We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing much”
Review of Mayflower Steps

Mayflower Steps
Book In Advance
More Info
US$362.56*
and up
Plymouth and Dartmoor One Day Private Highlights Tour from Devon
Ranked #31 of 172 things to do in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A plaque beside these steps commemorates Provincetown as the first landing spot for the Pilgrims in the New World.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
555 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Nothing much”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

There are various plaques in this area that give a little information about ships leaving here to the New World and later Australia and NZ. There is also a recent archway where you can take photos, but it was not the original spot where the ships left from. Would take about 15 minutes to read all the plaques. After that, it is worth a walk, up the slope, to the sea front for the view, and where you can continue to walk to the Hoe. The area next to the Steps called the Barbican has many eateries and shops, which is useful for a lunch stop after the walk. There is an Aquarium nearby also - but did not have time to have a look inside.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    48
    18
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My mom and I went here while on Insight Vacation's Britain and Ireland Discovery 26-day tour. We knew we had to see the original steps of our ancestors and we are so glad we did. We have visited Plymouth, MA too. The town is very quaint and the whole experience is worth going. Beautiful day too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank medicalmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Fascinating to hear the history of the steps, although there is a little bit of sadness mixed in with the story, but like all things it does have a happy ending.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pixie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,112 reviews
387 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,306 helpful votes
“No one knows where they embarked from.”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We know that these steps and this pier did not exist at the time of the Mayflower. Local history has it the they may have used steps now incorporated in the basement of what is now the Admiral McBride pub. All there is now are some commemorative tokens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Great history, small plaques!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is supposedly the place where the pilgrim fathers set off from the Engish soil to start life in the brave new world. Worth a visit for that history alone. It's a landmark in Plymouth with the lovely Barbican area where you can find pubs, great shops and eateries. Could enjoy a good walk along the jetty, but could become very busy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank y0rkshire_0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayflower Steps also viewed

 

Been to Mayflower Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing