We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the red mess jacket in the window been there since the Boer War?”
Review of Fenecks - CLOSED

Fenecks
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,453 helpful votes
“Has the red mess jacket in the window been there since the Boer War?”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Fascinating old shop. Apparently the only surviving military/naval tailor and medallists for hundreds of miles. I have ben in to buy minor accessories like studs and formal bow ties but it is doing a steady stream of work on uniforms and much more. A genuinely unusual and interesting shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,259 helpful votes
“Amazing place.”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

As if from a lost era. Pity this shop doesn't have a website. I am sure there are so many images and skills that could be shown, not least the uniforms. My neighbour and mate is a naval doctor who uses this place to have his formal uniforms sorted. He suggested I go with him a couple of months ago. It was fascinating. The staff are delightful. The items on display were like history brought back to life. Two or three other servicemen came in while we were there. They have everything here, medal ribbons, insignia of rank. They can do all kinds of specialist tailoring including to civilian clothes. If you are in the Stonehouse area, go take a look, even just through the window.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank ChasC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,280 helpful votes
“Fascinating last vestige of dwindling local naval and military elite.”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My father remember Gieves on Mutley Plain, long since gone. Fenecks are first rate traditional naval and military tailors and medalists who seem to have justifiably survived for a very long time serving commissioned and some non-commissioned officers based locally or regionally who need work on their bespoke uniforms, especially full dress uniforms and evening mess dress, and more specifically when medals need work or ribbons. Even the view through the window is intensely interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank PlongeurV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,333 helpful votes
“Fenecks Military Tailors Plymouth”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Living history in a Dockyard and Garrison town. Historic but current dress uniforms in the window of this modest but very long established business. Fascinating. Never come across anywhere like it and I doubt there is anywhere similar unless you go some swanky establishment in the posh west end of London. Sadly no website.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank Cr0wM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 877 helpful votes
“A real curiosity and delightful throw back.”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My god father used to bring his uniforms here for alterations as his well fed and ageing stature varied over time. Fascinating place. Friendly informed and skillful staff.

Helpful?
20 Thank creasedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fenecks also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing