We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful stay at the Invicta!”
Review of Invicta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Invicta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful stay at the Invicta!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I was highly recommended to this hotel by a friend. . And what a treat it was! After a long day of driving we finally arrived at the Invicta at about 11pm. We was then welcomed by a very kind young gentleman behind reception who made us feel right at home.
We was placed on the top floor by the online booking system which was a bit of a let down as I have a slight problem with climbing stairs, but was then given a free upgrade to a first floor room as we was only staying the one night and they had rooms available. We was then given a nice warm cup of tea and was seated in the lounge whilst our bags was taken to our room for us. One of the proprietors was nice enough to cook us some food as we barely eaten all day, even though the kitchen was closed.
The room we was in (room 12) had a wonderful queen sized bed AND a checuzzi in the bathroom. The cleanliness of the room was absolutely superb!
We was then welcomed in the breakfast area the next morning by a sweet waitress who again made us our morning coffee. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful! Cooked to perfection. Our luggage was brought back down for us that morning.
We was treated like royalty but also treated us as old friends. It was an absolute pleasure staying at this hotel. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globatravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    175
    41
    25
    9
See reviews for
137
243
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My wife booked this particular Hotel due to its location. Apprehensive at first because we normally stop in the larger hotels and lodges. Upon check in we were offered a complimentary tea or coffee in the lounge a nice touch after a 5 hour journey. We noted there was no lift as stated on the web site we were offered porterage but were on the first floor so it didn't really matter.

Our room was front facing over looking the park with a large window with really nice lace net curtains. Room 14 was similar in size to our own bed room at home so size wasn't an issue. This was immaculately clean, my wife is an ex WREN so all has to be ship shape and sparkling. I call it OCD. Mmmm lets not go there.

We had a great nights sleep on I believe to be a fairly new bed and the bedding and pillows were really nice. Will try and put pics on.

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful. This took about twenty mins to come to the table but didn't mind the wait as it was cooked fresh and was piping hot in the meantime we tucked into the cold buffet of cereals. Nice coffee and unlimited toast.

We were going to eat in the restaurant that night but had several recommendations. When we returned the bar was still open so I had a night cap. A very well stocked bar. A little corner called Scotch corner.

All in all a very friendly well priced hotel with lots of character. I will certainly be returning to this hotel and trying the smaller independent hotels in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay devon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the invicta hotel for the weekend. The hotel is ideally situated and very close to all the main attractions .Plymouth hoe is a stones throw away the barbican and thearters are just a short walk away. The rooms are very spacious and immaculately clean (a real credit to all the housekeeping staff) with Imbroided linens and soft towels .the breakfast was superb and plentyful the staff are polite and helpful . all in all I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedy120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

we booked 2 double rooms for a night out in Plymouth ,the Invicta was excellent very friendly owners who had time for a chat with us when we got back at 11.30 ish from our night out in the city the place is very well decorated the bar is well stocked with a good selection of wines and beers,the rooms were very clean and tidy and quiet breakfast was very good a large selection of everything you want service was excellent all conveniently situated on the hoe near the barbican or short walk to theatres wouldn't hesitate to book again for a visit to Plymouth

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stroller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We had to move our Rotary Club breakfast meeting from another venue at very short notice. Roy, Betty and their team have accommodated us very well. Good city centre location with an excellent breakfast served by friendly staff. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a very enjoyable 6 night stay at the Invicta. A family run hotel a very short stroll from Plymouth Hoe. Mum and I were able to have a ground floor room as mum has mobility problems. The room wasn't very large but that didn't matter as we wern't planning on spending much time in it. However we had a double and single bed, walk in shower, separate loo and wash handbasin. I must admit that the double bed I slept in was more comfortable than mine at home. The bed linen high quality and the pillows divine, I wanted to smuggle them out of the hotel!!!!
The domestic staff were brilliant, our room was cleaned each day and the lovely white towels replaced daily.
The Martin family go the extra mile. Each day when we returned to the hotel they made us tea, a nice thoughtful touch. The lounge and bar area is comfortable although Roy did mention they were changing the sofas in the very near future.
If you stay you must have the full English breakfast. Cooked to perfection and that is a compliment indeed from me as I don't normally eat a full breakfast. However I had it each day!
I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Plymouth, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 132 is ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We had a family wedding reception at the Invicta with family staying in the hotel as well. All agreed it is a wonderfully clean and friendly hotel with superb food served at both breakfast and the reception itself.
Fantastic location virtually on Plymouth Hoe and just across from the registery office. Can't recommend more highly.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyToptrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,339 reviews
4.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
25 reviews
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invicta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invicta Hotel

Property: Invicta Hotel
Address: 11-12 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Invicta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, light and airy interiors meet Victorian elegance in the Invicta Hotel. The Invicta is a family run hotel and is found on Plymouth Hoe, at the heart of Britain's Ocean City. Ideally placed for enjoying a walk along Plymouth's stunning waterfront from where you can take in the views across Plymouth Sound, one of the most perfect natural harbours in the world. Walk a little further to the Barbican and Sutton Harbour where you can step back in time as you meander the cobbled streets. The City Centre is only a short stroll away with its wide range of shops, both national and local independent operators. The hotel boasts AA 3 star accreditation for hotel accommodation and has won multiple awards including Trip Advisors own coveted Hall of Fame Award given to hotels that have received a certificate of excellence for five consecutive years. We look forward to welcoming you at the Invicta Hotel soon. Please book direct for the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Invicta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invicta Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing