We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really giod pub food exceeded expectations. ”
Review of The Royal Oak Hooe

The Royal Oak Hooe
Ranked #316 of 727 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: US$4 - US$38
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Royal Oak is the old lady of Hooe Lake. The sign says circa 1857. Well with some research we have found a landlord in situ in 1799, but we know it's much older. The south facing beer garden was once a covered wood store, the remains of the walls now form the beer garden boundary. She even survived the Blitz on Plymouth, standing proud amongst the rubble.Hooe is a quiet village on the outskirts of Plymstock in Plymouth. It has the appeal of being close enough to and far enough from Plymouth all at the same time, quite quirky really. The local transport is by car, taxi, bus (number 2 First National) and water taxi via Mountbatten.Having said that we are on the South West Coast Path and welcome walkers and cyclists too. Adjacent to the beer garden is a public slipway. So you can visit by boat (tides permitting) if so inclined.We are very proud of our homestyle cooked food, made fresh to order. There may be a wait at busy times so we do recommend making a booking.We have a good selection of beers (including real ales), wines and ciders. We welcome families and dog owners at The Oak.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really giod pub food exceeded expectations. ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Lets start by getting the context right.This is a good old fashioned local pub.Yes its a PUB, not a chichi gastrotemple, and it is inhabited by real local people. Judge it accordingly sniffy reviewers!

But the food is well above run of the mill pub food.My steak was exceptionally good.Nicely brown and crispy on the outside but genuinrly rare and melting inside, just as I wanted. Chips were real hand made and not out of a freezer. The chef here knows what he is doing and I shall certainly come again.

Have lunch here and then walk round the watetside to MountBatten - a good day out.

Helpful?
2 Thank dontun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Dontun
Thank you for your review of our pub, so glad that you can see we are a pub. We really don't bill ourselves as a swanky establishment. We are very much a local, where everyone is welcome.
We just like to promote that we do good honest home cooked food. All cooked from scratch by Mark our very switched on chef. The chips - well we did trial of fresh chill (as people had requested them) and this sparked a debate, this was in the pub and online. The result of which, we are glad to say (and this was a whitewash) was proper hand cut chips and to make them even better we now cook them in beef dripping.
We look forward to your next visit and keep an eye out for our BBQs too!

Louise, Mick , Mark & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    4
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grubby”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice setting welcoming atmosphere food ok service a little slow but not many staff on the thing that put me off was as you looked around everything looked like it needed a good clean carpets and tables where sticky and the toilets were rank

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plymouthmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Firstly thank you for your review. We appreciate all feed back. We are a small family run pub, who like so many public houses try our best in the current economic conditions. We ceratinly don't want to end up as just another statistic. As owners we are very much hands on and work alongside all our staff. Our food is all freshly prepared to order, so it can take a little longer be served, espcecially during busy periods. We will give our cleaner your review comments, but for the purpose of this review however, we have not given them to her yet. We can't, by the media of photos show how 'sticky' our carpets and tables are? We can only post that they are cleaned daily and cleaned after use. We can however publish photos of the toilets, we have nothing to hide and feel that perhaps people who use Tripadvisor to help plan where they may eat can then judge for themselves how 'rank' the toilets are.
Once again thank you for your feedback,
Louise, Mick & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so royal oak”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A welcoming staff did little to embellish the ambiance of this pub.If you like one armed bandits flags of St.George and multi coloured chalk boards this is the place for you. A rather ordinary menu had run out of fish ,for fish and chips, by 7.30 and the food served up was edible but unappetising. I realise that people work hard in catering but this is a place I would have passed by without a second glance in town, as it was I was encouraged on the strength of previous reviews to pay £8 for a taxi to a venue totally unsuited to me.I am posting this review , not to pan the people who run this place , but to inform people realistically of the venue . The price of £19.50 for 2 meals and pint of lager was extremely reasonable but to be fair was probably about what it was worth and the decor was , well distressed is the only word I can think of for it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jayabee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I'm sorry to read of your bad experience at our pub. The St Georges flags are up as we are a local pub for many people and those people are supporting England in their world cup run. We are proud to support our nation and have a few flags up. The muti-coloured chalk boards are outside of the pub and are there to catch the eye with simple single colour icon style infomatics. We only have one 'one arm bandit' in the corner of the pub. Our menu is in no way ordinary and is kept refreshed. Our kitchen shuts at 8pm, so to have run out of fish by 7.30pm isn't that bad, especially when busy. We'd rather buy in fresh fish every day from the fish market, than have it sat around and that applies to all the meat on our menu too. We do offer a booking service and food can be preordered for the later bookings to secure the dish you require. This is really necessary during busy periods Wednesday to Sunday . We don't have the biggest kitchen and storage is restricted, which is why our hours are limited and we recommend booking. The menus are usually on the website, but as they are currently going through a seasonal change they are currently not there. You have said your meal was edible, but unappetising? I wish that you'd reviewed the food further I would then have feedback I need for Mark on a specific dish and make sure the problem is rectified. We really take all our reviews seriously. I'm also surprised that you didn't give feed back at the time. You've also stated that the price of the food and drink is extremely reasonable, but this isn't reflected in your review scoring? Distressed decoration, well she is over 200 years old and started life as a barn, so you won't make a sleek bar out of her and to be honest we wouldn't want to. She's full of 'old' character. The outside is a little worn, but there are plans and tenders being dealt with there for a much needed lick of paint. I can tell from your review that you won't be back. That's a shame, but each to their own.

Louise, Mick, Mark & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb pub food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This little local pub just gets better and better, the new chef is delivering fantastic food, it's well worth the wait at busy times, looking forward to eating there again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plymspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello again Plymspear,

We're so glad you came back and tried our new chef out.
Mark is very keen on keeping the specials boards refreshed with new ideas.
He's currently looking at the on-trend street foods, especially Mexican.
He's also ready to relook at the menu and where we can take it.
The BBQ area will also be getting a lot of use this year (won't mention weather, don't want to jinx it!), with lots of new flavours and a move away from just hot dogs and burgers (but thats in the planning).

Thank you for your review

See you soon

Louise, Mick, Mark & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here a fair few times and was keen to try the new chef's menu. I was really pleased. I had my favourite, veggie burger and my mum had a special. Delicious.
Still my favourite place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOakHooe, Owner at The Royal Oak Hooe, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Emma M
Thank you for coming back and trying our new chef.
So glad to read that you weren't disappointed with your food.
We are very lucky to have Mark and his food is fresh and tasty.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Louise, Mick, Mark & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak Hooe also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Oak Hooe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing