We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A park bench would be superior to this dump”

Grosvenor Park Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grosvenor Park Hotel
Ranked #73 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
london
1 review
“A park bench would be superior to this dump”
Reviewed 14 January 2009

I needed somewhere close to the Station and this place was offering a special deal according to their website
When I got there late evening I wasnt happy but had little choice but to pay for the room upfront as demanded and went out for dinner. On return I found no heating in my room ( this is January) the window was broken and street noise and cold streaming in. On calling reception I was aggresively told that I could have another room for a extra £15 to be paid in cash now or I could leave without a refund. VERY UNPLEASANT PEOPLE Running a very nasty hotel- the other reveiws cover the uncleanliness!!
DO NOT GIVE YOURSELF A MAJOR PROBLEM BY HAVING ANYTHING TO DO WITH THIS PLACE

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank mikepjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    0
    1
    13
See reviews for
3
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

Under new managemnt. Dreadful. A definite avoid.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — The Hotel and staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank colinjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

The hotel itself was in a convenient location and had a car park. The room was adequate although quite dated and lacking any atmosphere. We went for breakfast at 9.15am to be told that breakfast stopped at 9am (this was a Sunday so had assumed it may be slightly later). We were not told about the times for b'fast when we arrived, although that did not prevent the 'chef/hotess' come storming in to loudly state that she had told us, and that all the cookers had all been turned off so we could have toast and cereal but that was it. I would suggest there are plenty of other B&B's in the locality with a more professionally run establishment.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank CVBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

I booked this hotel because of the close proximity to Home Park - we went to see George Michael in concert.
The hotel was terrible, there is nothing good to say about it at all. The room was cramped, the bed linen questionable as to its cleaniliness. The ensuite was horrible. Couldn't get the kettle to boil at all for a cup of tea.
Breakfast was a nightmare - the butter and milk were both off and when we tried the orange juice, we found it to be orange squash.
Other people stayed there the same night for the same reason - it was walking distance to the concert. But please avoid this hotel at all costs.
I must admit though that we have had a good laugh about it since - the staff certainly need to train in customer service skills.
I think they should have paid us to stay the night!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Judola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2007

My daughter ,son-in-law, and myself booked this hotel by phone for the 22nd &23rd of June. When i asked for a confirmation by email the man shouted and said if i have made the booking then its booked. This booking was made four months in advance. 3 weeks before the date i phoned to confirm and was told yes they had the rooms. 1 week before the due date 2 young people who were with my party said they could not go due to money problems. I phoned the hotel to cancel and apologise and said i would still like the other 2 rooms they said that was ok. The night before we left i phoned to see if we still had the rooms and they said yes and what time would we arrive i said about six depending on traffic. At 6. 15 we arrived and where told that their were no rooms avialable and that she had put a question mark beside my name and they did not know wether we wanted the rooms. I do not know how many times a person has to confirm to make sure they have there booking. I said i had phoned more than once but they would not take us. It ended up a costly weekend. However when we entered the hotel it was very dirty the carpets were threadbare and unclean so from that point of view i think we had a lucky escape. Please inform anyone booking with these people not to expect a room or a good standard of service.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Disliked everything
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We booked Months in advance through their web site and even phoned the week before to confirm but when we arrived they had not booked us any rooms. They did not apologize and we were left to find somewhere else at short notice.
The place looked dirty too.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank black-hole-dynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2007

This hotel is awfull do not stay. I stayed with my work collegues and it was horrible. My room had mold in the shower and the en-suite is tiny more like a small cuboard.
The room my collegue was staying in had blood on the wall and on the lampshade. He also had a huge hole where the keyhole was on the door, not very reassuring.

My recommendation is not to stay here, find a nicer place!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The decor was very outdated and some parts were unclean.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeygirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallery Guesthouse
Gallery Guesthouse
#5 of 78 in Plymouth
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 78 in Plymouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Mia
Casa Mia
#31 of 78 in Plymouth
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cassandra Guest House
Cassandra Guest House
#20 of 78 in Plymouth
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#7 of 78 in Plymouth
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Park Hotel

Property: Grosvenor Park Hotel
Address: 114-116 North Road East, Plymouth PL4 6AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing