We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Sunday lunch”
Review of The Elburton Inn

The Elburton Inn
Ranked #191 of 732 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Large traditional roadhouse style pub serving passing travellers and vast expanding outer suburb. Recently undergone considerable renovation with emphasis on high quality food. Attracting much publicity and customers. On main entrance road to city from tourist holiday zone of south hams and deserves a listing.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Don't normally give 5*. No hesitation here. Excellent (real) beer (although not much choice), friendly service, smashing food. Worth the money though not the cheapest.

Will definitely be back for Sunday lunch again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jjh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    73
    33
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bushey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Family meal.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I would describe this place as a gastropub. I have eaten here before and enjoyed it, so I was quite happy to take the family there: self, wife, her dad (86), both daughters and son-in-law elect.
Excellent choice of dishes, a reasonable price (under £20 including drinks), pleasant service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David_S_Bushey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLYMOUTH DEVON
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top class food”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was then first time I had visited this venue and did so with my wife and 4 family members
On entry we were very impressed with seating layout and cleanliness
Ordering our food from a very varied menu was easy .When each course arrived each was given 5 stars for presentation and quantity. The food was so plentiful some members of our group could not force down one of the excellent desserts
We shall certainly visit this superb establishment very shortly
Staff were very polite and attentive
Top marks all round

Eddie4085

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank eddie4085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went to this pub as I live close and to meet family. Ordered food, they got it wrong. When the correct food came out most of us decided not to bother as it was awful, complained and was treated like it was our fault. The drinks are overpriced, it's cheeper to get a taxi to town and back rather than spending a night in this place. Won't be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finbar1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Called in on spec on thursday night, only one parking space available and informed of a 45 min wait for food on arrival. Prawn cocktail arrived after only 15 mins and was delicious, maybe just needed a splash of tobasco. Belly pork and steak pie for mains were both really tasty with well cooked fresh vegetables. On paying the bill we were given a discount because of the long wait which was appreciated. Overall very good experience

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Elburton Inn also viewed

Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Elburton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing