We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location convenient for city and Hoe”
Review of Invicta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Invicta Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting the nearby Theatre Royal.

This hotel has a nice feel to it. Staff and owners are friendly and our stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

We had a front facing bedroom with a large window which allowed for good daylight. The bed was extremely comfortable - it had been recently upgraded. The shower/bathroom was nicely tiled - again, it looked as if it had been recently refurbished. Carpets and fixtures and fittings were in good condition and everywhere was spotless. The décor of the whole hotel is lovely.

The heating came on early evening and was on again in the morning and was quite adequate. We managed to close the sash window gap at the top (it is a listed building) otherwise it might caused a bit of a draught. It was fairly quiet and we had a good night's sleep. There is a bit of street lighting which impacts on the room so if you demand womb like conditions for sleep then bring your eye mask!

We returned in the evening and used the comfortable lounge and enjoyed a drink from the bar.

Breakfast was really good. It was beautifully cooked with nice ingredients.

All in all a good stay and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Invicta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is in a good location for exploring on foot. However it needs updating & redecorating. Our room was clean but rather tired. There needs to be attention to detail - wardrobe door knob missing, soap tray in shower broken. The worst problem was that the heating wasn't working & our room was freezing. We were staying with family & had 6 rooms booked & everyone had the same problem. We were given a portable heater to use.
The staff were all friendly & helpful - if not terribly organised. Check in was a bit confused.
Breakfast was well cooked & fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb2933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invicta_12, Owner at Invicta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Firstly, let me apologise. During your stay at The Invicta Hotel we had a central heating pump failure which affected one floor only. This meant that the radiator in your room was not reaching temperature so a portable heater was supplied as it was not possible to move you to an alternative room owing to the hotel being busy. This was a temporary yet regrettable problem and was rectified within 24 hours of the part being sourced. I believe an explanation and apology was given at the time of your stay.
The wardrobe door knob has been replaced. We were aware of this but considered the wardrobe to be functional and fit for purpose.
The soap tray in the shower room was not actually broken but had become unclipped from the shower rail and was re-attached by housekeeping. To stop future confusion this has now been removed from the room and a more substantial unit fitted.
The decor in the hotel is themed to suit the Victorian building as can be seen from our website. We have an ongoing program of refurbishment and redecoration. Bedrooms are redecorated every four years.
In June 2013 all the bedroom doors throughout the hotel were replaced with new solid oak doors. The lounge, bar and dining room were refurbished in March 2013. Future refurbishment for winter 2013 and spring 2014 includes all new bedding and soft furnishings in classic rooms. On our second floor rooms 20, 22, 24 and 25 will undergo major refurbishment.
As you can see, we endeavour to maintain the hotel to the highest standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed two nights this visit as we were in Plymouth to attend my daughters graduation. We had a lovely room front facing with kingsize bed, there were a couple of dodgy springs on my side of the mattress but still has a really good nights sleep. The position of this hotel is fantastic we didnt need to use the car once- the hotel has onsite free parking! Really friendly staff and the breakfasts are excellent quality. We would return again to the Invicta Hotel and would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a lovely front facing one but has a large cubicle shower no bath.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friendlytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights along with a dozen or more colleagues
It was an alternative choice as our original hotel was double booked others who stayed at the original choice visited us and wished they could have exchanged places
The staff could not do enough for us & the Breakfast choices were excellent & ample
The weather also helped with great views over The Hoe
we arrived as strangers and when we left it felt we were leaving old friends behind
The only downside was the climb to my room at the top but once in there I only really showered and slept(quite soundly in the comfortable bed) and the room was spotless
I would definitely recommend a stay here for business or pleasure

Room Tip: lower rooms are best the attic room climb can be a little daunting
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melg248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in Plymouth at the Invicta Hotel for 2 nights in mid October. The location is excellent, just below the Hoe. We had a very comfortable double room on the first floor overlooking the park. The en suite bathroom was spotless, towels changed each day and the bath robes we very welcome. The proprietors, Roy and Betty Martin, were both friendly and welcoming and the service offered by staff was efficient and quality was excellent. On checking out, Roy was happy for us to leave our car in the car park at the rear of the hotel for the day - a bonus in Plymouth. Next time we stay in Plymouth we will certainly book the Invicta.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nondescript43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for our son's graduation. It couldn't be in a better location, just yards from The Hoe. The staff were excellent, and had to work very hard, as they seemed to be short in number. The lady on reception was doubling as bar staff, and the breakfast lady was worked off her feet. However they were polite, friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triumphowner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I have been visiting my son at Plymouth University for a couple of years now and we wouldnt stay anywhere else. Its like a home from home, the Martin family are so friendly and welcoming nothing is too much trouble, always happy to advise where to go or to cook something special we have requested, or have a late night drink in the bar with you, its like staying with family. The hotel is right on the beautiful Plymouth Hoe and just a 5 min walk to the town centre or Barbican. Beautifully renovated, the Martins have invested a great deal of time and money making this old grade II listed building feel warm and cosy, even during the 2 years i have been coming i have seen loads of changes, like the newly refurbished bar and the rooms on the first floor which have recently been done. The building is old and there is no lift so if you need a low floor make sure you ask when you book they are always happy to advise you which room is best for you, the classic first floor rooms are lovely and have a few extras like spa baths and super king size beds. The rooms also have nice little touches like big white fluffy dressing gowns hanging in the wardrobe. The hotel is not a big executive and soul-less chain so dont expect it to be, what it is is great value for money with a friendly, qwerky and personal approach to customer service, everything is immaculately clean and the breakfast is hand cooked to order using things like locally sourced sausages and farm eggs. A beautiful old building with heaps of character, give it a go we loved it !

Room Tip: We have particularly enjoyed rooms 12, 14 and 24, room 18 has a lovely corner bath but is rear facin...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,008 reviews
4.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invicta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invicta Hotel

Address: 11-12 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £90 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Invicta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, light and airy interiors meet Victorian elegance in the Invicta Hotel. The Invicta is a family run hotel and is found on Plymouth Hoe, at the heart of Britain's Ocean City. Ideally placed for enjoying a walk along Plymouth's stunning waterfront from where you can take in the views across Plymouth Sound, one of the most perfect natural harbours in the world. Walk a little further to the Barbican and Sutton Harbour where you can step back in time as you meander the cobbled streets. The City Centre is only a short stroll away with its wide range of shops, both national and local independent operators. The hotel boasts AA 3 star accreditation for hotel accommodation and has won multiple awards including Trip Advisors own coveted Hall of Fame Award given to hotels that have received a certificate of excellence for five consecutive years. We look forward to welcoming you at the Invicta Hotel soon. Please book direct for the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Invicta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invicta Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing