We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Invicta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Invicta Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Had a short stay here recently and was highly impressed by this hotel and the owners/staff. Very friendly and comfortable with high standards of cleanliness, the staff were very helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and I will certainly return there again. Ideally placed with only a five minute walk to the shops and ten to the Barbican - the Hoe is literally seconds away. Ideal for those shopping/relaxing trips away.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmit076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2009

The owners have spared nothing to provide you a comfortable room with top quality beds and bedding and clean, well stocked bathrooms and fluffy towels. A warm welcome awaits you, top quality food and a well stocked bar. The location is perfect ,a step from the Hoe and three streets away from the shopping centre. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the well informed staff , ideal for business or pleasure, visit now!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H9ANDH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We've stayed in Plymouth for many years now but since finding the Invicta we don't go anywhere else. It is a very friendly family run hotel and nothing is ever too much trouble. The staff are very friendly and always have time for a chat or to give local information when needed. You are always made to feel welcome whatever time of day you arrive and they always take the trouble to check that you have everything you need in your room. The rooms are of an excellent standard and the ones we have stayed in have been large enough for a travel cot - this has been put up in both a double room and the family room and there is still room for the children to play. The hotel is always very well maintained and decorated which must take a massive effort for a property of this age. The food is superb and the bar is always well stocked. Overall I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is excellent value and we have never had any problems during any of our stays over the past 6 years.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Friendly hotel, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Loved the personal touch after staying in larger hotel chains, they are not a patch on this hotel. Not just a room number treated like a person and welcomed back in everytime by staff. Rooms of a clean high standard and comfortable,extra large towels(yes BIG to wrap around}, even though it was blowing gale outside it waas still warm in room. Good breakfast menu and evening menu, We enjoyed all meals as they were well presented, good portions and tasty.Even though this is a grade two listed building the decore isof a high standard but still in character.As you can see lot of money and love from the owners has gone into this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We enjoyed a fabulous weekend in Plymouth and could not have picked a more suitable hotel. A perfect location, within walking distance of the beach and town centre.

We could not fault the cleanliness and presentation of our room, indeed the hotel in general. It was very comfortable and beautifully kept. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the breakfast each morning was superb! Such a great choice offered including kippers, which we have to say were magnificent!

The Invicta offered a good selection of ales & the restaurant food was served piping hot (and plenty of it!)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Invicta and would certainly recommend it to anybody!

Mascot, Worcester.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MascotWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

I chose the Invicta because it was close to the Hoe and therefore handy for a good walk before breakfast. The owner and staff were very friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice - kippers and scrambled eggs made a nice change from bacon, egg and sausage etc. The bar was a good place to relax over a drink, and had an ambience that seemed to make all guests friendly and ready to chat. My single room was compact but had everything I needed, including a comfortable bed, and was spotless, so all in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who values a traditional establishment with friendliness and character.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donskoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

5 stars all-round on this one. Friendliness, value, location, the lot. Went for a reunion in Plymouth and Roy and his staff were the perfect hosts during our stay. Other guests were very friendly as well which was a pleasant change from some of the other more commercial & larger hotels. Room was comfortable & maybe a bit too warm, but the staff altered the heating temperature without hesitation. Bathroom was brilliant - corner bath & a shower that was pipng hot and had fire-hose pressure - lovely. The only very, very, very small thing was no shower curtain or doors to stop the splashes and I felt guilty about splashing water all over the bathroom floor, so sorry for the puddles, Roy! Please thank the staff for a terrific stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V70Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
4.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invicta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invicta Hotel

Address: 11-12 Osborne Place Lockyer Street | Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: £82 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Invicta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, light and airy interiors meet Victorian elegance in the Invicta Hotel. The Invicta is a family run hotel and is found on Plymouth Hoe, at the heart of Britain's Ocean City. Ideally placed for enjoying a walk along Plymouth's stunning waterfront from where you can take in the views across Plymouth Sound, one of the most perfect natural harbours in the world. Walk a little further to the Barbican and Sutton Harbour where you can step back in time as you meander the cobbled streets. The City Centre is only a short stroll away with its wide range of shops, both national and local independent operators. The hotel boasts AA 3 star accreditation for hotel accommodation and has won multiple awards including Trip Advisors own coveted Hall of Fame Award given to hotels that have received a certificate of excellence for five consecutive years. We look forward to welcoming you at the Invicta Hotel soon. Please book direct for the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Invicta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invicta Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing