We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014

stayed here on may bank holiday weekend, booked room 28 in advance as it was on bottom floor and my uncle has trouble with his knees. We were told the room was full and were put in room 15 on the top floor up 2 flights of stairs. We then booked a 6.30am breakfast as we were going fishing, at 6.50am the staff turned up and told us the manager did not ring them to let them know. At this point it was too late and we had to go without. Onto the Hotel Itself, very dated and only the reception entrance door worked. Shower was falling to bits, mold in corners of bathroom, doors looked like they had been kicked in. I could carry on but there is too much to say. Only bright point was that the staff were very helpful and friendly, maybe the manager could take some tips from them. All in all would not recommend and will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: choose a different B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andymcfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was delighted to find Kynance House when looking for accommodation for a large group of visiting students and staff from a university in Hungary. The prices were very reasonable, the breakfast was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful to our visitors. Within five minutes walk of Plymouth Hoe and great views of the sea too. Highly recommended for comfortable and clean budget accommodation! Lecturer, Plymouth University

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECSLecturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I'll be onest we stayed there the week before and it was what we expected for the price ok but nothing special .so on the last day we booked for three nights the following week.when we arrived after a twelve hour day working we were told they had no record of our booking which didn't go down to well.but then one of the staff did remember us and taking the booking so give her credit she did try and sort it out.after about half hour they said we can get two rooms by moving a regular no problem again so we went of and gave them about two hours to sort rooms out.on our return we was told the rooms had been cleaned and ready but not in the same building ok so they took us out the back across the carpark to another guest house which the rooms were in .it looked like it was in need of some TLC.when we got to the rooms all looked ok.I went in and the room was small and had a funny smell but I was knackered and wanted a shower and bed the shower had seen better days so to the rest of the room damp would some it up.then I heard a knock at the door and my colleague said he had complain the room was dirty smelly and when he said look in the shower I could see why stale urine about inch deep so did they clean it with their eyes closed.they moved him to a room in the main building which was cold and damp.needless to say we are not coming back as it is mismanaged and it would appear they cram as many guest in as they can.one more thing the breakfast if the picture on the website was what you expected forget it one sausage,one bacon,one egg,one tomato,one fryed bread and one small lonesome mushroom. hearty it's not. and yes I had the better experience out of the two.....

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 246,011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A large group of us stayed here for the weekend and absolutely loved it!
The location of B&B is incredible! everything was only a short walk away and yet it was incredibly quiet.
Matt and Jenny were so welcoming and very helpful with the multitude of questions we had about the area.
The rooms look like they've been recently decorated and are lovely. Myself and my partner had a double and a single in our room and there was still plenty more room to move about, which made our stay that bit more comfortable being able to spread out our things.
The breakfast here was great and there was plenty of it! as well as all the cooked options there are a wide selection of cereals.
To top all this off there was parking at the back of the B&B!
We are going to head back again in the summer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36Kempton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for one night to avoid motorways on a Friday night. The property is three or four terraced houses knocked through on the ground floor but retaining the original individual stairs to the upper floors and lower ground floor and the car park. Our room (7) was light, airy and very clean probably fairly recently refurbished and had all the usual things expected in a guest house. It was at the top of a lot of stairs so if you have any difficulty with mobility best ask how many stairs will be involved. Breakfast was generous with fruit juice, yoghurt and cereals as well a full English and variations on that theme. Toast (white or brown) tea and coffee were unlimited. Staff very helpful and friendly and we would certainly stay again under similar circumstance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steviee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

As a contractor I had a good rate for B&B but you get what you pay for. The guest house needs a good renovation, which they are slowly doing, and some rooms are better than others. Breakfast is fine with an option of a takeaway if you're in a hurry. The owners are very friendly, as are the other staff. Location is great for both shopping and social. For the money you can't really fault it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank FelthamBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed for just the one night as we had come down from Essex to pick up our new dog, staff where really pleasant and the actual hotels history was quite interesting. The room was comfy, warm and adequate for our requirements, the rooms where clean and in a sort of way quite quirky which added a little something we would certanily use them again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
789 reviews
0.0 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#7 of 79 in Plymouth
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#17 of 79 in Plymouth
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number One
Number One
#10 of 79 in Plymouth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kynance House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 107-113 Citadel Road West | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: £62 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kynance House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started as a Bed and Breakfast in 1954, family run Kynance House has had thousands of satisfied customers. Blessed with perfect positioning on Plymouth's historic Hoe, only a few minutes walk from the City Center and the Barbican, come and stay with us in one of our comfortable en-suite rooms, enjoy the free in room WiFi and then tuck into the full English breakfast prepared fresh for you. Kynance House - The Best Location in Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Kynance House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kynance Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing