We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fascinating insight into the life of the aristocracy.”

Saltram (National Trust)
Ranked #10 of 170 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Saltram House is a George II era mansion located in Plympton, Plymouth, England. The house that can be seen today is the work of Robert Adam, who altered the original Tudor house on two occasions. Wikipedia Saltram park offers a great place for walking, jogging, cycling and picnics. The park is open from dawn to dusk. Car park fees payable to non-National Trust members. Enjoy the Park Cafe, Shop and visit the House, Garden with Orangery, Castle Folly and Chapel Tea Room. There is a display of Arts and Crafts by local artists in the Gallery. Become a member and support the National Trust in the conservation work carried out to preserve our heritage for future generations and enjoy these facilities free all year. See our web pages for special events and opening time
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A fascinating insight into the life of the aristocracy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I try to time my visits to National Trust Properties to enjoy the catering, on this occasion, I regretted that decision, the options were limited and not particularly good quality.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dinghyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    211
    49
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Interesting house with lovely grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Saltram. We were made to feel very welcome, and the staff/volunteers were very helpful. The gardens were lovely, and there was also parkland where you could walk. There were good facilities which included a tearoom.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank blt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Formal house, garden, and people!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Went to Saltram with family in May while on holiday in Devon. Started with a lovely walk along the edge of the estuary. Then walked round the house, and some of the grounds, with a quick peek in the orangery. The walk was lovely - lots of trees and a gently sloping path, so relatively suitable for the older members of our group. But signage really poor - no maps en route, and no reassuring signs that you were on the path back to the house. This was brushed aside when we mentioned it to staff. Disappointing. The house is interesting - with a formal façade added on to an older building, but the staff I asked about it ignored me, or didn't know the answer. Disappointing. The orangery was beautiful with wonderfully scented citrus trees. This NT property is in a surprising location, and suited our purpose well, but was not one I would revisit or recommend when there are so many nicer ones. I am a long term NT member so go to their properties whenever I am away.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A good example of a large National Trust house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Saltram is a large house in large grounds high up on the side of the River Tamar. For us and our children years ago the big attraction was always the kitchen and this year we took our grandson and he loved it too. The Orangery and grounds are lovely to stroll around and the cafe has still managed to maintain the traditional National Trust feel that so many of the other properties lost when outsourcing of catering started.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wadewade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Plymouths stately home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Saltram house is a beautiful stately home set in fabulous grounds. A great day out for families who like to picnic and also for walkers. The house is steeped in history and some rooms used in the film pride and prejudice. There is a cafe and gift shop. A great day out for visitors and affordable,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltram (National Trust) also viewed

 

Been to Saltram (National Trust)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing