We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Invicta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Invicta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was our first time at the Invicta, it was brilliant. This is how a hotel should be run.
Many thanks to Roy and family for the warm welcome and for everything that they did for us, it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was very clean and decorated to a high standard, the food was excellent both at breakfast and in the evening, and there is a bar lounge to relax in.
The location is very good, being abut 200yds from the Hoe. The Barbican and the town centre are not far away. The Invicta has private parking at the rear of the hotel but it was easy to find parking space in the street at the front of the hotel.
From a disabled persons point of view the hotel has three steps into the reception (these steps are separate and can be negotiated by a wheelchair). The dining room and bar are both on the same level as the reception. There is no lift in the hotel but there is a ground floor room for any one not able to climb stairs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    160
    37
    24
    9
See reviews for
128
218
41
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Over the past 11years I have had the pleasure of staying at the Invicta Hotel,and am currently staying there on a business trip. Without exception, the rooms have always been clean and maintained to a very high standard as, indded ,is the rest of the Hotel. In addition, the management and staff have always been most courteous and helpful. This is a hotel that I would fully recommend, and I look forward to many more visits there in the future.

Room Tip: Good views of the bowling green from the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

To start with was a bad smell in the room caused by a soiled babies nappy left in the bin in the bathroom, this was removed ok.
The room was in a very poor condition tatty condition, what I would expect from a very cheep B&B. Breakfast was OK but nothing to rave about.
I will not be returning

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invicta123, Owner at Invicta Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I will be factual and concise with my response. As I explained on the day, your room had been serviced and the keys to the room had been retained by the previous guests who returned to collect luggage. We were not aware that they had entered the room to change the baby or left a soiled nappy behind. We were unable to offer you a free upgrade as this is the only disabled room we have on the ground floor. As regards the room being tatty, this room was refurbished in January of this year which consisted of new bathroom, new bed and new carpet. However, as you indicated there was moderate damage to paintwork which had been caused by wheelchairs traversing in and around the room which has since been addressed. When you left the dining room, I asked if everything was ok with your breakfasts and you stated that you did not have an appetite first thing in the morning but your wife and family commented on how good the breakfast was. I did not refund any of the accommodation costs but for the inconvenience of the soiled nappy your bar bill was wavered. I am disappointed to see your overall review of The Invicta Hotel. I would ask other travellers to view the AA web site who carry out audits and accreditations on behalf of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed for two nights. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Comfortable room, although the bathroom is small but adequate. Excellent English breakfast and the drinks in the bar were cheaper than some of the local pubs.

Room Tip: If the weather is good a trip on the Plymouth Eye is recommended and Platters on the Barbican is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had a navy reunion at this small family run hotel.Roy Betty and staff were all so friendly and made everyone so welcome.Very clean, food excellent brilliant breakfast.Yes i would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

nice friendly family run small hotel.
Had a top floor room a little small, but very quiet and well equipped and above all Clean.
Made to feel at home on arrival.
There is no lift and with a lot of stairs to the top floor it could be a problem for some.
Having said that the staff would do there best to find you a different room if at all possible, and a bit of forward planning is needed.
excellent breakfast, well cooked and served with a smile.
This hotel does not deserve some of the petty criticism in some of the reports!
THE PHOTO OF THE HOTEL ON TRIP ADVISOR IS NOT THIS HOTEL ?

Room Tip: speak to the staff about your needs communication goes a long way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doitdreckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was brilliant for what we wanted, we asked for a room at the front of the hotel for the view of the Hoe even though we were in the attic this didnt bother us but it might tire some out as there is 6 flights of stairs to those rooms. Betty is lovely and is great at reccomending places to visit and eat, also oesnt mind waiting up til 3am to let you in lol.its a very relaxed hotel and u really feel at home there, the breakfast really is fantastic and they will still cook for you even if you are a few minutes late. The location is superb 2 mins from anywhere and the paths are lit all the way home, would def stay again! Thanks Betty

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquetta24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
4.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invicta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invicta Hotel

Property: Invicta Hotel
Address: 11-12 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Invicta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, light and airy interiors meet Victorian elegance in the Invicta Hotel. The Invicta is a family run hotel and is found on Plymouth Hoe, at the heart of Britain's Ocean City. Ideally placed for enjoying a walk along Plymouth's stunning waterfront from where you can take in the views across Plymouth Sound, one of the most perfect natural harbours in the world. Walk a little further to the Barbican and Sutton Harbour where you can step back in time as you meander the cobbled streets. The City Centre is only a short stroll away with its wide range of shops, both national and local independent operators. The hotel boasts AA 3 star accreditation for hotel accommodation and has won multiple awards including Trip Advisors own coveted Hall of Fame Award given to hotels that have received a certificate of excellence for five consecutive years. We look forward to welcoming you at the Invicta Hotel soon. Please book direct for the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Invicta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invicta Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing