We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland reheated food, nice location”

Hotel Mount Batten Pub
Ranked #316 of 722 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bland reheated food, nice location”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely location but food was served lukewarm and tasteless. Looked nice but no flavour. I had hunters chicken smothered in BBQ sauce to disguise that it was tough and reheated, the cheese was like rubber. Food was lukewarm when served and stone cold by end of meal. Husband had the triple decker burger probably the worst he has had that had not come from a greasy takeaway van!.Said that a Rustler burger would have been better.
Staff OK although just muddling through, no real enthusiasm or care.
Will not go again for a meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adben12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    27
    31
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Carvery in Plymouth”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the Mountbatten this past Sunday for Carvery and the food, variety and presentation was by far the best we have visited in Plymouth for a long time. It's well worth booking as the main pub area can get very busy during fine weather days. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank H4956SBmarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice location but they must think that is all thats needed”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The location is obviously the main selling point of this "pub" but I think they see this as the only selling point they need.

The food leaves a lot to be desired, I would not say it is inedible because that is not the case but I would say for the price they are charging they should set the bar a lot higher.

The staff strike me as a laid back lot which is fine but they could show a glimmer of enthusiasm when your ordering and the like.

The carvery is overpriced but the selection is OK. There are better options around for a much better price.

I will probably go again because unfortunately, and as I said previously, the location is great for taking visitors who come down to see us. I shall not be eating though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rx8231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembury
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A favourite”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a good stopping place when walking on the coast path. It is clean and tidy inside. The menu is varied and the price reasonable. Service time is usually good. The tables outside can be dirty and cigarette smoke bothers me. There needs to be a no smoking area outside

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seascape20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“no comment”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Trying to put into words my experience of the mountbatten pub.. Hmmm don't bother. All can say really ..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Mount Batten Pub also viewed

 

Been to Hotel Mount Batten Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing