We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grosvenor Plymouth
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
bradford on avon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very very disappointing”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We where looking for a good deal in Plymouth but £80 for a room up about 5 floors & so small that you could not get the wardrobe door open is taking it to far. Have stated in London at these rates in a better room. I complained and wax told charmlessly that if we pad £10 more we could have a larger room, this we did. The breakfast was more like a cheap chain than a family run hotel, make yr own tea, coffee very little effort made on everything and impersonal. Would note recommend this hotel yo anyone. Sure u could do better in Plymouth

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank stowford10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    258
    70
    17
    3
See reviews for
135
307
66
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire U.K.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just a one night stay for a reunion for my wife's nursing intake.
Excellent hotel, very clean, friendly staff. Brilliant location for Plymouth or the lovely Hoe and Barbican. Great choice of breakfast, can't fault it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed my stay
The staff were very friendly and helpful ...
Breakfast was very good and set me up for the long journey I had
Can't fault the place
Clean tidy lovely rooms very comfortable

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rozzi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

From the check in to check out this hotel was perfect, lovely friendly staff, and spotless accommodation. The room was comfy, and clean, breakfast was great, with ample choice. Free Wi-Fi available throughout! I will definitely return to this hotel for any overnight stays in Plymouth, the location is excellent.
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samanddickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I can't understand why anyone would give this hotel a bad review?

Myself, husband and two adult children stayed for one night in the family suite. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and comfortable and in my opinion good value for money. Oh and a good hearty breakfast too!

We were in Plymouth for University interviews, and if our son decides Plymouth is his choice, this will defiantly be our hotel of choice when we visit.

Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backwell Bristol
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed here for the first time very recently. Our room was quite spacious and very clean, although it would have benefited from better lighting. We were pleased to note that the Hotel provided free Wi-Fi. We were also able to use the small car park at the rear of the Hotel free of charge. On both days of our stay we had excellent breakfasts. On the second day, I had a full English breakfast, which was especially tasty.

All of the staff we dealt with were very helpful and friendly and we felt that the Hotel tariff offered very good value for money.

We will go there again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MiffyBackwellBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Grosvenor is a warm, friendly and inviting hotel, which commences at arrival upon checking in. The staff throughout, from Reception to the dining room, were fantastic...polite, knowledgable, enthusiastic and proud to be working at this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a lovely shower/bath and toiletries provided :). The location is great, a short stroll away are the stunning ocean views and an easy walk to the Barbican area for dining and shopping. We had no problem at all with parking on the road outside of the hotel and inexpensive. The breakfast was really tasty and we just thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will return and we would recommend this hotel to other travellers to Plymouth!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJo795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
603 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
4.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Plymouth

Property: The Grosvenor Plymouth
Address: 7-11 Elliot Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grosvenor Plymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southwest's largest city, the Grosvenor Plymouth is the ideal base for a quality and affordable stay in the historical city of Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Grosvenor Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth
The Grosvenor Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing