We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good example of a large National Trust house”

Saltram (National Trust)
Ranked #9 of 170 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Saltram House is a George II era mansion located in Plympton, Plymouth, England. The house that can be seen today is the work of Robert Adam, who altered the original Tudor house on two occasions. Wikipedia Saltram park offers a great place for walking, jogging, cycling and picnics. The park is open from dawn to dusk. Car park fees payable to non-National Trust members. Enjoy the Park Cafe, Shop and visit the House, Garden with Orangery, Castle Folly and Chapel Tea Room. There is a display of Arts and Crafts by local artists in the Gallery. Become a member and support the National Trust in the conservation work carried out to preserve our heritage for future generations and enjoy these facilities free all year. See our web pages for special events and opening time
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A good example of a large National Trust house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Saltram is a large house in large grounds high up on the side of the River Tamar. For us and our children years ago the big attraction was always the kitchen and this year we took our grandson and he loved it too. The Orangery and grounds are lovely to stroll around and the cafe has still managed to maintain the traditional National Trust feel that so many of the other properties lost when outsourcing of catering started.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wadewade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    210
    49
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Plymouths stately home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Saltram house is a beautiful stately home set in fabulous grounds. A great day out for families who like to picnic and also for walkers. The house is steeped in history and some rooms used in the film pride and prejudice. There is a cafe and gift shop. A great day out for visitors and affordable,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Days out in style with National Trust”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visit the beautiful house, discover the history, follow treasure trails to learn more. In the gardens the gentle walks through tress and shrubs overlook the Plym estuary. Woodlands to explore or gentle stroll, something for all the family. Den building for fun, climb in the park. Lunch in the cafe or afternoon tea in the chapel there is something for everyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
445 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Changes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I last visited Saltram House about 4 years ago and since then there seems to have been several changes to the room settings etc. Additionally if you are not a member of the national Trust you have to pay to park in the grounds which I think is a good idea and you now have to pay at the visitor centre next to the shop to enter the house. Back to the house, as usual the volunteers are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the room contents and the history of the house. Several new rooms have been opened up and there is now a proper tea shop located in the garden in the gallery building, serving traditional afternoon tea and cakes.
The garden was lovely and peaceful but most of the spring flowers had gone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pbhPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Doesn't open until 12am”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived early for the first time in our lives! We had to spend our time walking around the gardens slowly whilst we waited for the house to open.

Lovely house and the volunteers are wonderful people who seemed very excited to tell you all about the house.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J3dyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltram (National Trust) also viewed

 

Been to Saltram (National Trust)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing