We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on the Hoe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grosvenor Plymouth
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Great location - 10 mins walk from everything interesting. Lovely room - we stayed in the family suite - loads of room for a family of 4. Friendly staff and delicious breakfast cooked to order each morning. Can't fault this hotel. Definitely coming back....

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We came by taxi from railway station, at the time of writing the fare for 2 people with 2 cases was £5 20 pence. On arrival a short flight of steps and reception on the right. A very friendly greeting and quick check in. There are no lifts so if like me not as agile as once was ask for low floor room. We had room 3 which is a superior one. Up a short flight of steps and on entering faced with an enormous king size bed. Bathroom straight ahead smallish but clean and a decent bath, plus shower as well if that is what you prefer. There is a long mirror and drawers with a flat screen t v on the wall. A good sized room, plus a tea/coffee tray. The bed is one of the best I have slept in. It is off the main road so not much traffic. If you look right out the window you can just see the see. Town centre less than10 minutes walk away and the a few minutes from the hotel. Breakfast was excellent Choice of cereal fresh and dried fruit plus cooked food. The full English was very filling but there are other choices as well. Plus you can mix and match. Also plenty of toast white or brown.
The staff are excellent room was well maintained and tray stocked up. There is a bar area where snacks can be purchased if you are feeling peckish.
If you go at the moment it is covered in scaffolding as it is undergoing a re fit, but do not be put off by this.
Would we stay here again YES .
One tip they have a taxi service they use, I would recommend it as it is cheaper than the metered ones. Our journey back to station was £1 10 pence cheaper.

Room Tip: If you like comfort and prepared to spend a bit more then room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddlesexTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Very friendly staff, a decent breakfast was served. Everything was clean and well maintained, but the room we had was very small and a up several flights of stairs which my wife did not like. My son had a room lower down which was much better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed two nights, staff very friendly and helpful when I needed access to a PC. The rooms are ok but because it's a big old regency style house the bathrooms are small. Also you need to be fit to lug your case up and down many flights of stairs, no lift in other words. The breakfast was great. The bar, lounge was warm and friendly. Parking is around the back in a mews, we didn't have any problem getting a space, but the staff can give on street permits as required. Nice play to stay, close to the sea and also a nice Thai restaurant next door. Free wifi is also useful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tezza287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great all round hotel, location and prices.
Stayed there as a base to tour around the area in October. Really nice atmosphere with very helpful staff with advice on the area. Hotel recently refurbished to a very good standard, spotlessly clean and well maintained. Breakfasts were excelllent.
Very quiet location at the time of year which would change in the high season. Parking numbers tight at rear of hotel, but free in the streets around from 1800 till 1000 next day. Hotel can also provide guests with a low cost daily parking voucher. Liked the room we had at the back of the hotel, as there was no road noise and slept well every night.
Only slight issue for less able guests was the lack of a lift, though we had no trouble carrying our bags up the short flights on wide staircase from reception.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms would be at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Another great stay at the Grosvenor, I always use this hotel when here on business, the rooms and service always impress and the standard remains consistent, this is my 8th visit now.

Addeded bonus is a small but well stocked bar to relax in after a hard day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powerscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in room 17, which is just along the corridor up a small flight of stairs.

The entrance, lounge and dining areas are really lovely and inviting. A very encouraging start to our one night stay.

A lovely greeting by the charming receptionist, told us where to find our room.

We walked to our room, struggled a bit to open the door and walked in. There was a damp smell within the room, not a massive room but adequate for two people. The smell of damp however was quite off-putting.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We had the view of the back road and a block wall. I realise that some of rooms will have the rear facing view but the block wall view was a little disappointing.

The breakfast was absolutely fine, with lots of choice. A nice fruit salad, with good quality natural yoghurt. We had poached and boiled eggs to order which were really very good.

The hotel would certainly have got another blob if it wasn't for the damp smelling poorly positioned room.

We may stay again, in the hope of a better room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galleywench100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
4.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Plymouth

Address: 7-11 Elliot Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Business Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £64 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grosvenor Plymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southwest's largest city, The Grosvenor Plymouth is the ideal base for a quality and affordable stay in the historical city of Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Grosvenor Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth
The Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing