We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright but no good for kids”
Review of Invicta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Invicta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, but for the price it wasn't worth it. I stayed with my two children for two nights, but I do not feel it was child friendly we were up 2 floors with no lift next to a room where every time the loo flushed or the tap was turned on, we all shot out of our sleep ! Also very basic breakfast. For £120 a night, in Plymouth, I expect more.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickjosamzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invicta_12, Owner at Invicta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for leaving a review.

I am somewhat bemused by your heading. We are a family run hotel and welcome children of all ages offering the following :-

baby listening services
children's menu
babysitting service
baby food preparation
free baby and children's cots.
children under 5 years of age stay free when sharing with two adults.

We believe £120 per night for bed and breakfast for two adults and two teenage children is great value, equating to £30 per person. Other hotels in the vicinity demand a higher rate and also charge extra for breakfast, car parking and wi-fi access (which most teenagers demand these days!). All these things are included in our tariff.

Your review says that we do not have a lift. This is correct. As stated on our web site and many others on the internet, we do not have a lift. This is because we are a Grade II Star Listed Building.

Regarding the loud obtrusive noises which disturbed you. I must apologise for this as during your stay you would have noticed that a water-main was being repaired in the street outside the hotel. It was necessary for the water supply to the hotel to be turned off for a short time to enable the repair to be completed. This resulted in air becoming trapped within the cold water pipework of the hotel causing hydro hammering. I believe this is the term a plumber uses when valves open and close and air is trapped in the pipework. We suffered with this problem for several days and sincerely apologise.

Breakfast, we believe, is quite a comprehensive affair consisting of several cereals, fresh fruits, grapefruit, prunes, yoghurts, bacon, eggs, sausages, tomatoes, beans, hash browns, mushrooms, assorted fresh and smoked fish along with unlimited toast, fruit juices, teas and coffees. Indeed, our breakfast menu is shown on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our recent stay at the Invicta was extremely comfortably and the proprietors could not do enough for us from the moment we stepped through the door till our departure. It was an especially good location for our needs and most importantly was a dog friendly accommodation. We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a warm friendly and competitively priced hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After recently spending a short break in Plymouth, at the Invicta hotel we found good food, good drinks, good company. Well located and an excellent place to be.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel is ideal for parents dropping students at Uni. It is close to the sea, Hoe, Barbican, shops and within walking distance of the uni. We have stayed twice, it is exceptionally clean, with many areas recently decorated, the staff are friendly and the breakfasts are excellent.
i would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Plymouth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent position , helpful staff , top quality breakfast with a wide choice.
Made to feel very welcomed ,
Stayed with a group who all commented on the breakfast and location next to a park and 3 minutes from the Hoe.
Concerned about some reviews.... Did they stay in the hotel?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailor123450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We are two elderly ladies from Australia and booked into this hotel via internet.
The hotel itself was well presented but unfortunately, whilst all staff members were friendly and helpful, the proprietor was less than charitable when challenged about unacceptable issues that arose through no fault of our own. When we arrived we were given keys to the topmost room in the building - at least 3 flights of stairs and then a short spiral staircase leading to the room.
Nothing wrong with the room but accessibility for older people was quite a risky business.
We are both very mobile but we were afraid of the dangerous aspect of negotiating the narrow staircase to our room, particularly so when we were carrying our hand luggage.
Our request to be moved to a more accessible room was quickly agreed to.
Breakfast on the first morning was lovely but on the second morning when we expected similar treatment, a tour group had taken up all of the dining area and there was no table available for guests. Our discussion with the proprietor about this was met with less than helpful comments in that we were told we simply needed to wait until the tour group had finished before we could be accommodated. We were also told that they had already accommodated us in changing our room and the inference was 'what more do you expect'!! We suggested this wasn't good enough but the proprietor was quite annoyed that we had complained and was unwilling to rectify the situation. All in all it was a lovely building, the room was comfortable and clean and we couldn't fault any aspect of housekeeping, but the proprietor was less than gracious and made us feel that we were out of order in challenging his management. What a shame - great position, good facilities, but unfortunately unprofessional management.

Room Tip: Elderly folk should ask for a room on the 1st floor at least. Don't expect to have a regular ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invicta_12, Owner at Invicta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

In reply to the two lovely ladies from Australia -

You start by saying that the staff were friendly, but the proprietor was less than charitable. "Ladies, please cast your minds back". It was I, the proprietor, Roy Martin, that explained the type of room you had booked online, that it was a standard room on the third floor, that the hotel does not have a lift but that we do supply free porterage for luggage. As mentioned, I did say that the hotel was full with a tour party but that we would endeavour to solve the problem. I then arranged with the tour guide for one his guests to exchange rooms with you to a first floor room at no extra charge to yourselves. Your luggage and belongings were moved for you while you enjoyed a complimentary cream tea in the lounge.

On the second day when you had breakfast, the table you had occupied on the first morning was taken by guests from the tour. Your insistence to the tour guide that they be moved while enjoying their breakfast met with annoyance and frustration as he had already accommodated you in changing your room with one of his guests. I might add that this gentleman is not employed by or affiliated with the hotel.

Upon checking out of the hotel, you thanked me for an enjoyable stay and rewarded my services with a £20 tip which I passed on to my staff. I am, therefore, somewhat confused by your comments.

I would recommend future guests book direct with us so that individual requirements can be catered for thus achieving satisfaction all round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a family birthday party to go to in July and ended up booking a hotel close to Plymstock that was cheap enough for our pockets but offered lovely rooms and a great service. needless to say, I picked the Invicta and wasn't disappointed at all. on arrival the staff were EXCELLENT, being really friendly and even saying that we can park in the rear car park but not to hang around as the wardens were pretty hot on tickets! always handy. although we booked through an agent online, this meant we were on the top floor (58 steps to be precise) and being a listed building it isn't allowed a lift. to be honest, it wasn't a problem for us as we are young and healthy, although the WONDERFUL, FRESHLY COOKED breakfast filled a bit more than a hole made the stairs a little more challenging, I would suggest giving them a call to reserve rooms, as it may end up cheaper and less of a struggle. Overall, a great hotel experience and would definitely use it again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel to see what rooms are available. top rooms have great views but prone to the gulls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
807 reviews
4.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,705 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invicta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invicta Hotel

Address: 11-12 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £70 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Invicta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, light and airy interiors meet Victorian elegance in the Invicta Hotel. The Invicta is a family run hotel and is found on Plymouth Hoe, at the heart of Britain's Ocean City. Ideally placed for enjoying a walk along Plymouth's stunning waterfront from where you can take in the views across Plymouth Sound, one of the most perfect natural harbours in the world. Walk a little further to the Barbican and Sutton Harbour where you can step back in time as you meander the cobbled streets. The City Centre is only a short stroll away with its wide range of shops, both national and local independent operators. The hotel boasts AA 3 star accreditation for hotel accommodation and has won multiple awards including Trip Advisors own coveted Hall of Fame Award given to hotels that have received a certificate of excellence for five consecutive years. We look forward to welcoming you at the Invicta Hotel soon. Please book direct for the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Invicta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invicta Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing