We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwinds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwinds
Ranked #24 of 83 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Good honest accommodation for a very reasonable price. Good breakfast, almost anything you'd fancy seems possible. Great hosts.
Parking can be tricky but I'd say it would be the same for all b&b's in the area.
Very close to the hoe and everything that goes with it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Speshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
18
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and myself have stayed at Westwinds many times. Phil, Lin and Stacey are fantastic hosts. The rooms are very clean and the delicious English breakfasts are made to order. This is a dog friendly establishment and if we lived in the UK we would bring our little Paddy to join the Westwinds lovely dogs, Molly and Oscar. The location is ideal. Close to Plymouth Hoe, the City Centre, train and bus stations with easy access to Cornwall as well as Devon.
We would recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The very best welcome we have ever had so clean and great breakfast and really dog friendly with our jack Russell Austin. Wish we had found Westwinds before our daughter Graduated from Plymouth University . Would always book again when in Plymouth

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHILIP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great welcome lovely room and fabulous food. Everything about this guest house was excellent and if we go back we will not look anywhere else for a place to stay. We had a fabulous time in Plymouth and it started when we booked into the Westwinds.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We had a terrific stay at Westwinds and are very happy to recommend this B&B very highly. The hospitality and genuine welcome starts from when the front door is answered. Phil and Stacie were very generous hosts. The rooms are nothing short of immaculate. The location to all you would want to see whilst in Plymouth is perfect. Its a lovely guesthouse which I highly recommend. Oh! I almost forgot the fantastic cooked English brekky.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannadanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

As an actor I often stay in many B & Bs when I'm on tour, but I've never been in one as lovely as this. The rooms were cosy, clean and had everything you'd need.
A 2 minute walk from the Hoe and a beautiful view of the sea from our loft bedroom. The perfect location.
The breakfasts were wonderful and unlike some other places, taking your breakfast order was not a thing of stress. You could tell they enjoyed their business and did everything they could to make you feel at home.
It's the best B&B I've ever stayed in.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annatouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Visited 09 - 10 may 2013.What a lovely place to stay very nice decor, spotlessly clean and a very warm welcome.I just had a couple of days here and found it due trawling tripadvisor , so I dont onl;y post but read it to my advantage also.Nothing too much trouble for this family who run it.Also the prices are soooo good its hard to know how they do it.but they do.If I need to spend anymore time in plymouth I would'nt hesitate to book it almost everything you need is only walking distance away. I wish them full house permanantly (except for next time I want go)

Room Tip: Phone early people obviously love it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leafpeeper-supreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tudor House Guest House
Tudor House Guest House
#4 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds

Property: Westwinds
Address: 99 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run guesthouse ideally located for all amenities. Although in the heart of the Hoe it is a quiet location ideal for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westwinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing