We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brittany Guest House
Ranked #35 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a really excellent B&B, rooms spotless, breakfast superb and very friendly hosts. Our five year old daughter thought 'the lady was very kind' and didn't want to leave. The location is excellent for visits to the Hoe, Barbican, city centre. Lots of places to eat out nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTObirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Brittany Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Very very nice, very clean excellent location. The room is very nice and clean and the staff is very kind and help full and to top it all the owner of the guest house is very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed for three nights with friends. Comfortable clean rooms and good breakfast choice. Very good central location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I have stayed several times at this Guest House and each time have had a different room (all very clean and nicely presented).This time I am working in Plymouth so have a single room. It has the same quality feel of the large double rooms has its own shower room and even though it is classed as a single, the bed is a double (I was very relieved as I am a large person). Breakfast has remained the same high standard and even though we are in a deep recession all the items in both room and dining room are top quality brands. I asked the owner for a recommendation for a country pub and was immediately advised to try the Rose & Crown in Yealmpton. I mention this as it is probably the best pub I have ever been in (my wife is furious to have missed it). Yes it was a 20 minute drive out of the city but so worth it. Roaring log fire, warm welcome, good staff and very good food. I will be leaving a review for them as well. If you have the time while staying in Plymouth you will be so glad you made the effort to drive to this excellent venue. This summer we will be using the Brittany as a base for a touring holiday throughout Devon and Cornwall.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BathZookeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The real bonus of this place was the owners, very friendly and helpful providing taxi numbers and general information without being overbearing - so helpful because we needed to be somewhere straight after arriving! The rooms are clean and nicely decorated but the room we stayed in had an ensuite bathroom that could do with an update, but at least the shower was hot! Having said that there was a flat screen tv and library of dvd's available and hot chocolate with biscuits in the room, all very nice touches. I can't say the breakfast was the best I've ever had but was certainly good for a one night stay and we weren't rushed out.

Overall I would recommend this for a short stay for great hospitality, clean room and well located for town without being on a busy street.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Very friendly owners.. Great value, clean, modern, Nice shower, great breakfast and all round very cosy.. Would recommend to anybody.. Thanks for the stay

Karl & nick
Birmingham

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We were over from Canada in September of this year and stayed with Janet and John for over a week, then left and toured around Cornwall, then came back to Plymouth again and stayed at the Brittany once more. Can't say enough about these wonderful hosts! Rooms are spotlessly clean, breakfasts are wonderful, the location is close to town and the waterfront and did I mention how great Janet and John are???? We have stayed in several Plymouth B&B's over the years but this is definitely our favorite now and will be back to stay again in 2 years. Thanks so much for the great hospitality!! Love from Cindy, Sue, Jackie, Jessica and Katie!

Room Tip: Just ask Janet which one will be best suited for your needs. They are so accommodating!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Caraneal
The Caraneal
#22 of 79 in Plymouth
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#17 of 79 in Plymouth
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 79 in Plymouth
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwinds
Westwinds
#28 of 79 in Plymouth
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brittany Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brittany Guest House

Address: 28 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Brittany Guest House Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing