We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and different”

Fortune Court Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 735 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Delicious and different”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We visited The Fortune Court Chinese Restaurant not knowing what to expect having not dined there before. We went with friends on a Saturday night. We ordered starters and found them so nice we ordered starters again! They were delicious and nicely presented. We were not hurried in any way and bring able to order whatever you wanted whenever you wanted it was something different.
We took plenty of wine with us, although wine available at the restaurant is very reasonably priced.
We would recommend dining here, it's best going in a large group where you can try something different.
An excellent evening enjoyed by all!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    49
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a fantastic experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Group of fifteen for works outing. The staff could not do enough for us. The wine we supplied kept flowing and two bottles of white wine were changed for red as the red ran dry and we brought to much white. The excellent starters kept coming and coming and eventually we made it to the mains. You will struggle to find Chinese food better than the Fortune Court. The presentations were made and toast given supported by the staff throughout. Thanks for helping make are evning so special.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank centralPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Although the decor may be a little outdated, don't let this stop you paying the Fortune Court a visit. All courses are cooked to order (you can eat as much as you like) and is fantastic (not a buffet). The ribs were tremendous, fell off the bone. Would definitely recommend!

Helpful?
3 Thank cathmcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. The food us very varied and always very well cooked and tasty. The service is polite, friendly and efficient. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food served. We will undoubtedly be back very soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AileenMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Staff were efficient, nothing too much trouble. We did the all you can eat for £20 which we did get our monies worth. Massive choice and happy to keep bringing extra portions. Took our own wine and paid £1.50 corkage but all bought water. Left a good tip and will go back very soon! Happy to recommend and wish them good fortune as they deserve it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortune Court Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Plymouth, Devon
 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Fortune Court Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing