We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the bookable Friday guided tour”

Saltram (National Trust)
Ranked #9 of 170 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Saltram House is a George II era mansion located in Plympton, Plymouth, England. The house that can be seen today is the work of Robert Adam, who altered the original Tudor house on two occasions. Wikipedia Saltram park offers a great place for walking, jogging, cycling and picnics. The park is open from dawn to dusk. Car park fees payable to non-National Trust members. Enjoy the Park Cafe, Shop and visit the House, Garden with Orangery, Castle Folly and Chapel Tea Room. There is a display of Arts and Crafts by local artists in the Gallery. Become a member and support the National Trust in the conservation work carried out to preserve our heritage for future generations and enjoy these facilities free all year. See our web pages for special events and opening time
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Try the bookable Friday guided tour”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have been to the house several times but still enjoy it. Our daughter booked the Friday tour which is 'behind the scenes' which was excellent,
Each tour guide has a 'different version' of events.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    213
    49
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Plenty to do”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

At Saltram, there is a wonderful house, with very informative room guides. A beautiful gardens. Walks that weave around the Estate, down to the River Plym, wildlife plentiful, a good place to take children to spot insects, birds and wild flowers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“History in the making”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A beautiful house that is carefully looked after by the National Trust in lovely grounds on the River Plym. A lovely day out, especially in hot weather as the house can be cool in more ways than one. It always amazes me how fancy life was......very different to the miners cottages only a few miles away. Well worth the entrance fee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adam interiors”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wonderful house with fabulous pictures by Joshua Reynolds and Adams saloon out of this world. Lots to see with the kitchens being one of the highlights. Unusally for the national trust you can take you dog in the grounds and there are some marvellous walks with views of the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“expensive”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

we went to go to this attraction when we saw the price we did a u turn!!! very very disappointed would not recommend other than to walk around free grassed area!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nic1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltram (National Trust) also viewed

 

Been to Saltram (National Trust)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing