We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Chester House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House
Ranked #25 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed here a number of times over the past four years (son at university in Plymouth) and we were always impressed with the hospitality of the owners Dot and Andy (if you read various reviews - this is usually mentioned) so were saddened to hear that they had sold the business. However the new owner Ashley is a really lovely man. He made us feel so welcomed and was an excellent host. Chester House continues to have a homely feel and is excellent value for money, centrally located. A real bonus is the secure private car park. We wish Ashley every success in this venture.

Room Tip: We have stayed in various rooms over the past few years. We have stayed in the ones at the front and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footiemum90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Chesterhouse is centrally located and close to the University of Plymouth. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Breakfast includes fresh orange juice, teas, coffee, fruits, bread, eggs, choice of cereals, yoghurt, etc. In sum, Chesterhouse provides a very friendly bed & breakfast service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Clean excellent rooms, powerful shower,real homely welcome and plenty of parking. After staying at several places in the area for work I have one here that I would definitely stay again at and will recommend to friends and colleagues. Five stars. Thanks Metford
Excellent all round

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metfordb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently spent a couple of nights with Andy and Dot as part of our UK experience - and had a fabulous time.
From the time we arrived, to be met with a welcome cuppa and tray of biscuits, we felt so much at home.
They were superb hosts, with a fantastic B&B business that TRIPADVISOR had recommended, and it certainly didn't disappoint.
Wonderfully comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds, and a traditional breakfast that sent us out the door each morning with a smile on our faces.
Very central to most things, and Dot and Andy were so very helpful in getting us to where we wanted to go.
A wonderful time, and we will certainly pass on your details to anyone asking us -
Thank you guys. Loved our time with you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandJGredig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

What an excellent place to stay! Perfect location just a stroll from the city centre; very comfortable beds, and precisely the kind of breakfasts you would hope for. A first-time visitor, I stayed for 9 days working on a book and returned home having both worked and enjoyed Plymouth grandly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oivind2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Andy & Dot made us welcome even before we had crossed the threshold! Then came the tea and all the local info. We went to the restaurant Andy recommended and were not disappointed (Positano - review elsewhere!). Chester House is a warm and friendly place, that feels comfortable.
Breakfast was good and the dining room was a place for conversation between the guests. An excellent place, convenient for railway station, university and centre of town. The Hoe is still only a 10-a5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briskeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just spent a very happy few days in Plymouth and are really glad that after consulting Trip Advisor, we booked Chester House! Andy met us, helped with the bags because I have recently had surgery and am unable to lift very much and whilst he took my husband to park our car in their secure parking area at the rear of the property - a real plus!- Dot made us a cup of tea and loaded the tray with biscuits. Andy then returned with a local map and told us of good places to eat in the evening; the best cabs to hail if we needed a lift back from town and then generally imparted his extensive local knowledge which was much appreciated. He advised us of the Wi-Fi code and then left us to unpack! The room was spotless, snug and warm; the bedding was lovely as were the towels. Each morning, we had fresh towels and the tea/coffee tray re-equipped for our evening/early morning drinks! At our request, we slept at the front of the House because we had a clear view of the viaduct and the trains approaching Plymouth Railway station. This was NOT intrusive as the trains are pretty slow at this stage but it was fun to watch them approach and leave with lighted carriages. There was little to no movement during the night and our sleep was never disturbed.

Breakfasts were wonderful -a choice of cooked or continental - Dot does the cooking and Andy is in charge of the toast (!!) Almost everyone nattered to others at breakfast , encouraged by the friendliness and banter of Dot and Andy, and it was an excellent start to the new day! Nothing was too much trouble for these two. I even heard Dot volunteer to do some laundry for a young guest who had arrived for a conference after a long journey- it's this sort of helpfulness and excellent service that makes you want to go back! Yes, you two..... we are hoping to come back next May during the summer half term to sample more of your care and hospitality! Thank you for a lovely visit to Plymouth!

Room Tip: We asked for a front, road facing room because of the view of the viaduct - my husband is a train en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank customeradvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
4.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,160 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House

Address: 54 Stuart Road | Pennycomequick, Plymouth PL3 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: £28 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, bedfinder AG and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing