We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome,great location,good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grosvenor Plymouth
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome,great location,good value.”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Great welcome after a long journey.
Great value family room.
Good facilities in room;tv,ensuite shower room,tea and coffee making facilities.
Great breakfast.
Very close to Plymouth pavillions,withing one street so could not do better.

Room Tip: Family room great value for 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-met
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    261
    70
    17
    3
See reviews for
136
309
69
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed here for one night, staff were lovely and friendly, polite and very helpful with given direction and reccomending places to eat etc. We stayed in a double superior room, lovely little room with a bay window and a table with two leather arm chairs to relax, no complaints, the bed was amazing so so comfy aswell!!! Breakfast was only served until 9 but well worth it, lots of selection! will definitely be going back! Thanks for a lovely time!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy-alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highclere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

After spending the last 2 years staying in many sub standard hotels in Plymouth, we have finally found a real gem. Beautiful Georgian Hotel with many of the original features. The area is the most gorgeous area of Plymouth with just a 2 minute walk to the Hoe with its stunning views A lovely warm and welcoming atmosphere. All the staff are delightful and extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Stayed in the Superior Room, comfy kingsize bed, lovely soft cotton bedlinen, soft towels. Parking a bit of a nightmare - but that's Plymouth. However the lovely lady on Reception advised us of a free car park. Will return for sure.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms esp room 9 & 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah6589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

only stayed here for one night and i'd use it again.

Check in was simple, the free parking is on a 1st come basis i got a spot so didn't need to buy a ticket to park in the street.

the room was nice, clean and warm the room wasn't huge but i didn't expect that.

Breakfast was good, i wanted everything on the menu the choices looked so good. the staff were so helpful always checking to see if we needed anything else.

no complaints from us the place is as advertised.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_62697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Everything about the Grosvenor is of a very high standard, ranging from the breakfasts served (no problem with dietary requirements), to the impeccable decor, furnishings and bathroom in the in the 'superior' bedroom- hence my 5 star rating. Being an older building, the walls are substantial and well-insulated regarding noise. The position is great- 2 mins' walk from the Hoe, 10 mins from the Barbican / shops. Parking costs £3 per day (permit, from the hotel) if there are no spaces round the back. Ok, there aren't the facilities of a big hotel but you're here to see Plymouth!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Check in was smooth and pleasant, our room wasn't too far away and close to the breakfast rooms and reception and bar.
Breakfast was self service, except for the cooked breakfast where an order was taken as soon as you were sat comfortably and you could have what you wanted rather than sticking to standards. Customer service was excellent, as was the beds.
Hotel was clean and nicely decorated, complementary toiletries refreshed every day. Able to have a bar tab and added to the room which saved carrying money.
Provided plates and crockery for one night when we had take away at the hotel. 5 min walk to town and right on the Hoe. Total bill (including bar tab) was extremely reasonable.
Will definitely stay again next time we come to Plymouth. Couldn't recommend enough. Thanks to everyone at the hotel who made our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazlin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed for one night only during a visit with my daughter to explore Plymouth and its University. We were both offered a very warm welcome on arrival and offered help and advise i and around the city. Our twin room facing the road, we both found to be quiet, very warm,and modern with very comfortable beds and spottlessly clean.
The bathroom small in comparison with other hotels we have stayed in, but hey! this is an old Victorian building with loads of character, you dont sleep in the bathroom!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a short stay to discover Plymouth and surrounding area. Thank you we hope to return.
The Gardners.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
25 reviews
4.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Plymouth

Property: The Grosvenor Plymouth
Address: 7-11 Elliot Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grosvenor Plymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southwest's largest city, The Grosvenor Plymouth is the ideal base for a quality and affordable stay in the historical city of Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Grosvenor Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth
The Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing