditioned meeting rooms refurbished in 2007, a Conference Cafe and an executive lounge. The onsite leisure club provides an indoor heated swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium with new state of the art equpiment, sauna and steam room. All facilities are free to hotel residents. Visit Holiday Inn Plymouth and experience the delights of this beautiful location with nearby attractions such as the National Marine Aquarium, Eden Project, Plymouth Hoe, Mayflower Steps, Plymouth Argyle Football Club and the fantastic Plymouth City Centre. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms in this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing