We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Fairly spectacular

This is worth the visit but I feel a little expensive. Children will love the experience to see all... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Alun41
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Wish I could have these views at home!

Being a massive lover of the underwater! I wanted something to see, something bigger then my... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
catherinerX4619EN
,
Redruth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 2,186 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Plymouth
from US$393.70
More Info
from US$129.92
More Info
from US$295.28
More Info
from US$393.70
More Info
Reviews (2,186)
Filter reviews
2,186 results
Traveller rating
958
720
310
122
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
958
720
310
122
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea life shark tank rainy day large tanks dartmoor zoo main tank different species annual pass soft play area gift shop few hours couple of hours free entry all ages school holidays great place to visit exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,186 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place is now looking really tired and doesn’t seem to be getting any investment. Several tanks are closed waiting for attention from the team. Would benefit from more interaction by staff. Finally allowing children to eat while they walk around means lots of litter to miss.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Simon-Peebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmaplymouth, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We’re sorry you had a negative experience at our Aquarium. As a charity we value our visitors’ feedback. Our Animal Husbandry team are currently working on some exhibits for the benefits of our animals and our visitors in the future. We hope you’ll use your complimentary year pass you received on entry to visit us again and give our charity another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lots of variety in the many tanks and displays. Interestingly structured into different zones: liked the Plymouth Sound one because how many times do you look out across the Sound without realising the abundance of life that exists below it. Some good adult style statistics (Brexit) and the like that can be relayed to children. Just be mindful that to get there the footbridge from Mayflower steps is still closed so you have to walk around the Barbican marina in a large loop. Just keep the water on your right hand side. Worth visiting and you can get a free yearly pass at the same time.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmaplymouth, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Aquarium. We thank you for supporting our charity and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great selection of fish and marine life, lots of things for small children to see and explore. Was hoping to see more seahorses, only saw 2.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmaplymouth, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our Aquarium. Seahorses are stunning creatures and even though we only have a few on display we’re working on some seagrass conservation projects at the moment that will help support these little folks and their habitat in the wild. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent several hours here with my daughter. The queue was rather long and it took a while to get into the place, which didn't help because it was raining and part of the queue you are not under any covers, so without the correct clothing, you could end up soaked to the skin before you even enter the place.
Once inside, the aquarium is very large. Plenty to see and you need a good few hours to walk around and read the information and see the sights. They have small shows which talk about certain the marine life. The gift shop was lovely, although perhaps a little pricey.
A lovely afternoon spent.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Umberdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmaplymouth, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our Aquarium. We’re pleased you had a positive experience at the NMA and enjoyed our shows too. We hope to see you visit our charity again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This aquarium is fabulous. Wonderful layout and beautiful tanks. For visitors of every age you cannot help but be mesmerised in this wholly immersive experience inside the aquarium. The conditions are excellent and the marine life thriving. Staff we spoke to were genuinely enthusiastic and highly knowledgeable- many marine biologists from the uni. Cafe is also nice with good selection to choose from.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Mindymoo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmaplymouth, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We’re so pleased you enjoyed our Aquarium and we’ll pass on your comments to our staff too. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews