We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend”
Review of Invicta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Invicta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just back from Plymouth having stayed at the Invicta Hotel for the fourth time. Had a great time made all the more enjoyable by Roy and Betty and their very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Situated just off the Hoe and just a two minute walk from the town centre, it's perfectly placed. The breakfast menu has a wide choice and is very tasty. I'll be going back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

The location for the Invicta Hotel is its best asset. Close to the shops, Hoe and Pavillions.

On arrival we were given a premium room overlooking the car park (which is limited to about 10 crammed in cars, but there is on street parking at a cost). Awful view and not worth the £90+ a night for B&B.

The room was dated, mirror light was missing and the wires taped up with electrical tape. The carpets were stained and the bottom of the bathroom door had paint missing due to water ingress from the bath. Probably the worst shower in the west, either cold or hot, with little pressure. So the bath it was!

Due to the age of the building, which had lovely Victorian achitecture, the sash windows were draughty and rattled in the wind.

Can't fault the breakfast though, possibly the best we've had, although the area to the rear of the dining room was a bit messy.

Perhaps 90 quid a night is the going rate in the area, but not for a room with a poor view and sub-standard room quality, £60 would be a bit more realistic.

I suppose it classes as a hotel, but I am sorry to say it just felt like a big B & B.

And as stated in other reviews, credit card taken on booking, then full payment on arrival before, seeing the room?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigwaverider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Having carefully researching various hotels in the area I was more than impressed with our choice. This hotel is a shining example of a family run hotel. From the minute you arrive to the time you leave you are made to feel welcomed. The staff couldn't do more to help us when you combine this with great food and excellent value for money you have a winning combination thank-you for a lovely stay and when next in the area will not hesitate to book here first class

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frostysnowman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Booked that morning............not a problem
Arrived Late...................not a problem
Choice of rooms unpon arrival, opted for less stairs, room functional, clean and had comfy beds. Showers worked well and were plenty hot enough. Breakfast...........vast choice and very well presented. helpful and freindly staff.............why would i want to go to a big multiple when this is what i get at a small inviting family run hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCHKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I arrived on 30th September for 3 nights stay. We were warmly greated and were given the keys to our room and details of the facilities and meal times. We had a lovely clean room and the staff were very helpful. The owners Roy and Betty were very helpful too, with suggestions of places to visit etc and we were within walking distance of the Hoe, the harbour and the towm. Nothing was too much trouble. Great Stay and we will definitely be returning, soon.

Room Tip: Rooms for all requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I was astounded to read the vitriloic comments written by Richard Emerson and wanted to redress the balance. We have been staying at the Invicta Hotel for 9 years. My husband spent 2 days fishing with a friend and we ladies joined them later. We had a horrendous journey travelling down the M4 (canoes blocking the carriageway!) and then torrential rain on the M5 and A38. We arrived over 2 hours late. Roy (the proprietor) kept the kitchen open after closing time and cooked us a fresh meal on arrival. This has set the trend to the way we are always treated. Nothing is too much trouble for Roy, Betty and their staff. I have mentioned before that the rooms are extremely clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff are friendly and always helpful. We have never known them run short of food.
We visited the hotel a day after Mr Emerson had left and could smell cigarette smoke outside our room. We were told that the previous occupants of the room next door had been smoking in their room despite being asked not to - surely there is a law against this now? We were shown into the room before it had a deep clean and there were cigarette butts on the outside window sill. On reading Roy's reply to Mr Emerson I presume this was the same person?
Unfortunately whilst Trip Advisor is a great facility it does allow people to make malicious comments that could ruin a person's business. We have often spoken to other guests of the hotel and have always found them to be as impressed with this hotel as we are. I want to be able to continue visiting the Invicta for many more years as we love Plymouth and it's people. I would invite any guests who have stayed at the hotel to write some positive comments to help redress the balance. We English are always quick to complain and slow to praise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We booked half board over a long w/e break and were really taken with the hospitality of a small family run hotel. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and well cooked. Evening meals were first class and pride was taken in the serving. An extra choice was also laid on for us for our last evening meal. The staff were all extremly friendly and went out of their way to help where they could. Bedroom and visitor rooms were clean and sufficient and the hotel is well positioned for the Hoe/ Barbican and for walks around the city. Great stay, will return when next in the area. Well done Roy, Betty & Team.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have view over car park and rear of adjacent hotels, front rooms have restricted view ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,089 reviews
4.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invicta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invicta Hotel

Address: 11-12 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £74 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Invicta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, light and airy interiors meet Victorian elegance in the Invicta Hotel. The Invicta is a family run hotel and is found on Plymouth Hoe, at the heart of Britain's Ocean City. Ideally placed for enjoying a walk along Plymouth's stunning waterfront from where you can take in the views across Plymouth Sound, one of the most perfect natural harbours in the world. Walk a little further to the Barbican and Sutton Harbour where you can step back in time as you meander the cobbled streets. The City Centre is only a short stroll away with its wide range of shops, both national and local independent operators. The hotel boasts AA 3 star accreditation for hotel accommodation and has won multiple awards including Trip Advisors own coveted Hall of Fame Award given to hotels that have received a certificate of excellence for five consecutive years. We look forward to welcoming you at the Invicta Hotel soon. Please book direct for the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Invicta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invicta Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing