We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As student accommodation goes, this is poor”

University of Plymouth Summer Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
University of Plymouth Summer Accommodation
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Having used various halls of accommodation before, this was by far the worst.

The University, really needs to consider the requirements of non-student visitors. Their website is particularly unhelpful. It took two e-mail to establish where I had to visit in order to collect keys, etc.

Most other universities will kit out the rooms to resemble a 'travelodge' type room. Plymouth did not even live up to that basic standard.

Let's start with the bed-room. Clearly, it had not received a suitably good enough clean since the departure of the last student. The carpet was filthy and heavily stained, the shower was covered in mould and the shower curtain was torn. The mattress was far from comfortable, suffering with protuding lumps.

A kettle and cutlery was supplied in the kitchen. However, the bowls and saucers left out for guests were filthy. That could probably be explained by a total lack of washing up liquid. One suspects that the cleaners merely rinsed off any dirt in cold water.

To gain access to the building, the visitor requires the skills of a locksmith. Eventually, I managed to found a technique of gaining access to the building. On more than one occasion, I found other guests attempting to gain access but failing.

Breakfast is not provided. Instead, guests are advised to spend £5.95 at one of the cafes somewhere on campus. Unfortunately, the guidance fails to explain where the cafe is located on the large campus. Having given up with the hunt, I opted for a porridge pot from the nearby Co-op.

Okay, £36 is at the cheaper end of the price range but I would advise a bed and breakfast elsewhere instead.

Plymouth, you need to consider what visitors require, they are not students. Plus you need to visit campus accommodation elsewhere in the country to see their quality products.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dead_Sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UOPSummerAccomm, Manager at University of Plymouth Summer Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We're sorry to read your comments, and sorry for the delay in posting a response, we had to be verified first by Trip Advisor which took some time.

We offer various types of rooms and services for our summer guests, and we're trying to work out how you booked - if a guest books directly with us, or through an agent or through our website, we send an email response with the booking or a link through to our arrival information. We admit that if you tried to find us through the main university website it would be a struggle, but that's why we ensure that arrival instructions are sent with each booking.

When students depart in June, the rooms and carpets are deep cleaned, and shower curtains are replaced. Cutlery and crockery is supplied in the self catering kitchens and is cleaned by our domestic staff who are supplied with suitable cleaning equipment .

We don't offer bed and breakfast as a package, but guests are welcome to use our on campus cafes for breakfast or other meals during the day. Reception staff are always ready to help with directions to our cafes or to other nearby cafes and restaurants. If any of our guests find anything unsuitable with their room, we are always ready to help, and our on site maintenance team can quickly repair any faults or we can offer an alternative room.

We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we aim to offer good value budget accommodation in a convenient city centre location, in the centre of Plymouth which is a lovely waterfront city.

Please contact us again if you have any further comments, we are always value our customers feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
There are newer reviews for University of Plymouth Summer Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

I chose this place for it's central location and simplicity. All I was looking for was a room with a bed, shower, toilet and that's exactly what I got. The room itself was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was spacious, with room for luggage and the bathroom was good, small but clean and the shower was in the form of a wet shower which I had no problem with. There's a MASSIVE desk, where I did work on, just remember to bring an ethernet cable for internet access (which was reliable). The room is cleaned every day, and there's a kitchen which you share with the 7 other rooms on the floor, but because we were the only one's in that section of the floor, we had the kitchen all to ourselves. There's stoves, fridge/freezer, microwaves, cutlery, plates, hot water boilers, toaster etc. The laundry area is downstairs outside, you have to get a code from the reception, and inside, there are many washers and dryers which is about 1 pound each. The accomodation is near a co-op and near the Drake Circus mall just across the main road, as well as the Art/Plymouth Museum!

Room Tip: There are only rooms with one single bed or one double bed, so make sure if you come with friends to...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lina0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I booked a basic holiday here the shower was awful. I have stayed in several universities before but this was the worst!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank oap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My friend and I found these accommodations to be centrally located, clean, spacious and well-appointed. We appreciated the full-kitchen facilities and the dormitory's location close to shopping, public transportation, and the library. Nearby laundry facilities and grocery a plus! Accommodations staff were friendly and willing to extend extra help with directions and assistance with luggage.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank ACS089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
962 reviews
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Plymouth
Travelodge Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Plymouth Summer Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Plymouth Summer Accommodation

Address: Gibbon Street | Student Village Reception, Plymouth PL4 8BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Plymouth
Price Range: £20 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University's halls of residence provide good quality, city centre accommodation at competitive rates for groups and individuals each summer in July and August. Our accommodation is well equipped with modern facilities and comfortable furnishings. A choice of single en-suite, and single standard rooms are available. Our accommodation is arranged in modern flats containing six-eight bedrooms, each with access to a fully equipped kitchen/dining area with everything you need for a self-catering break. Flats are typically let on a shared basis. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing