We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home-cooked Pub Grub in lovely location”
Review of The Royal Oak Hooe

The Royal Oak Hooe
Ranked #303 of 722 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: US$4 - US$39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: The Royal Oak is the old lady of Hooe Lake. The sign says circa 1857. Well with some research we have found a landlord in situ in 1799, but we know it's much older. The south facing beer garden was once a covered wood store, the remains of the walls now form the beer garden boundary. She even survived the Blitz on Plymouth, standing proud amongst the rubble.Hooe is a quiet village on the outskirts of Plymstock in Plymouth. It has the appeal of being close enough to and far enough from Plymouth all at the same time, quite quirky really. The local transport is by car, taxi, bus (number 2 First National) and water taxi via Mountbatten.Having said that we are on the South West Coast Path and welcome walkers and cyclists too. Adjacent to the beer garden is a public slipway. So you can visit by boat (tides permitting) if so inclined.We are very proud of our homestyle cooked food, made fresh to order. There may be a wait at busy times so we do recommend making a booking.We have a good selection of beers (including real ales), wines and ciders. We welcome families and dog owners at The Oak.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent home-cooked Pub Grub in lovely location”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Lovely local pub with excellent grub at really good prices, the oak burger, belly pork, fish and chips and special pies are our favourites. Great beer garden too, well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Plymspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
What more could we say than a huge thank you. We proud of our home cooked food. We also have our own marinated ribs on the new menu, well worth a try too. Our puddings are made on site, I'm a keen baker and with homemade bakewell, brownies and apple pie, you can't go wrong; unless of course you don't have a sweet tooth!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Louise, Mick & Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    3
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, brilliant food, brilliant prices”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Quite possibly one of the best pubs and places to eat in Plymouth. Prices are excellent for food and you get massive portions. Sitting by the lake, the beer garden is lovely during warmer months. The food is very very good. Prices for drinks are more or less average. Staff are very friendly and the pub inside is nicely decorated and has a lovely old style with wooden beams etc. Bear in mind it is recommended that you book as the kitchen is small and some times it takes some time for food to arrive. But you wont be disappointed when you do get it.
They do some good bands on friday and saturday nights too.

Very recomended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plymouthbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Good to see you revisted. And we were so lucky with the weather, it makes a difference. It was busy over the weekend, so I'm glad you booked. Don't forget the good weather brings the bbq out. So keep an eye out. See you again soon.
Louise & Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Mawgan, Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff, fantastic food, good value”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We were greeted by a blazing fire, good beer and wonderful food at a cheap price (the dish on the left is the Nachos, that cost just £2.95).. The views outside of Hooe Lake and beyond are stunning. My only gripe is that we won their wednesday quiz by a country mile, but the top 8 teams all draw an envelope for prizes, so the team in 8th could claim the jackpot...we left with a used cigar cutter!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Oh the fire is lovely, but some sun would be nice. Funny we seen to be doing rather a lot of Nachos recently! They will be staying on the new menu, plus a few new items. The view is lovely, even though there is a bit of a building site in one area at the moment. You'll have to swing by when we have a BBQ, there's nothing better than a cold drink and a BBQ meal sat in the sun (when she arrives). The quiz is a giggle and Mick does have a wicked side with his prize ideas! Not sure where the cigar cutter came from though! The envelopes are in a way a handicap system. If you happen to have a persistent team winning, people get fed up. We've gone to quizes where there has been a points system, but to be honest the envelopes add more suspense. I myself do the odd quiz, my choice of prizes. In fact I'm doing a St Georges Day quiz this Wednesday, if you are up for the challenge.
See you soon?

Louise & Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish meal we have had anywhere!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A last minute 'Nothing in the fridge, let's eat out' evening and we are so glad we decided on the Oak - the cooking was a revelation! We are a bit 'foodie' as we cook a lot at home and there's nothing worse than going to a pub and finding a faffy trendy gastro-style menu which is executed badly for a high price - this isn't what we look for in a pub! Instead, we got honest, beautifully presented meals, the fish was absolutely perfect ( I am an Italian fish-monger's grand-daughter!) and can so easily be cooked badly or complicated. There was real pride in the cooking, presentation and service, really lovely barman too who looked after us considerately. The other meals coming out of the kitchen looked equally excellent. The cooking and service is rare despite so many more eateries in Plymouth - Riverside Cottage should take note! Not sure how they do it for the price, brilliant value. Oh, and good wine and good well-kept ale!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mangamanga88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
We certainly know the 'Nothing in the fridge' moments, had a few ourselves. Luckily for us we have the pub downstairs, so we pop in for a meal too. We don't really want to go the Gastro-pub style of food. We prefer to stick to the good honest home cooked variety. Our fish comes fresh from the Fish Market and is prepped and served that day. Freshness and simplicity is key. Fish really doesn't need much 'faffing' with, you can't taste it otherwise. We are currently changing the menu, as we like to stick to seasonality and keep things fresh.
We hope to see you again soon.

Mick & Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“shocked.”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Came here for a few drinks last night, saw how the food looked and just had to try it out! :D

The Nachos are super, 2.95 for a massive portion and its only meant to be a starter and tasted sublime!

Mains we had the oak burger which was nice and big and super tasty! The pasta carbonara was delicious as well!

Well priced, best pub food in Plymouth, nice atmosphere and lovely staff! This place is most definitely worth a visit, luckily we are local so it's only down the road! Will be coming back time and time again!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Crunchylunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We like to think we're a friendly bunch and all locals too!
I remember when you came in and saw the food going out, I know the Nachos caught your eye.
We're so glad you came back to try them out. The pictures you posted look lovely too.
Scott (the chef) and myself are currently working through the menu to freshen it up for the Spring/Summer (when they get here). We are also planning a few foodie events, including the now famous BBQs in the beer garden.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Louise & Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak Hooe also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Oak Hooe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing