We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some spectacular sights”

National Marine Aquarium
Ranked #12 of 171 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Some spectacular sights”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

On was a wet, cold and miserable day in Devon and so we decided to visit the National Marine Aquarium. As adults we greatly enjoyed it but were surprised at the lack of hands on stuff for kids to do and to be honest, we were the only couple there without kids in tow.

It wasn't cheap to get into (Just short of £12 each for adults) but you could take advantage of a year long free pass once you bought these so if you live locally, on the whole it presents good value.

Signage to the entrance of the venue (particularly if you come from the rear) and in the venue itself could do with reviewing

My personal favourites were the big tanks where you could see all the marine life together, I especially liked the large turtle. There were large seating areas around each of these tanks so you could sit and enjoy the live entertainment but my only grip would be the lack of information for children on what was in the tank. There was a display screen that paged through info, you had no control over this and it was a bit dry to watch. There was also a laminated handout which was clearly aimed at adults. Given the amount of children in there it was surprising there was nothing aimed at them.

There were some educational displays on seagrasses and sea horses which were thought provoking but again mainly aimed at teenagers/adults.

So as an adult I felt well catered for but I thought there could be a lot more in the way of fun learning for the kids that could be done.

The restaurant offered a good range of food at reasonable prices.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJAVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    604
    261
    105
    61
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“AquariumC”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Best attraction in Plymouth.Great for all ages.Staff willing and knowledgeable to answer allthe childrens questions, top rate.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalMarineAqua, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thanks for your feedback, we try to make the aquarium as engaging as possible, and really want to expand the knowledge of marine conservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with a shark”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have taken my children many times over the years and it still hold an enormous fascination for us all. The way it's set out is brilliant, so you feel that you are there in the water with the fish. Fascinating and anyone who's never been really should.

Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalMarineAqua, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
We're really glad your family has enjoyed your visits. Watch this space for a new installation that will make you feel even more submersed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and educational day out”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Me and my partner visited this aquarium whilst staying in Devon this year. I travelled over an hour and a half to get here but wasn't disappointed. We arrived at 11am when the queues were short so we got in quickly. We also received a free year pass which would be great if we were to return. We walked around the aquarium once before coming out by the shop where we were bitterly disappointed as we had not seen any large sea animals and the one turtle we did see seemed to be stuck under a rock. As we had only been in the aquarium for an hour, we decided to visit the 4D cinema, but had an hour to wait until the next showing so walked around again. We then found another entrance which led to a tank of big sharks and a tunnel with an overhead view of the sharks and sting rays right above our heads. They also rested on the glass which enabled us to get close up pictures. We were also very happy as, on our second time around, the turtle was free and swimming round the tank freely and we were able to get many lovely pictures. We then went to watch a short cartoon film in the 4D cinema which we were very disappointed with as it seemed they just shook the chairs for fun to scare people as it didnt fit in with the film. I wouldn't recommend it for young kids as a few ran out screaming and crying during our viewing of the film. Overall we had a very pleasant day and will be visiting again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy-Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My partner & I visitede the marine aquarium when we were having a few days away in Dartmoor. Although it is a bit of a nightmare to get to as the roads leading to the aquarium are like a maze it is truely amazing. We had a great time and the cost to get in is actually quite reasonable. We dont have children and just went on our own and we had a whale of a time (sorry had to get that one in there) so it really is great for people of all ages. I would definately recommend getting there early as it does get very busy and you could end up queing to get in.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalMarineAqua, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thanks Jamie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to National Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing