We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Visit with Toddler

Visited today with my 2 1/2 year old and I was very impressed with it on the whole. There were... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Yaahelo
via mobile
1st birthday

We took my daughter here for her 1st birthday. There is a short walk from the car park to the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
658laurenk
,
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 2,200 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Plymouth
from US$405.96
More Info
from US$405.96
More Info
from US$405.96
More Info
from US$202.98
More Info
Reviews (2,200)
Filter reviews
2,200 results
Traveller rating
966
724
311
123
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
966
724
311
123
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea life large tanks shark tank rainy day dartmoor zoo annual pass main tank different species soft play area gift shop few hours couple of hours free entry all ages school holidays great place to visit exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,200 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well run with fascinating exhibits...the staff are excellent. Look for the huge octopus!!! Massive tanks with some very large fish!!!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 177briantd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today with my 2 1/2 year old and I was very impressed with it on the whole.

There were lots of fish and sea life to see and plenty of information to read. There were lots of places to sit near the large tanks, and we spent quite a lot of time watching what was going on in these which my Toddler loved.

We didn't actually take our buggy but it would all have been very accessible with a buggy, which is a huge plus for little ones.

Some of the tanks were too high up for Toddlers to be able to see in without being lifted up - having a step for the younger ones would have been really helpful.

We visited the cafe and had a coffee, which was ok price and quality. The views over the harbour were lovely.

We popped into the soft play after we had been to the cafe. It's actually inside the attraction but didn't notice it as we went past. On the web site it states that there is a free area for Toddlers, however I don't think many children past the age of about 18 months would be very interested, it's more of a baby area. The rest of the soft play seemed really nice but with an extra charge of £1.70. There was a cafe in that area which would have been helpful to know about in advance as by the time we visited we had already been to the main cafe.

The staff that we spoke to were friendly and helpful.

Having a free return was a very nice bonus and we will definitely be back.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Yaahelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant day out, big aquarium with many sea creatures. Lots of information scattered around the aquarium which is very educational. I would like to especially thank the volunteer Lucy for being so helpful & enthusiastic. She shared so many great facts about the animals, one I especially found interesting was that octopuses have 3 hearts...
Great team member!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 381liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmaplymouth, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review our Aquarium and supporting our charity. We’re really pleased you enjoyed your day and we’ll ensure to pass on your comments to Lucy and the team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed, after spending ages waiting and finding a parking space we walked the long walk to the harbour footbridge only to find closed till further notice, we are older and walking us hard for me.we checked their website site in advance and it was not listed as not being able to use footbridge the advised walk round the water ways was so long I could not manage it and as it was two pm, the ferry stopped at four and the web site says you need three hours to do the tour. We paid 6.50 for parking too so we're not happy please aquarium put it on your web site would of saved us the garden long walk and expense I am sure we would have enjoyed the actual aquarium if we had been able to get in Lorraine Southampton

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmaplymouth, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to comment about our Aquarium. We’re sorry you didn’t manage to make it to the Aquarium itself. We’ve listed the bridge situation on our website since it broke some time ago so we’re sorry it wasn’t clear. The bridge is looking to be fixed in the coming months so hopefully you’ll visit us again soon and enjoy our Aquarium. We hope you’ll give our charity another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We walked there which took 20mins round the harbour .but it was a warm day ,5 10 mins in car from centre.in summer there would be long ques .this could be quicker .as getting tickets take quite a time .aquaruim was amazing ,lots to see .managed to see feeding times od sharks .loads of information about fish ,well worth the money

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmaplymouth, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review our Aquarium and supporting our charity. We're working on speeding up our queueing process so we hope you’ll make use of your free return pass and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews