We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, but good servce”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grosvenor Plymouth
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The standard double rooms are absolutely tiny without even enough room for two people to put down small suitcases without blocking the aisleways. On the good side, the location is convenient and the service is quite good. On the negative side, lots of minor problems with the room (flooring coming up in the bathroom, loud ventilation and drains, toilet paper is in sheets not rolls), plus noise is a problem both from within and without. Overall, a mixed bag.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KrMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

I was passing through Plymouth to visit a friend, and this hotel was.a great place to stay for one night. Plymouth is not huge, but The Grosvenor is centrally located, and a nice walk to The Hoe/Barbican.

As I had packed light, being on the top floor wasn't an issue, but it may have been if I had brought a heavy suitcase (also had trouble initially with my key, but that was probably just me!). Single room was comfy and well appointed, with a decent bathroom. Breakfast staff were helpful, with a good selection of food on offer. Foyer/reception also functions as a bar/lounge room, which is convenient if you feel like staying in.

The Grosvenor represents great value. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brisbane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as was visiting a ederly relative. The hotel was near the Hoe and city centre. Rooms are nicely decorated with free Wi fi. The only downside is no lift did not worry us though.If you tell them when booking would give you a room on lower floors. The Hotel looked the best on the street. Breakfast was great, all nicely cooked with good produce,plus cereals and porridge.will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vik333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Great location. Friendly staff. Downside - no Lifts, though staff does offer to carry our bags. The bathroom is a little bit tight, but the superior double room is quite spacious. Just on the sea front and close to city. Not much parking space though beware.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

What a lovely hotel with great staff, I had some friends visiting from America and we visited the Grosvenor.

Nothing was too much bother for these people, even my American freind was impressed with the customer service and you know how hard they can be to please.

Very clean and modern facilities, I would highley recomend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here whilst settling our Grandson into Uni. Hotel was very clean, breakfast excellent and freshly cooked, staff friendly and helpful. Although hotel doesnt cater for evening meals they do cater for anyone wishing to take food into the hotel, they supply plates and cultery. Of course there are tons of places that cater for evening meals. Will certainly return when making a visit to see our Grandson.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Grosvenor for a one night stop-over July 7,2012 before catching the train to Reading the next day.
We were well greeted by a lovely young lady at reception (sorry for forgetting your name),and being midday she looked after our luggage as our room was not ready at that stage.
The hotel has a nice little bar with draught beer (I had a midday pint to celebrate getting rid of the hirecar),and a small TV sports bar.
Our room was on the first floor and was large,clean and extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was extremely good.
First impressions are that the hotel is a long way from the action,but a pleasant 15 minute walk past the Hoe and to the Barbican area was a delight.
Try and explore the little,very old (and safe) back streets to the Barbican there is a lot of history to be found.
Keep out of Plymouth Central-nothing of note to find.
Well done Grosvenor !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlballem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Plymouth

Address: 7-11 Elliot Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Business Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grosvenor Plymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southwest's largest city, The Grosvenor Plymouth is the ideal base for a quality and affordable stay in the historical city of Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grosvenor Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth
The Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing